Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Folk Music Original Album Series (5-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDRN79834

weight in Kg 0,300


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$29.50 *

Folk Music: Original Album Series (5-CD)

The band's five original Elektra studio albums. Comes with the original LP art work. Five Cardboard sleeves in a slip case. Re-issued by Rhino Records: 'The Paul Butterfield Blues Band', 'East West', 'The Resurrection Of Pigboy Crabshaw', 'In My Own Dream', 'Keep On Moving'.


Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD) Medium 1
1: Born In Chicago
2: Shake Your Money Maker
3: Blues With A Feeling
4: Thank You Mr Poohbah
5: I Got My Mojo Working
6: Mellow Down Easy
7: Screamin'
8: Our Love Is Drifting
9: Mystery Train
10: Last Night
11: Look Over Yonders Wall
Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD) Medium 2
1: Walkin' Blues
2: Get Out Of My Life, Woman
3: I Got A Mind To Give Up Living
4: All These Blues
5: Work Song
6: Mary, Mary
7: Two Trains Running
8: Never Say No
9: East West
Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD) Medium 3
1: One More Headache
2: Driftin' And Driftin'
3: Pity The Fool
4: Born Under A Bad Sign
5: Run Out Of Time
6: Double Trouble
7: Drivin' Wheel
8: Droppin' Out
9: Tollin' Bells
Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD) Medium 4
1: Last Hope's Gone
2: Mine To Love
3: Get Yourself Together
4: Just To Be With You  
5: Mornin' Blues  
6: Drunk Again  
7: In My Own Dream  
Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD) Medium 5
1: Love March (Remastered 97' Version)  
2: No Amount Of Loving  
3: Morning Sunshine  
4: Losing Hand  
5: Walkin' By Yself (Remastered 97' Version)  
6: Except You  
7: Love Disease (Remastered 97' Version)  
8: Where Did My Baby Go  
9: All In A Day  
10: So Far So Good  
11: Buddy's Advice  
12: Keep On Moving  


Artikeleigenschaften von Folk Music: Original Album Series (5-CD)

  • Interpret: Folk Music

  • Albumtitel: Original Album Series (5-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title Original Album Series (5-CD)
  • Label RHINO

  • SubGenre Blues - Contemporary

  • EAN: 0081227983406

  • weight in Kg 0.300

Artist description "Butterfield Blues Band, Paul"

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band

During the early 1960s, young blues aficionados in their teens like Charlie Musselwhite, Michael Bloomfield, and Paul Butterfield ventured into the blues clubs on Chicago’s South Side to attend performances by the originators of post-war electric Chicago style blues like Otis Rush, Little Walter, Buddy Guy, Magic Sam, Howlin’ Wolf, Muddy Waters, a.m.o. Eventually, they found their way on stage jamming with the black bluesmen they so much apprenticed.

Before forming the Butterfield Blues Band in 1963, Paul Butterfield  (harmonica, vocals) played with University of Chicago classmate Elvin Bishop in bar bands named the Salt and Pepper Shakers, or the South Side Olympic Blues Team. The original line-up of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band included two former members of Howlin' Wolf's band, Jerome Arnold (bass) and Sam Lay (drums), later adding Bishop (guitar), Mark Naftalin (piano, organ), and lead guitarist Mike Bloomfield. The group built a strong local following, and its debut album was released in 1965. At that year's Newport Folk Festival, after playing its own set, the Butterfield band backed Bob Dylan for his controversial premiere electric performance at the Newport Folk Festival.

Whereas the 1965 self-titled debut contained hard-core Chicago style blues including several originals, the 1967 follow-up album, ’East-West’ spun off into an entirely different direction.  Its long improvisational jams, notably the raga-tinged title song, showed more Ravi Shankar and John Coltrane than Muddy Waters.

Not long after the release of ’East-West’, the original Butterfield Blues Band broke up. Bloomfield went on to found The Electric Flag with soul-mate Nick Gravenites, and to record ’Super Session’ in collaboration with Al Kooper.

The now-called Paul Butterfield Blues Band continued to record for Elektra Records until 1971. Butterfield added a brass section (including David Sanborn on alto saxophone) and changed his basic musical direction from blues to horn-driven R&B and soul music with a bluesy touch. As a sideman, he played on Muddy Waters' 1969 album, ’Fathers and Sons’, and after disbanding his Blues Band in 1972, moved to Woodstock, New York. There he formed Butterfield's Better Days with Amos Garrett, Geoff Muldaur, and Ronnie Barron.

 In 1976, Butterfield appeared at The Band’s ’Last Waltz’ concert. He continued to tour with Levon Helm's RCO All Stars and with ex-Band bassist Rick Danko in the Danko-Butterfield Band. In early 1980, while recording ’North-South’ in Memphis, Butterfield was hospitalized. He recorded one more solo album, ’The Legendary Paul Butterfield Rides Again’, which came out in 1986, one year before the 44-year-old musician was found dead in his apartment.

Presseartikel über Folk Music - Original Album Series (5-CD)
Customer evaluation "Original Album Series (5-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Folk Music: Original Album Series (5-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Butterfield Blues...: Got A Mind...

Content: 1.0000

$47.14 *

Haggard, Merle: Roots (CD)

Content: 1.0000

$11.74 * Instead of: $20.00 *