Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Ben Webster Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

catalog number: CDAMSC1038

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $17.64 * (33.45 % Saved)
$11.74 *

Ben Webster: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

AVID Jazz here presents three classic Ben Webster albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD. 'Blue Saxophones'…………Take the Oscar Peterson Trio with Alvin Stoller on drums, add two of the greatest tenor saxophonists who ever lived, Coleman Hawkins and Ben Webster and voila………you have Blue Saxophones! Two masters together in 1957, one (Hawkins) a huge influence on the other (Webster), but now, both very much their own men. As the final paragraph of Charles Fox's liner notes attests 'This is tenor playing in the grandest of manners, unashamedly romantic, even sensuous, with both musicians constructing their solos firmly and audaciously.' 'Soulville'………Ben is once again joined by the Oscar Peterson Trio for another 1957 date. This time sitting in on drums is Stan Levey, in Bens own words 'he's improved since I heard him on the Street years ago.' Ben of course is a huge fan of Peterson…..'the guy can play a lot as a soloist but when it comes time for you to play a solo, he plays for you.' 'The Soul Of Ben Webster'………..Here we find Ben joined by fellow tenor man Harold Ashby alongside among others Art Farmer on trumpet and Jimmy Jones on piano in a 1958 blowing date. As Benny Green reminds us in his liner notes 'in a way the story of Ben Webster is the story of jazz itself over the last twenty years.' Great new and exciting players will always emerge but we must never forget the original practitioners like Webster, Young and Colman Hawkins and this fine album reminds us that Ben Webster was truly one of the jazz greats! 'Sophisticated Lady' (Ben Webster with Strings & Quartet featuring Teddy Wilson)


Ben Webster - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Tangerine
2: La rosita
3: Cocktails for two
4: Shine on harvest moon
5: You'd be so nice to come home to
6: Blues for Yolande
7: Maria
8: It never entered my mind
9: Prisoner of love
10: Soulville
11: Late date
12: Time on my hands
13: Lover come back to me
14: Where are you
Ben Webster - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Makin' whoopee
2: Ill wind
3: Fajista
4: Chelsea bridge
5: Charlotte's piccolo
6: Coal train
7: When I fall in love
8: Ev's mad
9: Ash
10: All too soon
11: Love is here to stay
12: It happnes to be me
13: My funny Valentine
14: You're mine, you
15: Sophisticated lady
16: Love's away


Artikeleigenschaften von Ben Webster: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Ben Webster

  • Albumtitel: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre Jazz
  • Music Style Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 289 Jazz
  • Title Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)
  • Label AVID

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 5022810303824

  • weight in Kg 0.100
Presseartikel über Ben Webster - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Ben Webster: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.