Article successfully added.

Johnny Otis Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade

Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

$17.65 *

* incl. VAT / plus shipping costs

Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (as far as available at the supplier - can be faster, but sometimes unfortunately not)

  • CDCHD774
  • 0.1
(1957 'Dig Records') (62:16/24) Die kompletten Aufnahmen, die Johnny Otis damals für sein... more

Johnny Otis: Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade

(1957 'Dig Records') (62:16/24) Die kompletten Aufnahmen, die Johnny Otis damals für sein eigenes Label gemacht hat. Allesamt Re-Makes erfolgreicher R&B-Titel der letzten Jahre, darunter acht unveröffentlichte Nummern. Gutes Zeug / the complete recordings for his own label before he signed with 'Capitol'. Re-makes of then successful r&b and vocal group hits. Comes with eight unrleased tracks. Good stuff.

Article properties: Johnny Otis: Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade

  • Interpret: Johnny Otis

  • Album titlle: Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade

  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Label Ace Records

  • Artikelart CD

  • EAN: 0029667177429

  • weight in Kg 0.1
Otis, Johnny - Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade CD 1
01 Honey Love JAYOS
02 Sh-Boom JAYOS
03 Earth Angel JAYOS
04 Gee! JAYOS
05 Sincerely JAYOS
06 The Midnight Creeper (Part 1) JOHNNY OTIS
07 At My Front Door JAYOS
08 Long Tall Sally JOHNNY OTIS
09 Only You JAYOS
10 One Mint Julep JAYOS
11 Hey Hey Hey Hey JOHNNY OTIS
12 Please Don't Leave Me JOHNNY OTIS
13 Shake A Hand BARNES, Jeannie
14 Sexy Ways JAYOS
15 Ko Ko Mo, I Love You So MAYE, Arthur Lee
16 Fever MAYE, Arthur Lee
17 It's Love Baby LEWIS, Harold
18 I Almost Lost My Mind MORELAND, Prince
19 The Midnight Creeper (Part 2) JOHNNY OTIS
20 Good Lovin' JAYOS
21 Teardrops From My Eyes BARNES, Jeannie
22 I Need You So MORELAND, Prince
23 I Cried A Million Tears WILLIAMS, Mel
24 All Through The Night WILLIAMS, Mel
Johnny Otis, Johnny Otis, now billed as the Godfather of Rhythm and Blues, was born in... more
"Johnny Otis"

Johnny Otis,

Johnny Otis, now billed as the Godfather of Rhythm and Blues, was born in Vallejo, California, on Dec. 28, 1921, to Greek immigrant parents, Alexander and Irene Veliotes. By 1940, the big band jazz of Count Basie and Duke Ellington had inspired him to start learning drums, later progressing to piano and vibes. In 1946 he switched from a small boogie-blues outfit to a 16-piece jazz-swing band, signed a contract with Excelsior Records and scored his first hit, `Harlem Nocturne'. The band took off on a nationwide tour with Louis Jordan, Nat 'King' Cole and the Inkspots.

They were later to record with such jazz greats as Lester Young, Illinois Jacquet and Jimmy Rushing. In 1948, Otis opened the Barrelhouse Club in Los Angeles, thus launching the very first nightspot to feature R&B music exclusively. While at the Barrelhouse, he discovered 13-year-old Little Esther (Philips).

Throughout 1950, the pair cut numerous hits for Savoy records, usually billed as Little Esther with Johnny Otis and the Robins (whowere another Otis find). Their first recording, 'Double Crossing Blues', was a No. 1 R&B seller throughout the nation. This was followed by `Mistrustin' Blues', 'Wedding Boogie' and Deceivin' Blues'. At about the same time, Otis saw the potential of a tour-ing R&B review, and so 'The Johnny Otis R&B Caravan' took to the road — again the first of its kind. The package featured several Otis discoveries, including Big Mama Thornton, who was later to cut the original version of Leiber and Stoller's 'Hound Dog,' with Otis in accompaniment.

Even with lengthy tours to contend with, Otis found time to search out new talent. While in Detroit in 1951, he discovered Jackie Wilson, Little Willie John and Hank Ballard. A few years later the legendary Johnny Ace joined the Otis package, and quickly became the star of the show. Otis went on to arrange and produce most of Ace's record-ings for the Texas-based Duke-Peacock label, including his smash hit of 1954, 'Pledging My Love'. Little Richard, Etta James, Charles Brown, Johnny 'Guitar' Watson and Sugar-cane Harris are just a few of the other artists he has been associated with over the years. As the Fifties progressed, Otis became more and more aware of the changing public taste in R&B, notably with the introduction of rock'n'roll styles into the music.

By 1957 he had signed a contract with Capitol records in LA, and later that year cut 'Ma (He's Makin' Eyes At Me)', sung by Marie Adams & The Three Tons Of Joy. Shortly after he recorded what was to become his best remembered hit, 'Willie And The Hand Jive'. It was a novelty rock song aimed straight at the teenage market, and the Top Ten, that exploited to the full the now famous 'Bo Diddley' beat. Whether the arrangement was inspired Diddley is open to debate, although Otis insists that he first played by this rhythm — know as 'shave-and-a-haircut, six-bits' — during the early Forties.

The song was later covered in Britain by Cliff Richard. Otis spent most of the Sixties working in a producer-arranger capacity, until 1968 when he and his son, Shuggie, collaborated on a progressive album called Cold Shot. It was a surprise hit and led to a producer-recording contract with Columbia-Epic. By 1970, however, Otis had decided to re-form his original touring show of the Fifties, and has since played a string of successful concert dates throughout America and Europe.


Review 0
Read, write and discuss reviews... more
Customer evaluation for "Rock'n'Roll Hit Parade"
Write an evaluation
Evaluations will be activated after verification.
Please enter the digits and letters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Weitere Artikel von Johnny Otis
Watts Funky (2-LP) Johnny Otis & Friends: Watts Funky (2-LP) Art-Nr.: BGP2144

Item must be ordered

$24.23 *
The New Johnny Otis Show Johnny Otis: The New Johnny Otis Show Art-Nr.: CDAL4726

Item must be ordered

$13.22 *
Creepin' With The Cats Johnny Otis: Creepin' With The Cats Art-Nr.: CDCHD325

Item must be ordered

$17.65 * $14.33 *
Cool It Baby The Treniers: Cool It Baby Art-Nr.: BCD15418

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Hey Sister Lucy The Treniers: Hey Sister Lucy Art-Nr.: BCD15419

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Love Is Strange (2-CD) Mickey & Sylvia: Love Is Strange (2-CD) Art-Nr.: BCD15438

Item must be ordered

Shrimp Boats A-Comin' - There's Dancin' Tonight Jerry Jackson: Shrimp Boats A-Comin' - There's Dancin' Tonight Art-Nr.: BCD15481

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Boogie Woogie On A Saturday Night (CD) RED CAPS: Boogie Woogie On A Saturday Night (CD) Art-Nr.: BCD15490

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!