Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions Got Soul 1960-1973

catalog number: CDRV125

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$15.27 *

Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions: Got Soul 1960-1973

28-track multi-label compilation presenting the very soul of Curtis Mayfield, Jerry Butler and the Impressions Original Vee-Jay, ABC-Paramount, Mercury and Curtom recordings Includes 'It's Alright, Only the Strong Survive, Superfly' and 19 more USA Top 40 hits! Deluxe color booklet with detailed liner notes


Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions - Got Soul 1960-1973 Medium 1
1: He Will Break Your Heart BUTLER, Jerry  
2: Find Another Girl BUTLER, Jerry  
3: I'm A Telling You BUTLER, Jerry  
4: Gypsy Woman IMPRESSIONS  
5: Woman's Got Soul IMPRESSIONS  
6: Make It Easy On Yourself BUTLER, Jerry  
7: I'm The One Who Loves You IMPRESSIONS  
8: It's All Right IMPRESSIONS  
9: Need To Belong BUTLER, Jerry  
10: I've Been Trying IMPRESSIONS  
11: Keep On Pushing IMPRESSIONS  
12: You Must Believe Me IMPRESSIONS  
13: Talking About My Baby IMPRESSIONS  
14: Giving Up On Love BUTLER, Jerry  
15: I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore BUTLER, Jerry  
16: People Get Ready IMPRESSIONS  
17: Never Give You Up BUTLER, Jerry  
18: We're A Winner IMPRESSIONS  
19: Hey, Western Union Man BUTLER, Jerry  
20: Only The Strong Survive BUTLER, Jerry  
21: Check Out Your Mind IMPRESSIONS  
22: What's The Use Of Breaking Up? BUTLER, Jerry  
23: Move On Up MAYFIELD, Curtis  
24: (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're.. MAYFIELD, Curtis  
25: Beautiful Brother Of Mine MAYFIELD, Curtis  
26: Superfly MAYFIELD, Curtis  
27: Future Shock MAYFIELD, Curtis  


Artikeleigenschaften von Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions: Got Soul 1960-1973

  • Interpret: Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions

  • Albumtitel: Got Soul 1960-1973

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title Got Soul 1960-1973
  • Label RAVEN

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0612657012529

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Butler - Mayfield - Impressions"

The Impressions

Gypsy Woman

Without the richly burnished baritone leads of Jerry Butler, who had fronted their soulful breakthrough ballad For Your Precious Love (you'll find it on our 1958 disc), The Impressions were finding it hard to come up with a second hit. Butler had quit the Chicago group amidst jealousy from some members over Vee-Jay Records unexpectedly giving him featured billing on the single.

Chicago native Curtis Mayfield, all of 16 when he played guitar and sang high tenor behind The Ice Man on For Your Precious Love, took over lead duties for The Impressions. He'd attended Wells High School while living in Cabrini-Green, the massive housing project on Chicago's near North Side. Even before that, he doo-wopped with The Alphatones on the West Side and sang hymns with the Northern Jubilee Gospel Singers. That's where he took up guitar, tuning his axe to a very unusual F# chord that gave Mayfield his highly distinctive sound.

The Impressions brought Fred Cash up from Chattanooga, Tennessee to replace Butler. He'd been in The Roosters there along with tenor-singing brothers Arthur and Richard Brooks and baritone Sam Gooden, who now comprised the rest of The Impressions. With Mayfield's airy high tenor out front, the quintet stuck around Vee-Jay's Abner label for a short while, but A&R man Calvin Carter didn't care for Curtis as a front man, so they were dropped. The Impressions made a single for Bandera Records, owned by Vi Muszynski, who had brought them to Vee-Jay in the first place, but Listen didn't reverse their fading fortunes. Curtis took a break to tour as Butler's guitarist, the pair co-writing three major R&B sellers for Jerry at Vee-Jay in 1960-61: the R&B chart-topping He Will Break Your Heart, Find Another Girl, and I'm A Telling You.

"In the writing of them, we would mess around, he would wind up singing the hook with me. So we decided to record 'em that way, and it turned out very well," says Butler. "I think a lot of that had to do with the way Curtis played guitar."

Eddie Thomas brought The Impressions to the major label ABC-Paramount, recording in New York with arranger/conductor Roy Glover, Jr., who decorated Mayfield's exotic Gypsy Woman with castanets and hushed backing. Cut in July of 1961, Gypsy Woman was a #2 R&B/#20 pop hit late that year (another Mayfield ballad, As Long As You Love Me, was its flip side). The Impressions were back.

Various Street Corner Symphonies 1961 Vol.13
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions - Got Soul 1960-1973
Customer evaluation "Got Soul 1960-1973"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Butler/ Mayfield / Impressions: Got Soul 1960-1973"

The fields marked with * are required.