Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Irma Thomas Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDSNAX635

weight in Kg 0,150


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

Instead of: $18.82 * (37.62 % Saved)
$11.74 *

Irma Thomas: Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)

(2011/CHARLY) 20 Ron/Minit/Bandy masters 1960-63 plus 1976 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival recordings (10 tracks). Hardcover Digibook (12 pages).


Irma Thomas - Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Don't Mess With My Man  
2: Set Me Free  
3: A Good Man  
4: I May Be Wrong  
5: Cry On  
6: Girl Needs Boy  
7: It's Too Soon To Know  
8: That's All I Ask  
9: I Done Got Over  
10: Gone  
11: It's Raining  
12: I Did My Part  
13: Two Winters Long  
14: Somebody Told You  
15: Ruler Of My Heart  
16: (You Ain't) Hittin On Nothing  
17: For Goodness Sake  
18: Look Up (Aka Whenever)  
19: Your Love Is True  
20: It's Too Soon To Know  
Irma Thomas - Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD) Medium 2
1: You Can Have My Husband  
2: Cry On  
3: I Won't Cry  
4: Ruler Of My Heart  
5: I Done Got Over  
6: It's Raining  
7: Shame Shame Shame  
8: Hip Shakin' Mama  
9: Lady Marmalade  
10: Wish Someone Would Care  


Artikeleigenschaften von Irma Thomas: Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Irma Thomas

  • Albumtitel: Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)
  • Release date 2011
  • Label CHARLY

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0803415763528

  • weight in Kg 0.150

Artist description "Thomas, Irma"

Irma Thomas

Don’t Mess With My Man

Irma Thomas

Don’t Mess With My Man


This was the first the world heard of soul chanteuse Irma Thomas, and the song has become so popular that any female singer in any bar is still guaranteed a good response from it. Born Irma Lee in Pontachoula, Louisiana on February 18, 1941, she moved with her family to New Orleans three years later. “We lived in a rooming house near the Bell Motel on Melpomene Street,” she told Jeff Hannusch. “The lounge in the motel had a jukebox, and I’d sneak off and listen to it every chance I got.” Pregnant at 14, she married the father of her child, and then married Andrew Thomas, with whom she had two more kids.

Leaving the children with her mother, Irma began singing with Tommy Ridgely at the Pimlico Club. Ridgely introduced her to Joe Ruffino, owner of the Ric and Ron labels, and Irma auditioned for Ruffino in the back of his distributorship. Dorothy Labostrie, whom we last encountered cleaning up Little Richard’s Tutti Frutti, had written Don’t Mess With My Man. “That was a kind of bold song,” she said, “especially for 1959. I was looking for a young girl with a lot of spirit to sing it. Irma came along, and she had the voice.” Ruffino wanted to get it recorded right away. “The next day, we went to the studio,” Thomas told Hannusch. “I didn’t have enough sense to be scared.” Ruffino hired Eddie Bo as arranger, and cut the session at Cosimo Matassa’s studio. According to Labostrie, backing was provided by Edgar Blanchard’s Gondoliers.

Bo’s arrangement called for a brisk shuffle, and Irma sounds older than her years. The song became a local breakout and then a nationwide hit. Irma hit the road in a beat-up Mercury stationwagon. Even then, she found that the song evoked a potent response. It peaked at a rather lowly #22 on the R&B charts, but sold much better than that placing suggests. It also heralded a long, ongoing career.


Various - Blowing The Fuse 1960

Classics That Rocked The Jukebox

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Irma Thomas - Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Irma Thomas: Soul Queen Of New Orleans (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.