Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Muddy Waters King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDPROP102

weight in Kg 0,300


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$29.50 *

Muddy Waters: King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)

Contains 44page booklet w/ discography.


Muddy Waters - King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box) CD 1
1: Country Blues
2: I Be's Troubled
3: Ramblin' Kid Blues
4: Rosalie
5: Joe Turner Blues
6: Pearly Mae Blues
7: Take A Walk With Me
8: Burr Clover Blues
9: I Be Bound To Write To You
10: You Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
11: You Got To Take Sick And Die Some Of These Da
12: Why Do You Live So God Can Use You
13: Country Blues (No.2)
14: Mean Red Spider
15: I'm Gonna Cut Your Head
16: Atomic Bomb Blues
17: Tomorrow Will Be Too Late
18: Jitterburg Blues
19: Hard Day Blues
20: Buryin' Ground Blues
21: Come To Me Baby
22: You Can't Make The Grade
23: Gypsy Woman
24: Little Anna Mae
25: Good Lookin' Woman
26: Mean Disposition
27: I Can't Be Satisfied
28: I Feel Like Going Home
29: Train Fare Home Blues
30: Down South Blues
31: Kind Hearted Woman
32: Sittin' Here And Drinkin'
33: You're Gonna Miss Me
34: Mean Red Spider
35: Stand Here Tremblin'
36: Streamline Woman
37: Hard Days
38: Muddy Jumps One
39: Little Geneva
40: Canary Bird
41: Burying Ground
42: Screamin' And Cryin'
43: Where's My Woman Been
44: Last Time I Fool Around With You
45: Rollin' And Tumblin' Pt.1
46: Rollin' And Tumblin' Pt.2
47: Rollin' Stone
48: Walking Blues
49: You're Gonna Need My Help I Said
50: Sad Letters Blues
51: Early Morning Blues
52: Appealing Blues (Hello Little Girl)
53: Louisiana Blues
54: Evans Shuffle
55: Long Distance Call
56: Too Young To Know
57: Honey Bee
58: Howling Wolf
59: Country Boy
60: She Moves Me
61: My Fault
62: Still A Fool
63: They Call Me Muddy Waters
64: All Night Long
65: Stuff You Gotta Watch
66: Lonesome Day
67: Please Have Mercy
68: Who's Gonna Be Your Sweet Man
69: Standing Around Crying
70: Gone To Main Street
71: Jodine In My Coffee
72: Flood
73: My Life Is Ruined
74: She's All Right
75: Sad, Sad Day
76: Turn The Lamp Down Low (Baby Please Don't Go)
77: Loving Man
78: Blow Wind Blow
79: Mad Love (I Want You To Love Me)
80: I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
81: She's So Pretty
82: Just Make Love To Me (I Just Want To Make Lov
83: Oh' Yeh
84: I'm Ready
85: Smokestack Lightning
86: I Don't Know Why
87: I'm A Natural Born Lover
88: Ooh Wee
89: This Pain
90: Young Fashioned Ways
91: I Want To Be Loved
92: My Eyes (Keep Me In Trouble)
93: Mannish Boy
94: I Got To Find My Baby
95: Sugar Sweet
96: Trouble No More
97: Clouds In My Heart


Artikeleigenschaften von Muddy Waters: King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)

  • Interpret: Muddy Waters

  • Albumtitel: King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)
  • Label PROPER

  • SubGenre Blues - Electric

  • EAN: 0805520021029

  • weight in Kg 0.300

Artist description "Muddy Waters"

Muddy Waters

Although Chess claimed that Muddy Waters was responsible for penning the rousing Got My Mojo Working on this single, it emanated from outside the confines of Arc Music, Chess’ publishing arm. 

"We went on tour with a lady named Ann Cole. She's the one that originally did 'Mojo,’" says his then-road harpist, James Cotton. "Muddy said, 'That's my kind of stuff there, talkin' about the mojo and all that kind of thing. I need to learn that song so I can do it.' He said, 'Learn the words to it for me.' So I learned the words, and I learned to play it. I taught him the words when I knew everything. They recorded it, him and Walter. It did pretty good. 

When Muddy got back to Chicago, he made the song his own on either December 1, 1956 or January 16, 1957. As Cotton noted, Little Walter was still his main harp man in the studio; other participants were his essential 88s ace Otis Spann, guitarist Jimmy Rogers, bassist Willie Dixon, and new drummer Francis Clay. But this rendition wouldn’t be the one everyone so widely copied; that version was done live at the 1960 Newport Jazz Festival with James on harp (Chess issued Waters’ set on LP). "I put the arrangement on there," says Cotton. "Now it's a classic."

In between the two Mojos, Waters made his maiden voyage to England in 1958, bringing along his electric guitar. British fans accustomed to Big Bill Broonzy’s acoustic blues weren’t quite ready for the aural assault. "I went over there, and they went stone nuts. ‘Where’s he comin’ from with all this noise?’" said Muddy, who tried to comply on his next visit. "I go back a couple of years later and didn’t bring it, and then they’re cryin’, ‘Where’s your electric guitar?’"

Always loyal to Chess, the ‘60s weren’t overly kind to Muddy from a recording standpoint. The nadir was his pseudo-psychedelic 1968 travesty ‘Electric Mud.’ Muddy freely ripped the album later on. "I really went with the company with that part," he said. "I hope they never play it." During the mid-‘70s, Waters underwent a studio renaissance on a new label, Blue Sky. Producer Johnny Winter strove to restore Muddy’s original sound on his acclaimed 1977 LP ‘Hard Again.’ "He was one of the young white kids who was really deep into it," said Muddy.

The King of Chicago Blues died of cancer April 30, 1983 at age 70. It’s a sure bet no one will ever take his place. "Maybe somebody else would have come up and went another way," Waters mused. "I came up at the right time and the right season, and I should say, I just taken it over. I just taken Chicago completely over!"

Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über Muddy Waters - King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)
Customer evaluation "King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Muddy Waters: King Of Chicago Blues (4-CD-Box)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Berry, Chuck: Rock And...

Content: 1.0000

$240.67 * Instead of: $300.84 *

Muddy Waters: Natural Born...

Content: 1.0000

$11.51 *

Creedence...: The Singles...

Content: 1.0000

$35.34 *

Howlin' Wolf: Memphis Days...

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 * Instead of: $18.82 *