Article successfully added.

Lightnin' Hopkins Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

$27.48 *

* incl. VAT / plus shipping costs

Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (as far as available at the supplier - can be faster, but sometimes unfortunately not)

  • LPFS3822
  • 0.3
(Smithsonian Folkways) 10 tracks Musicologist Sam Charters recorded legendary, Texas... more

Lightnin' Hopkins: Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)

(Smithsonian Folkways) 10 tracks

Musicologist Sam Charters recorded legendary, Texas country bluesman Sam "Lightnin'" Hopkins in 1959 before the revival of rural blues or country music. Nonetheless, this recording of Hopkins's first acoustic sessions was met with immediate critical acclaim and soon became recognized as a blues classic. This vinyl reissue is part of Folkways Records' 70th anniversary celebration series, revisiting some of the most iconic and influential albums released on the record label, starting with Lightnin' Hopkins, Woody Guthrie and Jospeh Spence. Remastered from the original 1959 LP master tapes and presented in classic Folkways style with a tip-on jacket featuring original liner notes.

Video von Lightnin' Hopkins - Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)

Article properties: Lightnin' Hopkins: Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)

  • Interpret: Lightnin' Hopkins

  • Album titlle: Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)

  • Genre Blues

  • Geschwindigkeit 33 U/min
  • Vinyl record size LP (12 Inch)
  • Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Year of publication 2018
  • Artikelart LP

  • Label Smitsonian Folkways

  • EAN: 0093070382213

  • weight in Kg 0.3
Hopkins, Lightnin' - Lightnin' Hopkins (LP) LP 1
01 Penitentiary Blues Lightnin' Hopkins
02 Bad Luck And Trouble Lightnin' Hopkins
03 Come Go Home With Me Lightnin' Hopkins
04 Trouble Stay 'Way From My Door Lightnin' Hopkins
05 See That My Grave Is Kept Clean Lightnin' Hopkins
06 Goin' Back To Florida Lightnin' Hopkins
07 Reminiscences Of Blind Lemon Lightnin' Hopkins
08 Fan It Lightnin' Hopkins
09 Tell Me, Baby Lightnin' Hopkins
10 She's Mine Lightnin' Hopkins
Lightnin' Hopkins Lightnin' Hopkins is many people's idea of what a blues-singer should be... more
"Lightnin' Hopkins"

Lightnin' Hopkins

Lightnin' Hopkins is many people's idea of what a blues-singer should be : an endlessly inventive folk-poet, whose imagination is touched by almost everything but whose sing-ing and playing express nothing but the blues. And this, despite nearly 30 years of performing and recording, and all the pressures that might have made him something else, he unswervingly has been. But he has not, outside his own com-munity, been very obviously influential on either American or British rock; his blues, sung by others, are not self-sustaining, as many of the Chicagoans' are.


His early recordings, in the Forties and Fifties, were characterised by thunderous amplification - as any number of reissues demonstrate - but his first ventures into a different market, with acoustic guitar, compensate in subtlety for what they lose in force (e.g. the Folkways and some Bluesville albums). Later sessions placed him with accompanying groups, rarely successfully, though his album for Jewel is an exception.

Through all these records he balances slow blues with vivid boogies, occasionally leaving his guitar to essay an idiosyncratic piano style. Born in Centerville, Texas, in 1912, he spent most of his life in Houston, and his refusal to extract himself from that milieu is the chief reason for his undiminished authenticity as an observer, through the blues, of black life.

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Review 0
Read, write and discuss reviews... more
Customer evaluation for "Lightnin' Hopkins (LP)"
Write an evaluation
Evaluations will be activated after verification.
Please enter the digits and letters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Weitere Artikel von Lightnin' Hopkins
For You My Love - 12'Maxi PS (&Nat King Cole) Nellie Lutcher: For You My Love - 12'Maxi PS (&Nat King Cole) Art-Nr.: 12CL351

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays

Hits From 1722 (Johann Sebastian Bach) BAROQUE JAZZ ENSEMBLE: Hits From 1722 (Johann Sebastian Bach) Art-Nr.: 237631STEREO

Item must be ordered

Maybe Tomorrow 1971 (Ltd.) 180gr Vinyl JACKSON 5: Maybe Tomorrow 1971 (Ltd.) 180gr Vinyl Art-Nr.: 2722892

Item must be ordered

Goin' Back To Indiana 1971 (Ltd.) 180g Vinyl JACKSON 5: Goin' Back To Indiana 1971 (Ltd.) 180g Vinyl Art-Nr.: 2722905

Item must be ordered

Dancing Machine 1974 (Ltd.) 180g Vinyl JACKSON 5: Dancing Machine 1974 (Ltd.) 180g Vinyl Art-Nr.: 2723062

Item must be ordered

Strums The Blues (LP) Lightnin' Hopkins: Strums The Blues (LP) Art-Nr.: LPTMR554

Item must be ordered