Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Les Humphries Singers Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)

Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)
Star Rating (1)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CD697526

weight in Kg 0,150


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

Instead of: $23.52 * (25.04 % Saved)
$17.63 *

Les Humphries Singers: Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)

(2011/Sony) 60 tracks CD on SONY RECORDS by Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD)


Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase) Medium 1
1: Walk Right In
2: Bucket Of Sweat
3: Melting Pot
4: We'll Fly you To The Promised Land
5: Hey Joe
6: Soolaimon
7: Jesus Cried On The Day That He Died
8: Believe In The Words Of The Lord
9: Battersea Park
10: Michael
11: Sloop John B.
12: With Or Without
Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase) Medium 2
1: Love The One You're With
2: Loose Threads
3: 12 Men
4: Jesus, Joseph And Peter
5: We Are Goin' Down Jordan
6: 2000 Years
7: White Bread
8: Suzanne
9: Marshal Wright
10: Mother Remember
11: Lot Of Muddy Water
12: Little Brown Man
Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase) Medium 3
1: Sing Hallelujah
2: Soul Brother Jesus
3: Old Man Moses
4: A Friend Ma Friend
5: Solomon
6: Captain Rasman
7: Take Care Of Me
8: Little Things
9: Sarah  
10: Mary Turn The Lamp Down Low  
11: This Old Man  
12: Any Other Time  
Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase) Medium 4
1: Old Time Religion  
2: Malaika  
3: Lovely Day  
4: She's Really Something Else  
5: Old Cotton Wheel  
6: Tell My Why  
7: Jennifer Adam  
8: Rock Candy Mountain  
9: Pass Me By  
10: That What He Calls Love  
11: Woudn't She Be Nice  
12: Mexico  
Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase) Medium 5
1: Mama Loo  
2: I'm Getting Out  
3: Picture Book Story  
4: Given The Chance  
5: Whole Lotta Love Comin' On  
6: I'm From The South, I'm From Ge-o-orgia  
7: Dem Bones  
8: Carry On  
9: Doesn't Seem To Have An End  
10: Old Black Joe  
11: Before The Sun Goes Down  
12: Love One Another  


Artikeleigenschaften von Les Humphries Singers: Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)

  • Interpret: Les Humphries Singers

  • Albumtitel: Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Title Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)
  • Release date 2011
  • Label SONY

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 5052498697526

  • weight in Kg 0.150

Artist description "Humphries Singers, Les"

Les Humphries Singers

One of the most joyous sounds to permeate the radio airwaves in the 70's and 80's came from central Europe courtesy of The Les Humphries Singers. Led by the enigmatic, Les Humphries, who now resides in his british homeland. Les is an
enigmatic fellow and very little is documented about the group in the Music history books. We do know and remember the wonderful music that he has made however, with his inspirational, multi racial, choral group for three decades. A musical style which become synonymous with german culture of the 70's and early 80's.


The Les Humphries singers first appeared on the international stage as an 11 piece spiritual choir. Signing to Decca Records, in the late 60's, releasing their first single 'To My Fathers House'/'Gospel Train' at the end of 1970. It received a considerable amount of radio airplay throughout Europe but narrowly failed to chart, as did their second single 'This Ole House'/'We'll Fly You To The Promised Land' (March '71), their third single `Soolaimon'/Sloop John B', a double headed reworking of two 60's classics (previously hits for Neil Diamond and The Beach Boys), brought them a lot more listeners and into the European charts for the first time. The Les Humphries Singers appealed to fans of all ages, sold incredible quantities of albums, packed concert halls and 'headlined' at open air festivals around the world. With their terrific renditions of standards and Les's own material.


They really reached 'Super Stardom' in 1972, The Les Humphries Group appeared on TV with their latest single '01' Man Mose'/'Going Down Jordan' (March), both sides became enormous hits. The group swiftly followed up their first chart topper with 'Take Care Of Me'/'Mary Turn The Lamp Down Low' (May), another hit and another great sing-a-long song. What Harry Belafonte had done with his caribbean style in the 60's, The Les Humphries Singers were successfully repeating, in their own way, a decade later. No european summer party would have been complete in the 70's without their music, their adoring fans continued to grow in number. In 1973 they released the party classic `Mama Loo', a great Les Humphries composition, a showstopper at their concerts and one of the most loved singles they have ever recorded. The next release from The Les Humphries Singers was 'UniformI Kentucky Dew' (October `73), a favourite with their legions of fans. In 1975 The Les Humphries Singers signed a new recording contract (with Antic Records in the UK) in the hope of spreading their wonderful, uplifting music, beyond the boundries which had held them so close and loyally for the first half of the 70's (mainland Europe).


There were four more singles released in Britain 'She's Really Something' and `Spanish Discotheque' both in 1975. 'Indian War' and 'Sing Sang Song' in 1976. Single releases like 'Kansas City' (another Les Humphries song) and 'New Orleans' were huge selling hits in Europe in the mid 70's and remain amongst their most remembered and loved today. No group before or since has ever managed to pack so much vocal joy into one 7" slice of vinyl. The Les Humphries 'Sound' was a guaranteed tonic. Maybe they should have been available on prescription ("listen to these albums 3 times daily after meals. . ."). In 1989 a terrific 'Mega Mix' including their biggest hits 'Mama Loo' and 'Mexico', was released and took them to 'chart-land' once again, the Maxi single/12" still packs the floors in discotheques today. In the 90's Les Humphries returned to Britain and recently revisited those wonderful days bringing his unique arrangements to the hits and a number of newly recorded songs, including the classics 'The Clapping Song' and 'Oh Happy Day'. To thrill a new generation of fans and if, like me, you are a long time fan, rekindle some wonderful memories of those golden days. I know you will enjoy listening to this 'Very Best Of'. .. it's just what the good doctor ordered.
Kevin James

Presseartikel über Les Humphries Singers - Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)
Customer evaluation "Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)"
Average customer evaluation
Star Rating
(from 1 customer evaluations)
From: Gorray 2016-08-16 18:58:17

Kurze Lieferzeit, gute Info

Weitere Einkäufe möglich

Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Les Humphries Singers: Original Album Series (5-CD Slipcase)"

The fields marked with * are required.