Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Aretha Franklin The Real... (3-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDSNY97242

weight in Kg 0,150


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$11.74 *

Aretha Franklin: The Real... (3-CD)

(2014/SONY) 49 tracks

(2014/SONY) 49 tracks



Aretha Franklin - The Real... (3-CD) Medium 1
1: Soulville - Album Version
2: Nobody Knows The Way I Feel This Morning - Album Version
3: Evil Gal Blues - Album Version
4: Make Someone Happy - 2011 Remaster
5: Until The Real Thing Comes Along - 2011 Remaster
6: For All We Know - 2011 Remaster
7: I Wanna Be Around - 2011 Remaster
8: Mr Ugly - 2011 Remaster
9: Say It Isn't So - 2011 Remaster
10: Unforgettable
11: Cold, Cold Heart - Album Version
12: Until You Were Gone
13: Can't You Just See Me
14: Ol' Man River - 2011 Remaster
15: Swanee
16: Try A Little Tenderness
Aretha Franklin - The Real... (3-CD) Medium 2
1: Can't Turn You Loose
2: Hold On I'm Comin - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
3: What A Fool Believes
4: Love Me Forever
5: Take Me With You
6: Love All The Hurt Away - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
7: Jump To It - Original 12' Mix
8: Love Me Right - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
9: It's Your Thing - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
10: Every Girl (Wants My Guy) - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
11: Jimmy Lee
12: Ain't Nobody Ever Loved You
13: Another Night
14: Who's Zoomin' Who?
15: Jumpin' Jack Flash (From 'jumping Jack Flash')
16: You Can't Always Get What You Want - 20-Bit Digital Mastering From The Original Master Tapes -1998
Aretha Franklin - The Real... (3-CD) Medium 3
1: A Deeper Love  
2: Single Version Everyday People  
3: Doctor's Orders  
4: Ever Changing Times  
5: Mary Goes Round  
6: Willing To Forgive  
7: A Rose Is Still A Rose  
8: Album Version Here We Go Again  
9: I'll Dip  
10: The Woman  
11: Someone Else's Eyes  
12: Radio Mix The Only Thing Missin'  
13: Holdin' On  
14: So Damn Happy  
15: Higher Ground  
16: Oh Happy Day  
17: Packing Up, Getting Ready To Go  


Artikeleigenschaften von Aretha Franklin: The Real... (3-CD)

  • Interpret: Aretha Franklin

  • Albumtitel: The Real... (3-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title The Real... (3-CD)
  • Release date 2014
  • Label SONY

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0888430972421

  • weight in Kg 0.150

Artist description "Franklin, Aretha"

Aretha Franklin


Aretha Franklin



Contrary to popular opinion, Aretha Franklin had made great records prior to Jerry Wexler signing her to Atlantic. They just hadn't been in tune with the trends of the day. Under Wexler's supervision, Aretha would take her throne as the Queen of Soul.


Born in Memphis on March 25, 1942, Aretha was the daughter of the celebrated Rev. C.L. Franklin, who settled in at Detroit's New Bethel Baptist Church and rose to glory as one of the country's highest profile African-American clergymen, with dozens of albums of his sermons issued on Chess. At 14, Aretha was recording for Chess too, live from her father's church. But C.L. was a worldly man of the cloth, realizing that Aretha's stirring pipes and rock-ribbed piano were destined for mainstream stardom. He gave her his blessing when John Hammond signed her to Columbia in 1960.  

Hammond and fellow Columbia producers Bobby Scott, Robert Mersey, Clyde Otis, and Bob Johnston placed the young singer in every context imaginable, from jazz chanteuse to pop songbird, showbiz crooner to soul belter, with only intermittent success. Untapped potential abounded when Aretha joined Atlantic in 1966. Wexler brought her down to Muscle Shoals, where Franklin managed to cut I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Loved You), her first R&B chart-topper, and part of its flip Do Right Woman – Do Right Man before a tussle broke out between a trumpeter and Aretha's hubby, Ted White. Then Fame Studios owner Rick Hall and White got into it. The subsequent fallout meant that Franklin wouldn't go down south to record again.

Wexler brought the Muscle Shoals session aces to New York to continue the project. Could their sound travel? "We were a little bit worried about that. After all, we're young southern guys, and then all of a sudden we're going to New York City to play on these records," says drummer Roger Hawkins. "But really, after the first couple of hours, it was just the same thing, only you're doing it in a different building."

Work began on Aretha's first Atlantic album, and when she and her little sister Carolyn, one of her background singers, started fooling around with Otis Redding's Respect—a #4 R&B hit for him in 1965—everything came together. Wexler inserted the bridge from Sam & Dave's When Something Is Wrong With My Baby for saxman King Curtis to solo over, and Aretha and Carolyn came up with the "sock it to me" line and the spelling out of "R-E-S-P-E-C-T."  Aretha stole the tune right out from under Otis' nose (she even slips in a mention of one of her best Columbia sides, Runnin' Out Of Fools, on the fade), making it a number one pop and R&B smash. And in the Queen's hands, Respect became an anthem for the civil rights movement, a non-negotiable demand for African-American empowerment that was tragically overdue.


- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Aretha Franklin - The Real... (3-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Real... (3-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Aretha Franklin: The Real... (3-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Paycheck, Johnny: Take This...

Content: 1.0000

$25.90 *

Bell, Lurrie: Blues In My...

Content: 1.0000

$18.29 *

Whyton, Wally: Leave Them A...

Content: 1.0000

$16.46 * Instead of: $18.82 *

Franklin, Aretha: Very Best -...

Content: 1.0000

$11.74 * Instead of: $22.30 *

Franklin, Aretha: The Very...

Content: 1.0000

$9.38 * Instead of: $17.64 *