Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Joe Meek Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)

Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)

catalog number: CDRPM121

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$35.31 *

Joe Meek: Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)



Meek, Joe - Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD) CD 1
1: WEST FIVE/CAVALIERS: Please Don't Touch
2: Til I Kissed You
3: Alabama Jubilee
4: Blues Stay Away From Me
5: Sea Cruise
6: Be Bop A Lula
7: Don't You Know
9: Some Kinda Earthquake
10: Bere Robert
11: Buckeye
12: El Rancho Rock
13: Sunday Date
14: Taboo
15: Summertime
16: CHICK LEWIS: North Wind
17: With Someone Like You
18: UNKNOWN: Say Baby
19: JOHN LEYTON: Three Cute Chicks
20: RICKY WAYNE: Hot Chick A'Roo
21: EVE BOSWELL: Bridge Of Avignon
22: Hey `Round The Corner
23: YOLANDA: With This Kiss
24: LEE SUTTON: We Ain't Giving Nothing Away
25: Keep Your Sunnyside Up
26: JOE MEEK: Valley Of The Saroos
27: The Beat Of My Heart
28: I'm Waiting For Tomorrow
29: My Baby Doll


Artikeleigenschaften von Joe Meek: Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)

  • Interpret: Joe Meek

  • Albumtitel: Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Title Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)
  • Label RPM

  • EAN: 5022911311216

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Meek, Joe"

Joe Meek

Meek came from Gloucester and did his National Service in the RAF as a radio technician in the early Fifties. In 1953, he came out and went to work as an engineer at the IBC studio, at that time one of only two independent studios in London. There he engineered records by Frankie Vaughan (`Green Door'), Denis Lotis, Lita Roza, Shirley Bassey, Anne Shelton, Harry Secombe and Petula Clark. In 1956, Meek went to work for Denis Preston at Lans-downe Studios, where he was engineer on several of Lonnie Donegan's early hits, including 'Cumberland Gap' and `Don't You Rock Me Daddy-O' as well as trad jazz records by Humphrey Lyttelton and Chris Barber. He also began dabbling in songwriting and in 1958 wrote Tommy Steele's Tut A Ring On Her Finger'.

Leaving Lansdowne in 1960, Meek built his own studio in a flat above a shop in Holloway, North London, equipping it with £3,000 worth of second-hand equipment. He called it RGM Sound and simultaneously activated his own label, Triumph, going against all odds at a time when British pop was monopolized by the three major labels.

A cover version of an American hit, 'Angela Jones' by Michael Cox, reached the Top Ten in June, 1960 but none of Triumph's other releases were successful and Meek discontinued the label in favour of tape-lease deals with the majors. He scored the following year with John Leyton's eerie, futuristic 'Johnny Remember Me' and 'Wild Wind', Mike Berry's poignant `Tribute to Buddy Holly' and several smaller hits by the Outlaws (with Richie Blackmore) who backed many of Meek's artists on record.

In 1962, a combination of Meek's session musicians recor-ded an instrumental he wrote titled `Te!star', under the name of the Tornados, which proved his biggest selling hit, reach-ing No. 1 in both Britain and America. In production terms, it still remains far ahead of contemporary records. The Tor-nados followed up with several slightly less successful records including 'Robot', 'Globetrotter' and 'Ice Cream Man' be-fore being swamped in the ensuing Merseybeat craze. Never-theless, Meek scored early in 1963 with Mike Berry's 'Don't You Think It's Time' and in 1964 with the Honeycomb's `Have I The Right', but found the going hard in the mid-Sixties.

He had no hits in 1966 and faced with increasing anxiety through personal problems, blew his brains out with a shotgun on February 3, 1967.


Presseartikel über Joe Meek - Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)
Customer evaluation "Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Joe Meek: Work In Progress - The Triumph Session (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Blackmore, Ritchie: Take It -...

Content: 1.0000

$18.81 * Instead of: $29.42 *