Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

JIM & JESSE The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDPCR9001

weight in Kg 0,400

$76.05 *

JIM & JESSE: The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD

4-CD Box Set that contains 100 songs originally recorded and released on LP/CS on Jim & Jesse's own Old Dominion label. Also included is a 16 page, LP-size book by bluegrass historian Gary B. Reid, with extensive commentary and many rare photos.


Jim & Jesse - The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD CD 1
1: Cotton Mill Man
2: Please Be My Love
3: Blue Ridge Mountain Blues
4: Live And Let Live
5: Careless Love, Goodye
6: It's A Long, Long Way To The Top Of The World
7: Just One Of A Kind
8: Your Old Love Letters
9: As Long As The Wind Blows
10: Wishful Thinking
11: I Heard The Bluebirds Sing
12: Rocky Top
13: Alone With You
14: Mansion On The Hill
15: Everybody's Reaching Out For Someone
16: I'm A Lonesome Fugitive
17: Wreck Of The Number Nine
18: My Love Song (I'm Changing The Words To)
19: Ashes Of Love
20: When You Want A Little Lovin'
21: The Best Dressed Beggar In Town
22: Don't Ever Take Your Love From Me
23: Sundown And Sorrow
24: Mid The Green Fields Of Virginia
25: Somewhere My Love (Instr.)
Jim & Jesse - The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD CD 2
1: Jesus Is The Key To The Kingdom
2: Little White Church
3: Family Bible
4: Walking My Lord Up Calvary Hill
5: Truth On The Mountain
6: The Family Who Prays (Never Shall Part)
7: On The Wings Of A Dove
8: Matthew
9: Born Again
10: Two Thousand Years Ago
11: River Of Jordan
12: How Great Thou Art (Instr.)
13: Heaven
14: Over In The Gloryland
15: Life's Railway To Heaven
16: There's A Light Guiding Me
17: An Old Account Settled
18: Wait A Little Longer, Please Jesus
19: Everybody Will Be Happy Over There
20: Great Speckled Bird
21: We Are Climbing
22: When My Savior Reached Down For Me
23: Something Got A Hold Of Me
24: Amazing Grace (Instr.)
25: I'll Reap My Harvest In Heaven
Jim & Jesse - The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD CD 3
1: Big Hands
2: Thank God For The USA
3: God Bless America Again
4: If We Forget God
5: Under The Double Eagle (Instr.)
6: When The Wagon Was New
7: Log Cabin In The Lane
8: Back In The USA
9: Medley: America The Beautiful/God Bless
10: America/Battle Hymn Of The Republic (Instr.)
11: Valley Of Peace
12: Take Me In The Lifeboat
13: Sweet Virginia
14: Air Mail Special On The Fly
15: Then I'll Stop Going For You
16: Hard Hearted
17: Stormy Horizons
18: Freight Train
19: Ballad Of Thunder Road
20: Voice Of My Darling
21: A Bird With Broken Wings Can't Fly
22: Cash On The Barrelhead
23: Fireball Express
24: Poison Love
25: Mountain Rosalie
26: Ain't Hard To Love
Jim & Jesse - The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD CD 4
1: Intor: 16
2: Heartbreak Mountain (Instr.)
3: When I Stop Dreaming
4: Ole Slew Foot
5: El Cumbanchero (Instr.)
6: Better Times A' Coming
7: Lee Highway Blues (Instr.)
8: Knoxville Girl
9: She Left Me Standing On The Mountain
10: Childish Love
11: Cosh, I Miss You All The Time
12: Border Ride (Instr.)
13: I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
14: Westphalia Waltz (Instr.)
15: Dixie Hoedown (Instr.)
16: I Don't Believe You've Met My Baby
17: Paradise
18: I Wish You Knew
19: Heartaches And Flowers
20: Far From You
21: I'm Sorry, That's All I Can Say
22: I've Been Everywhere But Crazy
23: Break My Heart Again
24: Maple Sugar (Instr.)
25: Be Good To Her
26: Diesel Train


Artikeleigenschaften von JIM & JESSE: The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD

  • Interpret: JIM & JESSE

  • Albumtitel: The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD

  • Format CD
  • Genre Country

  • Title The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD

  • SubGenre Country - Bluegrass

  • EAN: 0755757900126

  • weight in Kg 0.400

Artist description "Jim & Jesse"

JIM McREYNOLDS of JIM & JESSE Dies at Age 75


Jim McReynolds, the older half of Jim & Jesse died December 31, 2002 in Gallatin, Tennessee, of cancer. He was 75. His death brings to an end one of the most durable and influential brother acts in bluegrass and country music. James Monroe McReynolds was born Feb. 13, 1927, in Carfax, Virginia. His brother, Jesse Lester, arrived two years later. The brothers'grandfather, Charles McReynolds, was a fiddler who recorded with the Bull Mountain Moonshiners for Victor Records on the famed Bristol sessions that launched the recording careers of Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family.


In 1947, after serving a two-year term in the Army, McReynolds returned to his home state and, with his brother, secured a daily radio show in Norton, Virginia. Over the next five years, they worked at a succession of stations across the South and Midwest. The McReynolds, joined by singer Larry Roll, made their first records in 1951 in Middletown, performing as the Virginia Trio. The following year, they began recording for Capitol Records, backed by a studio band that included James Loden who would soon go on to solo fame as Sonny James. One of their early cuts for Capitol was Are You Missing Me. While the song did not chart, it went on to become a bluegrass classic and a staple in their stage shows.


In 1964, Jim & Jesse, by then recording for Epic Records, scored their first chart hit with Cotton Mill Man. The same year, the brothers became members of the Grand Ole Opry. While Jim & Jesse would continue to chart intermittently until 1986 (when they had the minor hit, Oh Louisiana), their biggest single came in 1967 with Diesel On My Tail, which reached #18.


Although legitimately categorized as a bluegrass act, Jim & Jesse were known for their musical openness. They recorded an entire album of Chuck Berry songs in 1965, 'Berry Pickin'in the Country.'Jim & Jesse were inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Association’s Hall of Honor in 1993. In 1997, they were awarded the National Heritage Fellowship Award from the National Endowment for the Arts. A memorial service was held Saturday January 4, 2003 in Gallatin, Tennessee, but Jim McReynolds was buried back in Virginia.


Jim & Jesse’s complete Capitol recordings are on '1952-1955' and their complete Epic recordings are on 'Bluegrass and More’, a 5-CD boxed set.


(with acknowledgements to Edward Morris at

Presseartikel über JIM & JESSE - The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD
Customer evaluation "The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "JIM & JESSE: The Old Dominion Masters 4-CD"

The fields marked with * are required.

Various Artists: At The...

Content: 1.0000

$229.85 *

Jim & Jesse: 20 Great...

Content: 1.0000

$29.42 * Instead of: $35.31 *

Jim & Jesse: Bluegrass...

Content: 1.0000

$111.95 *

Jim & Jesse: 1952-1955

Content: 1.0000

$17.63 * Instead of: $18.81 *