Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Roy Brown Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDFV0123

weight in Kg 0,150


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$17.41 *

Roy Brown: Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)

(2011/FNM) 50 tracks


Brown, Roy - Good Rockin' Man (2-CD) CD 1
1: Deep Sea Diver
2: Good Rocking Tonight
3: Lolly Pop Mama
4: Special Lesson No. 1
5: Mighty Mighty Man
6: Miss Fanny Brown
7: Long 'Bout Midnight
8: Roy Brown Boogie
9: 'Fore Day In The Morning
10: Rainy Weather Blues
11: Rockin' At Midnight
12: Please Don't Go (Come Back, Baby)
13: Boogie At Midnight
14: Cadillac Baby
15: Hard Luck Blues
16: Love Don't Love Nobody
17: Bar Room Blues
18: Train Time Blues
19: Long About Sundown
20: Good Rockin' Man
21: Big Town
22: Money Can't Buy Love
23: Hurry Hurry Baby
24: Midnight Lover Man
25: Letter From Home
Brown, Roy - Good Rockin' Man (2-CD) CD 2
1: Grandpa Stole My Baby
2: Mr Hound Dog's In Town
3: Caldonia's Wedding Day
4: Laughing But Crying
5: Crazy Crazy Women
6: Bootleggin' Baby
7: Trouble At Midnight
8: No Love At All
9: Up Jumped The Devil
10: Ain't It A Shame
11: Ain't No Rockin' No More
12: Fannie Brown Got Married
13: Worried Life Blues
14: Black Diamond
15: Letter To Baby
16: Saturday Night
17: Party Doll
18: Let The Four Winds Blow
19: Ain't Gonna Do It
20: Hip Shakin' Baby
21: Adorable One
22: Good Looking And Foxy Too
23: Ain't Got No Blues Today
24: A Man With The Blues
25: Rocking All The Time


Artikeleigenschaften von Roy Brown: Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Roy Brown

  • Albumtitel: Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B / Soul
  • Music Style Rhythm 'n' Blues / R&B
  • Music Sub-Genre 930 Rhythm 'n' Blues
  • Title Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)

  • SubGenre R&B Music - General

  • EAN: 5055311001234

  • weight in Kg 0.150

Artist description "Brown, Roy"

Roy Brown and His Mighty Mighty Men

With his huge vocal roar and a band that could melt paint off the walls of any juke joint, Roy Brown anticipated the rise of rock and roll. In fact, he spread the news in 1947 with his epochal Good Rocking Tonight, which he wrote and cut in New Orleans for DeLuxe, though Wynonie Harris' cover was the bigger hit.

B.B. King, Bobby Bland, and Jackie Wilson were all deeply influenced vocally by Roy, whose melismatic flights were direct precursors to soul. Odd, then, that Roy's early idol was Bing Crosby! Born September 10, 1925 in New Orleans, Brown was gigging in Galveston when Good Rocking Tonight came to him. He offered it to Harris, who haughtily turned it down. Pianist Cecil Gant was more impressed, contacting Jules Braun of DeLuxe Records in Linden, New Jersey in Brown's behalf. Braun came down to the Crescent City and supervised as Roy laid down his debut classic at Cosimo Matassa's fledgling J&M Studios. But Wynonie changed his mind and covered Good Rocking Tonight, ending up with an R&B chart-topper.

That kicked off an incredible hitmaking streak for Brown on DeLuxe. His 'Long About Midnight topped the R&B charts in late 1948; Boogie At Midnight nearly did the same in '49, and the harrowing Hard Luck Blues was his second number one hit in 1950. Love Don't Love Nobody made it to #2 R&B in late '50; backed by his own Mighty Mighty Men (trumpeter Wilbur Harden, saxists Johnny Fontennette and Leroy 'Batman' Rankin, pianist Edward Santineo, bassist Ike Isaacs, drummer Calvin Shields, and New Orleans guitarist Edgar Blanchard, a very inventive presence), it's a typically exciting tour de force for its writer.

 Brown transferred over to King Records in 1952 and the hits mysteriously ceased, despite the singer releasing some of his most thrilling rockers over the next three years. The singer signed with Imperial in '56, trying to cope with the onslaught of the music he'd boldly predicted nearly a decade earlier. Roy enjoyed a 1957 hit with producer Dave Bartholomew's Let The Four Winds Blow, but the handwriting was on the wall. He occasionally recorded throughout the '60s and mounted something of a comeback over the next decade before a heart attack ended this mighty, mighty man's bid on May 25, 1981 in his adopted hometown of Los Angeles.


Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!

Presseartikel über Roy Brown - Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Roy Brown: Good Rockin' Man (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.