Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Muddy Waters Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)

Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)

catalog number: CDRB3331

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$25.88 *

Muddy Waters: Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)

(2016/Rock Beat) 46 tracks. Here are 46 tracks that changed our music... The Chess Classics. His legacy has been written about by blues historians, in blogs and numerous magazines. There is no shortage of information about Muddy Waters. Consider this your invitation to The Blues... Muddy Waters style. This collection just touches the surface of his legacy, vision, and depth of his recordings during that tenure.

Very Good Compilation



Muddy Waters - Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Rollin' and Tumblin' Pt 1
2: Rollin Stone
3: Mannish Boy
4: I'm Ready
5: Got My Mojo Working
6: I Can't Be Satisfied
7: (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
8: Honey Bee
9: I Just Want to Make Love to You
10: Louisiana Blues
11: Long Distance Call
12: Trouble No More
13: Forty Days and Forty Nights
14: I Feel Like Going Home
15: Sugar Sweet
16: Rock Me
17: You Shook Me
18: You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had
19: Diamonds at Your Feet
20: Just to Be with You
21: Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
22: Stuff You Gotta Watch
23: I Love the Life I Live (I Live the Life I Love)
24: Standing Around Crying
Muddy Waters - Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Baby Please Don't Go
2: I Want to Be Loved  
3: Country Boy  
4: Who's Gonna Be Your Sweet Man When I'm Gone  
5: Train Fare Home Blues  
6: Hard Days  
7: Gypsy Woman  
8: She's Into Something  
9: Lonesome Road Blues  
10: Walkin' Blues  
11: Look What You've Done  
12: You Need Love  
13: Ooh Wee  
14: Southbound Train  
15: Double Trouble  
16: My Home Is in the Delta  
17: Big Legged Woman  
18: Sad Sad Day  
19: Hey, Hey  
20: Loving Man  
21: Walkin' Thru the Park  
22: They Call Me Muddy Waters  


Artikeleigenschaften von Muddy Waters: Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Muddy Waters

  • Albumtitel: Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)
  • Release date 2016
  • Label ROCK BEAT

  • SubGenre Blues - General

  • EAN: 0089353333126

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Muddy Waters"

Muddy Waters

Although Chess claimed that Muddy Waters was responsible for penning the rousing Got My Mojo Working on this single, it emanated from outside the confines of Arc Music, Chess’ publishing arm. 

"We went on tour with a lady named Ann Cole. She's the one that originally did 'Mojo,’" says his then-road harpist, James Cotton. "Muddy said, 'That's my kind of stuff there, talkin' about the mojo and all that kind of thing. I need to learn that song so I can do it.' He said, 'Learn the words to it for me.' So I learned the words, and I learned to play it. I taught him the words when I knew everything. They recorded it, him and Walter. It did pretty good. 

When Muddy got back to Chicago, he made the song his own on either December 1, 1956 or January 16, 1957. As Cotton noted, Little Walter was still his main harp man in the studio; other participants were his essential 88s ace Otis Spann, guitarist Jimmy Rogers, bassist Willie Dixon, and new drummer Francis Clay. But this rendition wouldn’t be the one everyone so widely copied; that version was done live at the 1960 Newport Jazz Festival with James on harp (Chess issued Waters’ set on LP). "I put the arrangement on there," says Cotton. "Now it's a classic."

In between the two Mojos, Waters made his maiden voyage to England in 1958, bringing along his electric guitar. British fans accustomed to Big Bill Broonzy’s acoustic blues weren’t quite ready for the aural assault. "I went over there, and they went stone nuts. ‘Where’s he comin’ from with all this noise?’" said Muddy, who tried to comply on his next visit. "I go back a couple of years later and didn’t bring it, and then they’re cryin’, ‘Where’s your electric guitar?’"

Always loyal to Chess, the ‘60s weren’t overly kind to Muddy from a recording standpoint. The nadir was his pseudo-psychedelic 1968 travesty ‘Electric Mud.’ Muddy freely ripped the album later on. "I really went with the company with that part," he said. "I hope they never play it." During the mid-‘70s, Waters underwent a studio renaissance on a new label, Blue Sky. Producer Johnny Winter strove to restore Muddy’s original sound on his acclaimed 1977 LP ‘Hard Again.’ "He was one of the young white kids who was really deep into it," said Muddy.

The King of Chicago Blues died of cancer April 30, 1983 at age 70. It’s a sure bet no one will ever take his place. "Maybe somebody else would have come up and went another way," Waters mused. "I came up at the right time and the right season, and I should say, I just taken it over. I just taken Chicago completely over!"

Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über Muddy Waters - Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Muddy Waters: Critic's Choise 1947 - 1971 (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Buchanan, Roy: The Genius...

Content: 1.0000

$19.98 *

Guy, Buddy: Live At The...

Content: 1.0000

$17.63 *

King, B.B.: 'Here's One...

Content: 1.0000

$21.16 *

Magness, Janiva: Love Wins...

Content: 1.0000

$19.98 *

Dickinson, Luther: Blues &...

Content: 1.0000

$18.81 *

Los Lobos: Gates Of Gold

Content: 1.0000

$19.98 *

White, Tony Joe: Swamp Fox:...

Content: 1.0000

$22.11 *

Various: Excello...

Content: 1.0000

$18.81 *