Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.


Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDD254

weight in Kg 0,100


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$18.28 *

WILBURN BROTHERS: The Knoxville Girl

(2008/BACM) 26 tracks Decca 1956-58


WILBURN BROTHERS - The Knoxville Girl Medium 1
1: Always Alone  
2: Cry Cry Darling  
3: Deep Elem Blues  
4: The Knoxville Girl  
5: Don't Sweetheart Me  
6: Go Away With Me  
7: Great Big Love  
8: I Close My Eyes  
9: I Got Over The Blues  
10: I Knwo You Don't Love Me Anymore  
11: I'll Sail My Ship Alone  
12: I'm Settin' You Free  
13: I'm So In Love With You  
14: Look Around Take A Look At Me  
15: Mixed Up Medley  
16: My Heart Or My Mind  
17: Nothing At All  
18: That's When I Miss You  
19: Time Changes Everything  
20: You Win Again  
21: If It's Wrong To Love You  
22: One Has My Name The Other Has My Heart  
23: Sugartime  
24: I Want to Live And Love  
25: Boys Faithful Friend  
26: Which One Is To Blame  


Artikeleigenschaften von WILBURN BROTHERS: The Knoxville Girl


  • Albumtitel: The Knoxville Girl

  • Format CD
  • Genre Country

  • Music Genre Country Music
  • Music Style Classic Country Artists
  • Music Sub-Genre 002 Classic Country Artists
  • Title The Knoxville Girl
  • Release date 2008

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0797734087543

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Wilburn Brothers"

Wilburn Brothers

Next Stop Vietnam

The War Keeps Draggin' On

Wilburn Brothers

The Wilburn Brothers were Virgil 'Doyle' (born July 7, 1930; died October 16, 1982) and Thurman Theodore ('Teddy') (born November 30, 1931; died November 24, 2003). Both were born in Hardy, Arkansas, into a musical family that also included older brothers Lester and Leslie, and sister Geraldine. Beginning in 1937, they performed together as the Wilburn Family. Singing in venues ranging from school auditoriums to radio stations, they were eventually noticed by Roy Acuff. His recommendation led to a six-month stay on the 'Grand Ole Opry,' a stay cut short by pressure from anti-child labor groups. In 1948 the brothers were invited to join the 'Louisiana Hayride,' where they befriended an as yet unknown Webb Pierce. Both Doyle and Teddy had been drafted into the military when in 1952 Pierce's Wondering became the first of his three consecutive #1 songs.

 Released from the service, the brothers rejoined the 'Grand Ole Opry' in 1953. A year later they began a two-decade recording career with Decca that would give them more than 30 chart entries. Hurt Her Once For Me [#3 in 1966] was their highest placed single, but in 1955 they were credited with 'harmony vocals' on Webb Pierce's In The Jailhouse Now, a song that spent an incredible 21 weeks atop the Country Chart.

With their impeccable country roots and musical credentials the Wilburn Brothers may have surprised some DJs and fans with their 'less than hawkish' Vietnam-related sides. The first, the title track from their 1970 LP 'Little Johnny From Down The Street,' told of a rambunctious boy, always in trouble, who as a young man gets drafted. The song ends with the lines, "Who is it won't be coming home, died in a foreign land all alone? Little Johnny from down the street." The song made it to #37. When they released The War Keeps Draggin' On, the Paris Peace Talks had already been in progress for almost three years. It would be another year before the Peace Accord was signed.

Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über WILBURN BROTHERS - The Knoxville Girl
Customer evaluation "The Knoxville Girl"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "WILBURN BROTHERS: The Knoxville Girl"

The fields marked with * are required.