Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

FOUR DOTS Goin' Back To Memphis

catalog number: CDSR013

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$17.63 *

FOUR DOTS: Goin' Back To Memphis

(2008/SLEAZY) 13 tracks; rough Rockabilly and twangin' Rock'n'Roll from this young gang with a superb blend of (mostly) self-penned stompers, boppers and wild instrumentals. Hector Guerrero (voc/gt), Ruth Campo (drums), Javier Carrasco (bass), Manuel Moreno (gtr) / Klasse Debut mit abwechslungsreichen, (meist) eigenen Rock & Roll Krachern. Highlight !sk


FOUR DOTS - Goin' Back To Memphis Medium 1
1: Messin' Around (Instr.)  
2: Little Red Book  
3: Four Dots Boogie (Instr.)  
4: Goin' Back To Memphis  
5: Strollin' In Chinatown (Instr.)  
6: Long Long Ponytail  
7: Twisted Guitar (Instr.)  
8: Pickin' And Slidin' (Instr.)  
9: I'm A King Bee  
10: (I Try To Make That) Guitar Twang  
11: Hey Hey Little Girl  
12: Gotta Get Some Money  
13: Ubangi Stomp  


Artikeleigenschaften von FOUR DOTS: Goin' Back To Memphis

  • Interpret: FOUR DOTS

  • Albumtitel: Goin' Back To Memphis

  • Format CD
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Title Goin' Back To Memphis
  • Release date 2008
  • Label SLEAZY

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 4000127701657

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Four Dots"

The Four Dots

The Four Dots

My Dear 

Speaking of The Four Dots, they too were part of the Washington, D.C. vocal group axis that was thriving at the dawn of the decade. They formed around 1950, reportedly with George Harris their lead singer and Rudolph Harris their tenor. Since baritone Lawrence 'Lucky' Green and bass George Davis, Jr. are known to have departed The Four Dots to join The Heartbreakers later in 1951, let's assume they were still on hand when The Four Dots waxed their only single for Dot Records (how fitting), Randy Wood's Gallatin, Tennessee-based label.

The sweet ballad My Dear, penned by the entire group, and its opposite side, a blues-tinged revival of piano-playing bandleader Buddy Johnson's 1940 recording You Won't Let Me Go, found The Four Dots backed by The Griffin Brothers, one of Dot's mainstay R&B bands (they scored no less than five major hits in 1951, Tommy Brown and Margie Day sharing the vocal load). Trombonist Jimmy Griffin and pianist Edward 'Buddy' Griffin led their horn-leavened combo out of Norfolk, Virginia, located only a couple hundred miles from D.C. There's a piano-driven rhythm section behind the Dots on You Won't Let Me Go, but My Dear displays no audible input from the Griffins, only subtle acoustic guitar backing.

D.C. vocal group manager Lillian Claiborne had sent The Griffin Brothers Dot's way as well as sending several masters by The Cap-Tans to the label, so it's likely that she steered The Four Dots in Wood's direction as well. At least The Cap-Tans didn't have to share their name with their label the way The Four Dots did.

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.03

1951 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über FOUR DOTS - Goin' Back To Memphis
Customer evaluation "Goin' Back To Memphis"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "FOUR DOTS: Goin' Back To Memphis"

The fields marked with * are required.