Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

FOUR ACES Goin' Strong With ... (2012)

Goin' Strong With ... (2012)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDRPR21

weight in Kg 0,100


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$18.81 *

FOUR ACES: Goin' Strong With ... (2012)

(2012/ROCK PARADISE) 13 tracks, French authentic Rockabilly band! Seven tracks are their own compositions - the sound of this combo is tough & straight and really makes fun to listen to it!! A+ album!


FOUR ACES - Goin' Strong With ... (2012) Medium 1
1: When You're Gone  
2: Anabelle Lee  
3: Whistle Bait  
4: You'll Never Stop  
5: Tell Me Baby  
6: Baby Take Me Back  
7: Bop The Blues  
8: Cast Iron Arm  
9: I'm Crazy About You  
10: Gone Gone  
11: Goin' Strong  
12: My Baby's Gone  
13: When You're Gone (live)  


Artikeleigenschaften von FOUR ACES: Goin' Strong With ... (2012)

  • Interpret: FOUR ACES

  • Albumtitel: Goin' Strong With ... (2012)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Title Goin' Strong With ... (2012)
  • Release date 2012

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 3700409810190

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Four Aces"

The Four Aces

The Four Aces

Who Is There To Blame

Not to be confused with Al Alberts' pop quartet of the same name from Chester, Pennsylvania who became infinitely more popular (at least from a mainstream perspective), these Four Aces made their musical mark first.

The Original 4 Aces, as they became known after Alberts' crew made such a huge impression from 1951 on, got their start in Fort Worth while still in high school. First tenor James Franks, second tenor Algia Pickett, baritone George Smith, and bass Otha Jackson eventually relocated to San Francisco, and while the war stalled their momentum (three Aces were inducted into the Navy), they reformed after war's end and proceeded to tear up the Bay Area club scene, leading to a deal with Rene La Marre's Trilon label in 1946. Along the way, they became a self-contained unit with Franks picking up the guitar, Smith on piano and Jackson on upright bass.

The Aces waxed their biggest seller, the two-part I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder (they only sang on Part 2) at their first Trilon session (see our previous volume). The Aces' half dozen Trilon encores didn't make the same local impression, so they moved on to Bill McCall, Jr.'s 4 Star logo. Or at least some of their masters did. Bob Geddins, one of the Bay Area's top R&B indie producers, reportedly sold 4 Star several Four Aces tracks in 1949, and the company pressed up Lazy Navajo b/w Aces Swing, then Too Late b/w Jumpin' Out, before the year was over.

Penned by George Smith and issued in January of '50, the luxurious ballad Who Is There To Blame was half of the Aces' last 4 Star offering. Otha Jackson sang it with suave assurance over Smith's chunky piano chording (he embarks on an aggressive solo halfway through). Yoked to a Pickett-led Because I'm In Love With You, it was the quartet's 4 Star swan song. By the time Geddins released their rendition of Eddie Miller's country classic Release Me in 1954 on his Big Town logo, necessity forced Geddins to issue it as by The Original 4 Aces to differentiate it from the East Coast's Four Aces (ditto their last release the next year, I Can See An Angel). Franks left the act in 1957, and by year's end their last hand was played.

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.03

1951 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über FOUR ACES - Goin' Strong With ... (2012)
Customer evaluation "Goin' Strong With ... (2012)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "FOUR ACES: Goin' Strong With ... (2012)"

The fields marked with * are required.