Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Robert Nighthawk Complete Recorded Works

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDWB002

weight in Kg 0,107


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$17.10 *

Robert Nighthawk: Complete Recorded Works

(1937-40) (75:52/25)


Nighthawk, Robert - Complete Recorded Works CD 1
1: Tough Luck
2: Lonesome World
3: G-Man
4: Don't Mistreat Your Woman
5: Prowling Night-Hawk
6: Sweet Pepper Mama
7: My Friend Has Forsaken Me
8: Mean Black Cat
9: Brickyard
10: Mamie Lee
11: Take It easy, Baby
12: I Have Spent My Bonus
13: CNA
14: Every Day And Night
15: Ol' Mose
16: You're All I've Got To Live For
17: She's Got What It Takes
18: Next Door Neighbor
19: Big Apple Blues
20: Freight train Blues
21: Good Gamblin'
22: Gonna Kept It For My Dadfdy
23: Never Leave Me
24: Mama Don't Allow Me To Stay Out All Night Long
25: Friar's Point Blues


Artikeleigenschaften von Robert Nighthawk: Complete Recorded Works

  • Interpret: Robert Nighthawk

  • Albumtitel: Complete Recorded Works

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title Complete Recorded Works
  • Label WOLF

  • SubGenre Blues - Electric

  • EAN: 0799582400222

  • weight in Kg 0.107

Artist description "Nighthawk, Robert"

The Nighthawks (Robert Nighthawk)

Until his disciple Earl Hooker came to prominence, it's unlikely any blues slide guitarist developed a cleaner, lighter, more melodic touch than Robert Nighthawk. He started out recording in the pre-war era as Robert Lee McCoy, but that wasn't his real name either. He was born Robert Lee McCollum (or McCullum) in Helena, Arkansas on November 30, 1909.

Robert got started playing guitar late, at approximately 21. His first instrument was harmonica before his cousin, Houston Stackhouse, tutored him on guitar. But he was a fast learner. Bluebird signed him in 1937; he made his recording debut in Aurora, Illinois, on the same May day as Sonny Boy Williamson. By then, he'd changed his handle to McCoy after fleeing the south following a murky shooting incident that compelled him to take up residence in St. Louis.

One of McCoy's songs that day was called Prowling Night-Hawk, the inspiration for his most enduring alias. There were a couple more Bluebird dates and a 1940 Decca session as Peetie's Boy before the war upended recording activities. Nomadic Robert ended up back in Helena for a time, broadcasting his pungent blues over KFFA for Bright Star Flour in direct competition with the second Sonny Boy Williamson's 'King Biscuit Time' program.

Muddy Waters recommended his old friend Robert, who had by this time gone electric, to Leonard Chess. Nighthawk cut for him in late 1948 and again on July 12, 1949, when the day's itinerary included the chilling Black Angel Blues, pianist Ernest Lane and bassist Willie Dixon providing splendidly sparse accompaniment. The song harked back to 1930 and rough-edged classic blues singer Lucille Bogan (though Nighthawk was probably more familiar with fellow slide master Tampa Red’s 1934 version), and in 1956 B.B. King would score a solid R&B hit with it as Sweet Little Angel. Aristocrat—the label Leonard Chess was associated with prior to his own self-named firm—issued it as by The Nighthawks. The other side, Annie Lee Blues, made a chart dent—Robert's only fleeting moment in the national spotlight.

Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!

Presseartikel über Robert Nighthawk - Complete Recorded Works
Customer evaluation "Complete Recorded Works"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Robert Nighthawk: Complete Recorded Works"

The fields marked with * are required.