Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Aretha Franklin Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)

Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)

catalog number: CDR271063

weight in Kg 0,600


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$176.79 *

Aretha Franklin: Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)

(Rhino) 86 tracks - US Deluxe Digipack Longbox - The first definitive history of The Queen Of Soul's golden decade, 1967-1977. Features Aretha's greatest Atlantic singles and classic album tracks. Lavish booklet includes 'Aretha On Aretha' (A selection of interview excerpts compiled By David Nathan) and linernotes, essays by Thulani Davis, Tom Dowd, Ahmet Ertegun, Arif Mardin, Dave Marsh, And Jerry Wexler, plus extensive discography, credits & chart info, and scores of rare photos.


Aretha Franklin - Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box) Medium 1
1: I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)  
2: Do Right Woman-Do Right Man  
3: Save Me  
4: Respect  
5: Baby, Baby, Baby  
6: Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business)  
7: A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)  
8: Soul Serenade  
9: Drown In My Own Tears  
10: Chain Of Fools  
11: Baby, I Love You  
12: Ain't Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)  
13: Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)  
14: You Are My Sunshine  
15: Going Down Slow  
16: Never Let Me Go  
17: I Wonder  
18: Prove It  
19: Goot Times  
20: Come Back Baby  
21: A Change  
22: You're A Sweet Sweet Man  
23: Good To Me As I Am To You  
24: People Get Ready  
25: Ain't No Way  
26: Think  
27: See Saw  
28: The House That Jack Built  
29: Night Time Is The Right Time  
30: I Say A Little Prayer  
31: You Send Me  
32: My Song  
33: I Take What I Want  
34: I Can't See Myself Leaving You  
35: Night Life (live version)  
36: Today I Sing The Blues  
37: Pitiful  
38: Tracks Of My Tears  
39: River's Invitation  
40: Share Your Love With Me  
41: It Ain't Fair  
42: Sit Down And Cry  
43: Honest I Do  
44: The Weight  
45: When The Battle Is Over  
46: Eleanor Rigby  
47: One Way Ticket  
48: Call Me  
49: Pullin'  
50: Son Of A Preacher Man  
51: Try Matty's  
52: The Thrill Is Gone (From Yesterday's Kiss)  
53: Dark End Of The Street  
54: You And Me  
55: Let It Be  
56: Spirit In The Dark  
57: Why I Sing The Blues  
58: Don't Play That Song  
59: Young, Gifted And Black  
60: Border Song (Holy Moses)  
61: A Brand New Me  
62: You're All I Need To Get By  
63: Spanish Harlem  
64: Rock Steady  
65: Oh Me Oh My (I'm A Fool For You Baby)  
66: Day Dreaming  
67: All The King's Horses  
68: Bridge Over Troubled Water  
69: Angel  
70: Spirit In The Dark (reprise with RAY CHARLES)  
71: How I Got Over  
72: So Swell When You're Well  
73: Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)  
74: Somewhere  
75: I'm In Love  
76: Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing  
77: Until You Come Back To Me (That's What I'm Go  
78: Every Natural Thing  
79: Without Love  
80: With Everything I Feel In Me  
81: Mr. D.J. (5 For The D.J.)  
82: Look Into Your Heart  
83: Sparkle  
84: Rock With Me  
85: Break It To Me Gently  
86: Something He Can Feel  


Artikeleigenschaften von Aretha Franklin: Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)

  • Interpret: Aretha Franklin

  • Albumtitel: Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Edition 2 Deluxe Edition
  • Title Queen Of Soul 4-CD
  • Release date 1992
  • Label RHINO

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0081227106324

  • weight in Kg 0.600

Artist description "Franklin, Aretha"

Aretha Franklin


Aretha Franklin



Contrary to popular opinion, Aretha Franklin had made great records prior to Jerry Wexler signing her to Atlantic. They just hadn't been in tune with the trends of the day. Under Wexler's supervision, Aretha would take her throne as the Queen of Soul.


Born in Memphis on March 25, 1942, Aretha was the daughter of the celebrated Rev. C.L. Franklin, who settled in at Detroit's New Bethel Baptist Church and rose to glory as one of the country's highest profile African-American clergymen, with dozens of albums of his sermons issued on Chess. At 14, Aretha was recording for Chess too, live from her father's church. But C.L. was a worldly man of the cloth, realizing that Aretha's stirring pipes and rock-ribbed piano were destined for mainstream stardom. He gave her his blessing when John Hammond signed her to Columbia in 1960.  

Hammond and fellow Columbia producers Bobby Scott, Robert Mersey, Clyde Otis, and Bob Johnston placed the young singer in every context imaginable, from jazz chanteuse to pop songbird, showbiz crooner to soul belter, with only intermittent success. Untapped potential abounded when Aretha joined Atlantic in 1966. Wexler brought her down to Muscle Shoals, where Franklin managed to cut I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Loved You), her first R&B chart-topper, and part of its flip Do Right Woman – Do Right Man before a tussle broke out between a trumpeter and Aretha's hubby, Ted White. Then Fame Studios owner Rick Hall and White got into it. The subsequent fallout meant that Franklin wouldn't go down south to record again.

Wexler brought the Muscle Shoals session aces to New York to continue the project. Could their sound travel? "We were a little bit worried about that. After all, we're young southern guys, and then all of a sudden we're going to New York City to play on these records," says drummer Roger Hawkins. "But really, after the first couple of hours, it was just the same thing, only you're doing it in a different building."

Work began on Aretha's first Atlantic album, and when she and her little sister Carolyn, one of her background singers, started fooling around with Otis Redding's Respect—a #4 R&B hit for him in 1965—everything came together. Wexler inserted the bridge from Sam & Dave's When Something Is Wrong With My Baby for saxman King Curtis to solo over, and Aretha and Carolyn came up with the "sock it to me" line and the spelling out of "R-E-S-P-E-C-T."  Aretha stole the tune right out from under Otis' nose (she even slips in a mention of one of her best Columbia sides, Runnin' Out Of Fools, on the fade), making it a number one pop and R&B smash. And in the Queen's hands, Respect became an anthem for the civil rights movement, a non-negotiable demand for African-American empowerment that was tragically overdue.


- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Aretha Franklin - Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)
Customer evaluation "Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Aretha Franklin: Queen Of Soul - The Atlantic Recordings (4-CD Deluxe Box)"

The fields marked with * are required.