Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Roy Lee Johnson When A Guitar Plays The Blues

When A Guitar Plays The Blues

catalog number: BCD16321

weight in Kg 0,200


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $18.81 * (15 % Saved)
$15.99 *

Roy Lee Johnson: When A Guitar Plays The Blues

1-CD Digipak (4-plated) with 39-page booklet, 30 tracks. Playing time approx. 73 mns.

The first, long overdue collection of rare but sought-after singles by Roy Lee Johnson, the underground hero of guitar freaks and deep soul fans. Includes Mister Moonlight, known to millions by the Beatles but originally by Dr Feelgood And the Interns (vocal: Roy Lee Johnson) and the first version of When A Guitar Plays The Blues, since revived by Albert Collins and Roy Buchanan. Eleven previously unissued tracks including four by underrated soul man, Curtis Smith, Roy Lee Johnson's fellow singer-guitarist in the Interns. The most soulful of Sixties soul packaged with all Bear Family's meticulous attention to detail including a lavishly illustrated essay by Martin Goggin.

Roy Lee Johnson first came to attention as the occasional vocalist with the Interns, a R&B band led by blues shouter Dr Feelgood, aka Piano Red. But there's a whole lot more to this songwriter, guitarist and singer of soul with a capital 'S'. Roy Lee Johnson's little heard treasures of Southern soul are finally served up on one CD. Everything he recorded for Okeh, Columbia, Josie and Philips is here. There are gritty dance workouts, lilting soul ballads, ferocious instrumentals and devastating deep wrist-slashers from Muscle Shoals. Sixties soul reissues may be coin of the realm these days but few are quite as essential as this scorching collection of Roy Lee Johnson's best performances.

1-CD Digipak (4-plated) with 39-page booklet, 30 tracks. Playing time approx. 73 mns



Johnson, Roy Lee - When A Guitar Plays The Blues CD 1
1: Mister Moonlight Johnson, Roy Lee
2: Love Is Amazing Johnson, Roy Lee
3: Sea Breeze Johnson, Roy Lee
4: Black Pepper Will Make You Sneeze Johnson, Roy Lee
5: Too Many Tears Johnson, Roy Lee
6: Nobody Does Something For Nothing Johnson, Roy Lee
7: Busybody Johnson, Roy Lee
8: I'm So Happy Johnson, Roy Lee
9: My Best Just Ain't Good Enough Johnson, Roy Lee
10: Love Birds Johnson, Roy Lee
11: When A Guitar Plays The Blues Johnson, Roy Lee
12: Plowing Playboy Johnson, Roy Lee
13: That's All I Need Johnson, Roy Lee
14: Slowly I'm Falling In Love With You Johnson, Roy Lee
15: Two Doors Down Johnson, Roy Lee
16: Stanback Headache Powder Johnson, Roy Lee
17: It's All Over Johnson, Roy Lee
18: Busybody Johnson, Roy Lee
19: So Anna Just Love Me Johnson, Roy Lee
20: Boogaloo No. 3 Johnson, Roy Lee
21: Cheer Up Daddy's Comin' Home Johnson, Roy Lee
22: Guitar Man Johnson, Roy Lee
23: Can You Handle It Johnson, Roy Lee
24: Chunk Some Love Johnson, Roy Lee
25: Take Me Back And Try Me Johnson, Roy Lee
26: She Put The Whammy To Me Johnson, Roy Lee
27: Don't Do This To Me Smith, Curtis
28: Two Wrongs (Won't Make It Right) Smith, Curtis
29: Come Here Baby Smith, Curtis
30: I've Got A Feeling Smith, Curtis


Artikeleigenschaften von Roy Lee Johnson: When A Guitar Plays The Blues

  • Interpret: Roy Lee Johnson

  • Albumtitel: When A Guitar Plays The Blues

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B / Soul
  • Music Style Modern R&B And Soul / Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 934 Modern R&B And Soul/Blues
  • Edition 2 Deluxe Edition
  • Title When A Guitar Plays The Blues

  • Price code AR
  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 4000127163219

  • weight in Kg 0.200
Presseartikel über Roy Lee Johnson - When A Guitar Plays The Blues
Customer evaluation "When A Guitar Plays The Blues"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Roy Lee Johnson: When A Guitar Plays The Blues"

The fields marked with * are required.