Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Muddy Waters Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDNOT3190

weight in Kg 0,125


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$13.87 *

Muddy Waters: Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)

(2015/Not Now) 80 tracks.

(2015/Not Now) 80 tracks.



Muddy Waters - Chess Singles Collection (3-CD) CD 1
1: Rollin' stone
2: Walkin' blues
3: You gonna need my help
4: Sad letter blues
5: Louisiana blues
6: Evans shuffle
7: Long distance call
8: Too young to know
9: Honey bee
10: Appealing blues (hello little girl)
11: Still a fool
12: My fault
13: She moves me
14: Early morning blues
15: All night long
16: Country boy
17: Please have mercy
18: I can't be satisfied
19: Standing around crying
20: Gone to main street
21: She's all right
22: Sad, sad day
23: Turn the lamp down low
24: Who's gonna be your sweet man when i'm gone
25: Mad love (i want you to love me)
26: Blow wind, blow
Muddy Waters - Chess Singles Collection (3-CD) CD 2
1: I'm your hoochie coochie man
2: She's so pretty
3: Just make love to me
4: Oh,yeh
5: I'm ready
6: I don't know why
7: I'm a natural born lover
8: Loving man
9: I want to be loved
10: My eyes (keep me in trouble)
11: Mannish boy
12: Young fashioned ways
13: Sugar sweet
14: Trouble no more
15: Forty days and forty nights
16: All aboard
17: Don't go no farther
18: Diamonds at your feet
19: Just to be with you
20: I got to find my baby
21: Got my mojo working
22: Rock me
23: Good news
24: Come home baby, i wish you would
25: Live the life i love (love the life)
26: Evil
Muddy Waters - Chess Singles Collection (3-CD) CD 3
1: I won't go on
2: She's got it
3: Close to you
4: She's nineteen years old
5: Walking thru the park
6: Mean mistreater
7: Clouds in my heart
8: Ooh wee
9: Take the bitter with the sweet
10: She's into something
11: Recipe for love
12: Tell me baby
13: I feel so good
14: When i get to thinking
15: Read way back
16: I'm your doctor
17: Look what you've done
18: Love affair
19: Tiger in your tank
20: Meanest woman
21: Got my mojo working, pt 1 (live)
22: Woman wanted
23: Messin' with the man
24: Lonesome bedroom blues
25: Going home
26: Tough times
27: You shook me
28: Muddy waters twist


Artikeleigenschaften von Muddy Waters: Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)

  • Interpret: Muddy Waters

  • Albumtitel: Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)
  • Release date 2015
  • Label NOT NOW

  • SubGenre Blues - General

  • EAN: 5060342021908

  • weight in Kg 0.125

Artist description "Muddy Waters"

Muddy Waters

Although Chess claimed that Muddy Waters was responsible for penning the rousing Got My Mojo Working on this single, it emanated from outside the confines of Arc Music, Chess’ publishing arm. 

"We went on tour with a lady named Ann Cole. She's the one that originally did 'Mojo,’" says his then-road harpist, James Cotton. "Muddy said, 'That's my kind of stuff there, talkin' about the mojo and all that kind of thing. I need to learn that song so I can do it.' He said, 'Learn the words to it for me.' So I learned the words, and I learned to play it. I taught him the words when I knew everything. They recorded it, him and Walter. It did pretty good. 

When Muddy got back to Chicago, he made the song his own on either December 1, 1956 or January 16, 1957. As Cotton noted, Little Walter was still his main harp man in the studio; other participants were his essential 88s ace Otis Spann, guitarist Jimmy Rogers, bassist Willie Dixon, and new drummer Francis Clay. But this rendition wouldn’t be the one everyone so widely copied; that version was done live at the 1960 Newport Jazz Festival with James on harp (Chess issued Waters’ set on LP). "I put the arrangement on there," says Cotton. "Now it's a classic."

In between the two Mojos, Waters made his maiden voyage to England in 1958, bringing along his electric guitar. British fans accustomed to Big Bill Broonzy’s acoustic blues weren’t quite ready for the aural assault. "I went over there, and they went stone nuts. ‘Where’s he comin’ from with all this noise?’" said Muddy, who tried to comply on his next visit. "I go back a couple of years later and didn’t bring it, and then they’re cryin’, ‘Where’s your electric guitar?’"

Always loyal to Chess, the ‘60s weren’t overly kind to Muddy from a recording standpoint. The nadir was his pseudo-psychedelic 1968 travesty ‘Electric Mud.’ Muddy freely ripped the album later on. "I really went with the company with that part," he said. "I hope they never play it." During the mid-‘70s, Waters underwent a studio renaissance on a new label, Blue Sky. Producer Johnny Winter strove to restore Muddy’s original sound on his acclaimed 1977 LP ‘Hard Again.’ "He was one of the young white kids who was really deep into it," said Muddy.

The King of Chicago Blues died of cancer April 30, 1983 at age 70. It’s a sure bet no one will ever take his place. "Maybe somebody else would have come up and went another way," Waters mused. "I came up at the right time and the right season, and I should say, I just taken it over. I just taken Chicago completely over!"

Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über Muddy Waters - Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)
Customer evaluation "Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Muddy Waters: Chess Singles Collection (3-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Muddy Waters: Live At...

Content: 1.0000

$25.90 *

Bell, Carey & Lurrie: Dynasty

Content: 1.0000

$19.77 *

Edwards, David...: Don't...

Content: 1.0000

$18.29 *