Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Memphis Slim & His House Rockers The Come Back

The Come Back

catalog number: CDDE762

weight in Kg 0,107


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $18.66 * (17.42 % Saved)
$15.41 *

Memphis Slim & His House Rockers: The Come Back

his first sessions for 'United'. The sound quality is awesome, almost unbelievable! Musicalwise these takes are amongst the best ever recorded by Slim. A special treat are eleven previously unissued takes, some featuring some of the most jaw-dropping blues guitar from that era. Murphy's one of the best, ever with his T-Bone-like style - although he plays harder and on a higher technical level than Walker. This one, along with the Smothers CD in this catalog should be part of every blues record collection ...!!

Memphis Slim's United recordings deserve special acknowledgment because, to put it bluntly, they're his best. Delmark 710, Memphis Slim U.S.A., presented the last two of his four United sessions. Now The Come Back brings listeners the complete first two sessions plus two auditions. There's much new to savor here including eleven previously unissued tracks containing two real revelations: super-guitarist Matt "Guitar" Murphy's first recorded vocal "Cool Down Baby" also featuring a jaw-dropping guitar intro, and the initial '52 version of "The Come Back" as a straight slow blues lacking the stop time arrangement. Piano blues at its best!


Memphis Slim & His House Rockers - The Come Back Medium 1
1: Only A Fool Has Fun
2: The Come Back (Alternate)
3: Shuffleboard
4: Living The Life I Love
5: Cool Down Baby
6: Nat Dee Special
7: I Love My Baby
8: Two Of A Kind (Alternate)
9: Smooth Sailin'
10: 5 O'clock Blues
11: Stewball
12: The Cat Creeps
13: Call Before You Go Home
14: Back Alley
15: This Is My Lucky Day
16: The Come Back
17: Midnight
18: St Louis Woman
19: 5 O'clock Blues (Alternate)
20: She's Alright


Artikeleigenschaften von Memphis Slim & His House Rockers: The Come Back

  • Interpret: Memphis Slim & His House Rockers

  • Albumtitel: The Come Back

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Music Genre Blues
  • Music Style The Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 910 The Blues
  • Title The Come Back
  • Label DELMARK

  • Price code VCD3
  • SubGenre Blues - Electric

  • EAN: 0038153076221

  • weight in Kg 0.107

Artist description "Memphis Slim"

Memphis Slim

At his first session for OKeh in 1940 under the omnipresent Lester Melrose’s supervision, towering blues and boogie piano specialist John Len Chatman adopted the name of his father, Peter Chatman, as his recording alias. When he returned to a Chicago studio less than three months later, this time for Bluebird, he was billed as Memphis Slim. And yes, he was born in the Bluff City on September 3, 1915.

Slim started playing at age seven (his dad was conversant on the 88s as well as guitar), and by 16 he was manning the ivories at the Midway Café on Beale. St. Louis pianist Roosevelt Sykes was his principal influence, so indelibly that after Slim came to Chicago in 1937 and teamed with Big Bill Broonzy, the veteran guitarist strongly urged him to get away from Sykes’ style and develop one of his own.

After the war, Slim recorded for a vast array of Chicago indies, beginning with Hy-Tone in ’46. He inked a pact the next year with Lee Egalnick’s fledgling Miracle label; with his jumping House Rockers, Slim topped the R&B charts in 1948 with his after-hours original Messin’ Around. He posted four more hits the next year (Blue And Lonesome made it to #2), and in ’50 laid down Nobody Loves Me, transformed by Lowell Fulson into Every Day I Have The Blues. On Egalnick’s Premium logo, Slim enjoyed a 1951 hit with the wise and worldly Mother Earth before bouncing to Mercury and then United, where Slim scored his last hit in ’53 with The Come Back

It’s unlikely Slim ever made a better series of recordings than the ones he did for Vee-Jay, in no small part due to the presence of Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, who first joined the House Rockers in 1952. Slim’s first date for Vee-Jay in January of ’58 produced two 45s, and following a Carnegie Hall concert with Muddy Waters in the spring of ’59, Slim and the House Rockers (Murphy, saxists Alex Atkins, John Calvin, and Ernest Cotton, bassist Sam Chatman, and drummer Billie Stepney) entered a Chicago studio on August 18 for a marathon session that produced his entire misleadingly titled ‘At The Gate Of Horn’ album. Slim revisited a lot of his past classics that day, including Messin’ Around. Murphy’s explosive presence makes it the definitive treatment (his solo is mind-boggling for its time). 

Europe was a tantalizing touring possibility for veteran bluesmen such as Slim and bassist Willie Dixon. The duo performed in England in 1959, then zipped over to Israel the next year. "We discussed it quite a bit, and we thought we was gonna be makin’ a bigger buck," said the late Dixon. "We didn’t find out the pound in Israel was worth 33 cents until we got there, and it was too late then!" Nevertheless, Slim was sick of the tribulations he encountered back home. He made Europe his home in ‘62, living like a king in Paris until his February 24, 1988 death there.


Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über Memphis Slim & His House Rockers - The Come Back
Customer evaluation "The Come Back"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Memphis Slim & His House Rockers: The Come Back"

The fields marked with * are required.

Memphis Slim: Memphis Slim...

Content: 1.0000

$15.41 * Instead of: $18.66 *

Memphis Slim: Live In...

Content: 1.0000

$22.17 * Instead of: $22.17 *

Memphis Slim: Memphis Slim...

Content: 1.0000

$17.49 * Instead of: $17.49 *

Memphis Slim &...: Baby Please...

Content: 1.0000

$11.64 * Instead of: $17.49 *

Various - SUN...: The Sun...

Content: 1.0000

$84.18 * Instead of: $93.54 *