Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Sarah Vaughan Compact Jazz (CD)

Compact Jazz (CD)

catalog number: CD8306992

weight in Kg 0,120


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$20.00 *

Sarah Vaughan: Compact Jazz (CD)

16 tracks


Sarah Vaughan - Compact Jazz (CD) Medium 1
1: Lullaby Of Birdland
2: My Funny Valentine
3: Lover Man
4: Cheek To Cheek
4: Cheek To Cheek
5: It Never Entered My Mind
6: Tenderly
7: Sometimes I'm Happy
8: Lush Life
9: Mister Kelly's-Chicago)) How High The Moon (Live (1957
9: How High The Moon
10: Misty
11: Take The "A" Train
11: Take The "A" Train
12: Summertime
13: The Sweetest Sounds
14: Poor Butterfly
15: Shulie A Bop
16: Embraceable You


Artikeleigenschaften von Sarah Vaughan: Compact Jazz (CD)

  • Interpret: Sarah Vaughan

  • Albumtitel: Compact Jazz (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Title Compact Jazz (CD)
  • Label MERCURY

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0042283069923

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Vaughan, Sarah"

Sarah Vaughan

Hey Naughty Papa

Sarah Vaughan led a bit of a double life during her years on Mercury/EmArcy. There were the stunning jazz-vocal and lushly produced pop albums and there were the more commercial sides for the singles market. Hey Naughty Papa, from 1955, was obviously one of the latter, tailored to compete with the new rock 'n' roll sounds that were dominating the airwaves.


Hugo Peretti's arrangement is brassy and splashy; pounding snare drum and cymbal sizzle, up front guitar shots and lots of "shake, shake" from the male backup singers. Sarah is in her usual fine form, effortlessly out-swinging the slightly stiff sounding band at every turn, dipping and diving but never losing sight of the tune, making you hang on till her last note dies away.


Hey Naughty Papa is a perfect example of a truly professional, supremely talented artist taking what's on the music stand and making it work. 'Billboard' magazine, circa September, 1955, got the last word, "This side's a blues, traditional in construction, with a lively lyric. It rocks right along...".

Various The Popsters - They Tried To Rock Vol.3
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Sarah Vaughan - Compact Jazz (CD)
Customer evaluation "Compact Jazz (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Sarah Vaughan: Compact Jazz (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.