Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Art Blakey Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

catalog number: CDAMSC1017

weight in Kg 0,120


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $17.49 * (46.83 % Saved)
$9.30 *

Art Blakey: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

The remainder of the first CD consists of the album Hard Drive by the 1957 line-up of the Jazz Messengers. This takes us into an airier sound world, where the individual musicians are free to relax without the bombast of a large ensemble. The star soloist is Johnny Griffin, whose solos swing easily while showing off his prodigious technique. DEO-X typifies the Jazz Messengers style: set in motion by Blakey's explosive drums leading into the trumpet/tenor sax blend which was the group's hallmark for so long. Junior Mance's sure touch is an integral feature of the rhythm section.
The first seven tracks of the second CD feature the 1956 version of the Jazz Messengers, when Horace Silver was still in the band. His solo on Nica's Dream is outstanding, but then he wrote this attractive tune which has understandably become a jazz standard. Silver also wrote the interestingly-chorded Ecaroh. Hank Mobley wrote three of the seven tracks on this LP, including Hank's Symphony which actually highlights Art Blakey's varied drumming skills. You can't say that Art was backward in coming forward!
The compilation closes with three tracks recorded at the 1959 Newport Jazz Festival. M & M is another Mobley composition, in exactly the kind of bebop mode that suited the Messengers. Close Your Eyes has a simple but effective arranged introduction of the type which made a neat contrast with the group's solos. Lee Morgan goes to town on this one. Pianist Bobby Timmons' tune Moanin' gets a groovy performance with a righteous gospel feel. These three final numbers each last for at least nine minutes, letting the musicians stretch out.


Art Blakey - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD) Medium 1
1: Midriff
2: Ain't life grand
3: Tippin'
4: Pristine
5: El toro valiente
6: The kiss of no return
7: Late date
8: The outer world
9: For minors only
10: Right down front
11: Deo-X
12: Sweet Sakeena
13: For miles and miles
14: Krafty
15: Late Spring
Art Blakey - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Infra-Rae
2: Nica's Dream
3: It's You Or No One
4: Ecaroh
5: Carol's Interlude
6: The End Of A Love Affair
7: Hank's Symphony
8: Willis Conover's introductions
9: M & M
10: Close Your Eyes
11: Moanin


Artikeleigenschaften von Art Blakey: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Art Blakey

  • Albumtitel: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Jazz

  • Music Genre Jazz
  • Music Style Jazz
  • Music Sub-Genre 289 Jazz
  • Title Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)
  • Label AVID

  • SubGenre Jazz - General

  • EAN: 5022810301721

  • weight in Kg 0.120
Presseartikel über Art Blakey - Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Art Blakey: Three Classic Albums Plus (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Spencer, Kenneth: Kennth...

Content: 1.0000

$13.46 *

Various: The Apollo...

Content: 1.0000

$23.34 *

Spencer, Kenneth: Das alte...

Content: 1.0000

$18.43 *

Juhnke, Harald: My Way (CD)

Content: 1.0000

$35.04 *

Kaempfert, Bert: My Way Of...

Content: 1.0000

$13.98 *