Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Roy Hamilton The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)

catalog number: CDJAS558

weight in Kg 0,120


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$19.98 *

Roy Hamilton: The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)

(210/JASMINE) 52 tracks


Hamilton, Roy - The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD) CD 1
1: Disc 1
2: You'll Never Walk Alone
3: I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Cry
4: If I Loved You
5: So Let There Be Love
6: Ebb Tide
7: Beware
8: Hurt
9: Star Of Love
10: I Believe
11: If You Are But A Dream
12: Unchained Melody
13: From Here To Eternity
14: Forgive This Fool
15: You Wanted To Change Me
16: A Little Voice
17: All This Is Mine
18: Without A Song
19: Cuban Love Song
20: Everybody's Got A Home
21: Take Me With You
22: There Goes My Heart
23: Walk Along With Kings
24: Somebody Somewhere
25: Since I Fell For You
26: I Took My Grief To Him
27: Chained
28: Disc 2
29: A Simple Prayer
30: A Mother's Love
31: My Faith My Hope My Love
32: So Long
33: The Aisle
34: That Old Feeling
35: (All Of A Sudden) My Heart Sings
36: I'm Gonna Lock You In My Heart
37: The Right To Love
38: Don't Let Go
39: Crazy Feelin'
40: In A Dream
41: Lips
42: Jungle Fever
43: Wait For Me
44: Everything
45: Pledging My Love
46: My One And Only Love
47: It's Never Too Late
48: Somewhere Along The Way
49: I Need Your Lovin'
50: Blue Prelude
51: Time MArches On
52: Take It Easy Joe
53: A Great Romance
54: I'm On My Way Back Home


Artikeleigenschaften von Roy Hamilton: The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Roy Hamilton

  • Albumtitel: The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Title The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)
  • Label JASMINE

  • Price code JAS
  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0604988055825

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Hamilton, Roy"

Roy Hamilton

Don't Let Go

Big voiced Roy Hamilton had an inestimable impact on rock music and R&B, although his proclivity for Broadway material usually earns his exclusion from most rock and R&B lists. That said, his soulful interpretations of pop material like You’ll Never Walk Alone, Unchained Melody, and Ebb Tide influenced Elvis, the Righteous Brothers, Timi Yuro, and many other lesser luminaries. His originals, like You Can Have Her and this romping classic, became both R&B and pop classics. Hamilton was from Leesburg, Georgia (born April 16, 1929), and lived in New Jersey from age 14. He sang with the Searchlight Gospel Singers, and won a talent contest at the 21 Club in Bayonne, NJ (reputedly the show at which Nappy Brown was also discovered).

Local dee-jay Bill Cook placed him on a live radio show from the Caravan Club, and Hamilton tore up the house with his rendition of You’ll Never Walk Alone. Cook assumed Hamilton’s management and landed a contract with the Epic division of Columbia Records (launched in 1953, Epic was meant to be a little more adventurous than the parent label). All was going well until one night in April 1956 at the Flame Bar in Detroit when Hamilton couldn’t take the stage. Bill Cook found him collapsed in his dressing room. Diagnosed with tubercular pneumonia, Hamilton was forced into hospital, while Cook announced to the media in early June that his star had retired due to ill health. Cook said that Hamilton would resume his career as a painter after his recovery.

One year later, though, Hamilton was back in the recording studio. In July 1957, Hamilton made his first personal appearance in over a year at an all-star show in Atlanta with LaVern Baker, Little Willie John, Nappy Brown, and the Cardinals. By October, Hamilton was back in the saddle, touring almost constantly, but needed a hit to legitimize his comeback. At the end of 1957, just as he was breaking box office records at the Howard Theater in Washington, D.C., Epic released his recording of Jesse Stone’s Don't Let Go featuring an orchestra under Stone’s direction (trivia buffs reckon that it’s the first rock 'n’ roll record to be recorded in stereo).

It was published by Roosevelt Music, a cooperative of mostly black songwriters, headlined by Stone and Charlie Singleton, that tried to take on the major publishers. Another Roosevelt writer, Otis Blackwell, reckons that he had a hand in the success of Don’t Let Go. Jesse had arranged [it] a little low,” he told Ralph Newman. “When I came to the session, Jesse was kind of despondent 'cause Roy couldn't seem to get it the way he wanted it. So I said, ‘Lets pick it up,’ and told Roy to holler 'uh uh’ every time I tapped him on the shoulder. That was the thing at the time, everyone moaning and groaning.” It reached #13 on the pop charts, and Hamilton was most assuredly back. 

Various - Blowing The Fuse 1958 - Classics That Rocked The Jukebox
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records


Presseartikel über Roy Hamilton - The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Roy Hamilton: The Definitve '50s Singles Collection (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Hamilton, Roy: Warm Soul (CD)

Content: 1.0000

$11.73 * Instead of: $17.63 *

Hamilton, Roy: Tore Up -...

Content: 1.0000

$35.31 *

Hamilton, Roy: Don't Let Go...

Content: 1.0000

$47.10 *

Various: Houston...

Content: 1.0000

$15.05 * Instead of: $18.81 *

Hamilton, Roy: Anthology...

Content: 1.0000

$28.24 *

Hamilton, Roy: Rare Tracks...

Content: 1.0000

$11.73 * Instead of: $17.63 *

Hamilton, Roy: Roy...

Content: 1.0000

$11.73 * Instead of: $17.63 *

Various - Bear...: All We Wanna...

Content: 1.0000

$5.84 *