Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles Soul Legends Series

catalog number: CD98396

weight in Kg 0,107


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $17.63 * (33.47 % Saved)
$11.73 *

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles: Soul Legends Series

(2006/UNIVERSAL) 22 tracks 1958-72 digitally remastered - digipac


Robinson, Smokey - Soul Legends Series CD 1
1: Got A Job
2: Shop Around
3: Money (That's What I Want)
4: Mighty Good Lovin'
5: Way Over There
6: You Really Got A Hold On Me
7: The Wah-Watusi
8: (You Can't Let The Boy Overpower) The Man...
9: Show Me You Can Dance
10: The Tracks Of My Tears
11: A Fork In The Road
12: The Love I Saw In You Was Just A Mirage
13: Tears Of A Clown
14: Come Spy With Me
15: I Heard It Through The Grapevine
16: Point It Out
17: California Soul
18: My World Is Empty Without You
19: I Don't Blame You At All
20: There's A Sad Story Out Here
21: We've Come Too Far To Endit Now
22: Betcha By Golly Wow


Artikeleigenschaften von Smokey Robinson & The Miracles: Soul Legends Series

  • Interpret: Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

  • Albumtitel: Soul Legends Series

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title Soul Legends Series
  • Release date 2006

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0602498396322

  • weight in Kg 0.107

Artist description "Robinson, Smokey"

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

I Second That Emotion

Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

I Second That Emotion



Smokey Robinson had found himself a new songwriting partner. One of his first collaborations with Motown newcomer Al Cleveland (a former member of The Halos, a New York doo-wop group whose Nag was a '61 hit) was yet another smash for Smokey's Miracles, whose non-stop hit streak in 1966-67 had included Going To A Go-Go, (Come 'Round Here) I'm The One You Need, The Love I Saw In You Was Just A Mirage, and the impossibly tender More Love.

Smokey and Al accidentally stumbled across the clever title of one of the Miracles' top all-time sellers as Robinson tracked down just the right gift for his wife Claudette, who still contributed her sweet harmonies to the group (rounded out by Bobby Rogers, Ronnie White, and Pete Moore) when they entered the studio.

"We were Christmas shopping one day in a department store," says Smokey. "You know, there's an old saying, 'I second the motion.' So we were talking to this girl behind the counter about something, and Al says, 'Yeah, I second that emotion!' And we started laughing, because he had made that grammatical error." Thanks to co-producer Cleveland's slip of the lip, that clerk behind the jewelry counter at Hudson's unwittingly witnessed the inspiration for an enduring soul classic.

I Second That Emotion was brisk and danceable, with Funk Brother Eddie Willis and The Miracles' Marv Tarplin's liquid guitar runs winding around another sinuous James Jamerson bass line, more sly wordplay from Smokey, and the Miracles' delicious harmonies. It was their third R&B chart-topper (Shop Around and You've Really Got A Hold On Me preceded it) and sailed to #4 pop, the group's highest placement there since their very first hit for the fledgling Motown empire, Shop Around, back in 1961.

- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - Soul Legends Series
Customer evaluation "Soul Legends Series"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Smokey Robinson & The Miracles: Soul Legends Series"

The fields marked with * are required.