Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Chuck Willis My Story, Vol.1 (CD)

My Story, Vol.1 (CD)

catalog number: CDOFF58301

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $17.64 * (46.83 % Saved)
$9.38 *

Chuck Willis: My Story, Vol.1 (CD)

(Official) 24 tracks


Chuck Willis - My Story, Vol.1 (CD) Medium 1
1: Can't You See  
2: I Ain't Right To Treat Me Wrong  
3: Be Good Or Be Gone  
4: Let's Jump Tonight  
5: I Rule My House  
6: I Tried (To Get Along With You)  
7: It's Too Late, Baby  
8: Here I Come  
9: Loud Mouth Lucy  
10: Caldonia  
11: My Story  
12: Salty Tears  
13: Wrong Lake To Catch A Fish  
14: Going To The River  
15: Baby Have Left Me Again  
16: I've Been Treated Wrong Too Long  
17: Don't Deceive Me (Please Don't Go)  
18: My Baby's Coming Home  
19: When My Day Is Over  
20: You're Still My Baby  
21: What's Your Name  
22: I Feel So Bad  
23: Need One More Chance  
24: Change My Mind  


Artikeleigenschaften von Chuck Willis: My Story, Vol.1 (CD)

  • Interpret: Chuck Willis

  • Albumtitel: My Story, Vol.1 (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Title My Story, Vol.1 (CD)
  • Label OFFICIAL

  • EAN: 0801200583016

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Willis, Chuck"

Chuck Willis

What Am I Living For

Much, perhaps too much, has been made of the fact that two of the last songs Chuck recorded were What Am I Living For? and Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes. The same fuss was made when Hank Williams was in the charts with I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive on the day he died. Neither of Chuck's songs, nor Hank's for that matter, portended death. What Am I Living For? was a rather touching love song, co-written by Fred Jacobson (aka Fred Jay) who’d co-written LaVern Baker’s I Cried A Tear.  A month or so after the session, Chuck fell ill after eating some barbecue.

He tried to put off an operation that would remove seventy percent of his stomach, but finally agreed to it. He was operated on at the Hugh Spaulding Hospital in Atlanta, and came home to recuperate shortly afterward. He was rushed back a week later coughing blood. He seemed to recover a little but suffered a relapse and died around 2:30 AM on Thursday April 10, 1958. "He was the rhythm 'n' blues Hank Williams," said Danny Kessler, who recorded him for OKeh. Atlanta dee-jay Zenas Sears, who’d long sponsored Willis, remembered how bad he looked the last time he’d seen him. "The operation was long overdue," he said. "He just knew he was gonna die from [it].

I guess if you feel that strongly about something, maybe it's just bound to happen." The IRS was less sentimental; he died owing unpaid taxes on his bandmembers' salaries, and that's probably where most of the proceeds from this huge posthumous hit went.

Various - Blowing The Fuse 1958 - Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Chuck Willis - My Story, Vol.1 (CD)
Customer evaluation "My Story, Vol.1 (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Chuck Willis: My Story, Vol.1 (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Nicholas, Johnny: Thrill On...

Content: 1.0000

$20.95 *

Willis, Chuck: My Story,...

Content: 1.0000

$9.38 * Instead of: $17.64 *