Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Ed Petersen The Haint

catalog number: CDDE474

weight in Kg 0,107


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $18.59 * (36.85 % Saved)
$11.74 *

Ed Petersen: The Haint

(1994/Delmark) 8 tracks,
The year 1994 marked a transition for Ed Petersen; it was in 1994 that the tenor saxophonist left Chicago to accept a teaching position at the University of New Orleans. Chicagoans were surprised to see him leave -- he had been a fixture at a famous Windy City jazz club called the Green Mill. But the offer was too good to pass up; Petersen knew that he would be working with pianist Ellis Marsalis (father of Wynton and Branford) in the University of New Orleans' jazz department. Recorded when Petersen was getting ready to move, this 1994 session was, in effect, a fond farewell to the jazz community of Chicago. The Haint, Petersen's second album as a leader, finds him leading an all-Chicago cast that includes Dr. Odies Williams III or Billy Brimfield on trumpet, Willie Pickens on piano, Brian Sandstrom on bass, and Robert Shy on drums. The influence of John Coltrane -- Petersen's primary influence -- is impossible to miss on this album. It comes through on his own songs (which include the exuberant "Larry Smith" and the abstract "Walking in the Sky") as well as performances of Thelonious Monk's "Green Chimneys," Dizzy Gillespie's "Bebop," and Fats Waller's "Jitterbug Waltz." Few surprises occur, and no one will accuse Petersen of being the most innovative or forward-thinking player in the world. Nonetheless, his performances are competent and swinging. With The Haint, Petersen ended the Chicago period of his life and did so with enjoyable, if derivative, results.


Ed Petersen - The Haint Medium 1
1: Bebop
2: Jitterbug Waltz
3: Green Chimneys
4: You Don't Know What Love Is
5: Walking In The Sky
6: The Haint
7: Larry Smith
8: When I Fall In Love


Artikeleigenschaften von Ed Petersen: The Haint

  • Interpret: Ed Petersen

  • Albumtitel: The Haint

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Style 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Title The Haint
  • Label DELMARK

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 0038153047429

  • weight in Kg 0.107
Presseartikel über Ed Petersen - The Haint
Customer evaluation "The Haint"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Ed Petersen: The Haint"

The fields marked with * are required.