Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Mike Smith Sinatra Songbook

catalog number: CDDE480

weight in Kg 0,107


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$11.73 *

Mike Smith: Sinatra Songbook

(1994/Delmark) 10 tracks
Alto saxophonist Mike Smith spent time at the ideal listening post to come by his inspiration for Sinatra Songbook. As a member of the Voice's band in the latter part of the singer's career, Smith became steeped in Frank Sinatra's repertoire, style, and skill as a performing artist. While paying tribute, the Chicago-based Smith also effectively asserts his own artistry on this polished, well-recorded set of mainstream performances from 1995. The link between the saxophonist and his former boss comes across through qualities that Smith shares with Sinatra: a natural grace and ease with phrasing, a classy, authoritative presence, and an ability to put a strongly personal artistic mark on a repertoire of standards. Smith displays awesome facility, whether flying along the current of the rhythm section on the uptempo numbers or ruminating in world-weary introspection on the ballads. While much is made of his Cannonball Adderley influences, it is also clear that Smith's flawless execution at speed shares some of Sonny Stitt's preternatural abilities. The rhythm section of John Whitfield on bass, Bob Rummage on drums, and pianist Ron Perillo, who alternates with Jim Ryan, is absolutely impressive and a good fit with the leader. The performances, naturally, are all numbers closely associated with Sinatra, but Smith and company do a fine job of making them their own. Highlights include snappy versions of "I Get a Kick Out of You" and "I Remember You," and a fresh interpretation of "Angel Eyes" in which the group, driving off Perillo's Tyner-esque piano, evolves the song's minor blues line into almost a modal hard bop space. (AllMusic)


Mike Smith - Sinatra Songbook Medium 1
1: All Or Nothing At All
2: Nancy With The Laughing Face
3: I Get A Kick Out Of You
4: Angel Eyes
5: Dindi
6: In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
7: September In The Rain
8: Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
9: I Remember You
10: Only The Lonely


Artikeleigenschaften von Mike Smith: Sinatra Songbook

  • Interpret: Mike Smith

  • Albumtitel: Sinatra Songbook

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Style 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 969 Delmark Records Jazz
  • Title Sinatra Songbook
  • Label DELMARK

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 0038153048020

  • weight in Kg 0.107
Presseartikel über Mike Smith - Sinatra Songbook
Customer evaluation "Sinatra Songbook"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Mike Smith: Sinatra Songbook"

The fields marked with * are required.