Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Billie Holiday Four Classic (2-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDAMSC989

weight in Kg 0,120


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$11.64 *

Billie Holiday: Four Classic (2-CD)

The four classic albums of the title are "Body and Soul" from January 1957, 'Billie Holiday at Jazz at the Philharmonic' from 1945/6, and 'Music for Torching' and 'Velvet Mood' from August 1955, and the plus is five of the six tracks from 'Billie Holiday at Newport' (July 1957) and "Fine and Mellow" from 'The Sound of Jazz'. To nitpick for a moment, I'd have preferred the last track to have been omitted in favour of the missing Newport number.
These recordings come from the latter part of her career, when her addictions were beginning to take their toll, but at her best she still sounded head and shoulders above anyone else. Billie reprises some of her earlier hits for the Newport concert, with a trio accompaniment, and her vocal deterioration is in evidence. Norman Granz' ingenuous sleeve note notwithstanding, the JATP album was a composite from her three appearances at the Philharmonic, and displays evidence of an unsatisfactory recording balance.
Fortunately the majority of the tracks are studio recordings, and offer stellar accompaniments, including Harry 'Sweets' Edison on trumpet, Benny Carter on alto sax, Jimmy Rowles on piano, and Barney Kessel on guitar. So although this is a bit of a mixed bag it still offers plenty of delights.


Billie Holiday - Four Classic (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Body and soul
2: They can't take that away from me
3: Darn that dream
4: Let's call the whole thing off
5: Comes love
6: Gee, baby, ain't I good to you
7: Embraceable you
8: Moonlight in Vermont
9: Willow weep for me
10: My man
11: Lover, come back to me
12: Lady sings the blues
13: What a little moonlight can do
14: Body and soul
15: Strange fruit
16: Trav'lin' Light
17: He's funny that way
18: The man I love
19: Gee, baby, ain't I good to you
20: All of me
21: Billie's blues
Billie Holiday - Four Classic (2-CD) Medium 2
1: It had to be you
2: Come rain or come shine
3: I don't want to cry anymore
4: I don't stand a ghost of a chance with you
5: A fine romance
6: Gone with the wind
7: I get a kick out of you
8: Isn't this a lovely day
9: Prelude to a kiss
10: When your lover has gone
11: Please don't talk about me when I'm gone
12: Nice work if you can get it  
13: I've got a right to sing the blues  
14: What's new  
15: I hadn't anyone till you  
16: Everything I have is yours  
17: Fine and mellow  


Artikeleigenschaften von Billie Holiday: Four Classic (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Billie Holiday

  • Albumtitel: Four Classic (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre Jazz
  • Music Style Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 289 Jazz
  • Title Four Classic (2-CD)
  • Label AVID

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 5022810198925

  • weight in Kg 0.120
Presseartikel über Billie Holiday - Four Classic (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Four Classic (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Billie Holiday: Four Classic (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.