Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Steppenwolf Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)

Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDMCA00088

weight in Kg 0,100

$11.64 *

Steppenwolf: Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)

1999 (MCA) 18 tracks.


Steppenwolf - Best Of Steppenwolf (CD) Medium 1
1: Born To Be Wild  
2: Magic Carpet Ride (Album Version)  
3: Don't Step On The Grass, Sam  
4: Sookie Sookie  
5: Rock Me  
6: The Pusher  
7: Your Wall's Too High  
8: Jupiter's Child  
9: Desperation  
10: Everybody's Next One  
11: Snowblind Friend  
12: Move Over  
13: For Ladies Only  
14: Ride With Me  
15: Hey Lawdy Mama  
16: Monster  
17: Screaming Night Hog  
18: It's Never Too Late  


Artikeleigenschaften von Steppenwolf: Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)

  • Interpret: Steppenwolf

  • Albumtitel: Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Beat

  • Title Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)
  • Release date 1999
  • Label MCA

  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 0008811938628

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Steppenwolf"


Next Stop Vietnam

Draft Resister


Steppenwolf's fifth album, 'Monster,' was harshly critical of the first year of the Nixon administration. When it was released in 1969, the band, whose name was inspired by a Herman Hesse novel, was already a major musical force with two gold albums and three Top 10 singles to its credit 

The founder/leader of Steppenwolf was John Kay, who also handled the group's vocals. He was joined by Michael Monarch (guitar), Rushton Moreve (bass), Jerry Edmonton (drums) and Goldy McJohn (keyboards). Their first eponymous album included Born To Be Wild, a song that is enshrined in both the Rock and Roll and Grammy Halls of Fame, as well as Hoyt Axton's [see Disc 11] The Pusher. Both numbers were prominently featured on the 'Easy Rider' soundtrack.

'Monster's' title track depicts America as "a monster on the loose" whose leaders "don't pay it no mind." It refers to the fighting in Vietnam as "a war over there…no matter who's the winner we can't pay the cost." Draft Resister commends the men "who refuse to follow traitors to humanity," and harks back to Dylan's Masters Of War in the couplet, "Heed the threat and awesome power of the mighty Pentagon/Which is wasting precious millions on the toys of Washington."

Various incarnation of Steppenwolf continued playing and recording heavy metal music through the mid-'70s. Kay, with a new backing band, charted an album in 1987. The group now awaits a call from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Steppenwolf - Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)
Customer evaluation "Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Steppenwolf: Best Of Steppenwolf (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.