Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

B.J. Thomas The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)

The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDRGM0043

weight in Kg 0,120


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$25.90 *

B.J. Thomas: The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)

(2012/REAL GONE) 44 tracks with .. page booklet. 44 Tracks - The Most Comprehensive B.J. Thomas Collection Ever Assembled! Includes All 19 Of His Scepter Hits, Including "Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head" And "Hooked On A Feeling" Features 11 Rare, Non-LP Single Sides


B.J. Thomas - The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD) Medium 1
1: I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry (#8 Hit, 1966)
2: Candy Baby
3: Mama (#22 Hit, 1966)
4: Wendy
5: Bring Back The Time (#75 Hit, 1966)
6: I Don't Have A Mind Of My Own
7: Tomorrow Never Comes (#80 Hit, 1966)
8: Your Tears Leave Me Cold
9: Plain Jane
10: My Hometown
11: I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With ..
12: Baby Cried
13: Treasure Of Love
14: Just The Wisdom Of A Fool
15: Human
16: The Girl Can't Help It
17: Walkin' Back
18: The Eyes Of A New York Woman (#28 Hit, 1968)
19: I May Never Get To Heaven
20: Hooked On A Feeling (#5 Hit, 1968)
21: I've Been Down This Road Before
22: It's Only Love (#45 Hit, 1969)
23: You Don't Love Me Anymore
B.J. Thomas - The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD) Medium 2
1: Fairy Tale Of Time
2: Pass The Apple Eve (#97 Hit, 1969)
3: Skip A Rope
4: Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head (#1 Hit, ..
5: Never Had It So Good
6: Everybody's Out Of Town (#26 Hit, 1970)
7: Living Again
8: I Just Can't Help Believing (#9 Hit, 1970)
9: Send My Picture To Scranton, Pa
10: Most Of All (#38 Hit, 1970)  
11: The Mask  
12: No Love At All (#16 Hit, 1971)  
13: Have A Heart  
14: Mighty Clouds Of Joy (#34 Hit, 1971)  
15: Life  
16: Long Ago Tomorrow (#61 Hit, 1971)  
17: Burnin' A Hole In My Mind  
18: Rock And Roll Lullaby (#15Hit, 1972)  
19: Are We Losing Touch  
20: That's What Friends Are For (#74 Hit, 1972)  
21: Happier Than The Morning Sun (#100 Hit, 1972)  
22: I Get Enthused  
23: We Have Got To Get Our Ship Together  


Artikeleigenschaften von B.J. Thomas: The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)

  • Interpret: B.J. Thomas

  • Albumtitel: The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Country

  • Title The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)
  • Release date 2012
  • Label REAL GONE

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0848064000433

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Thomas, B. J."

B. J. Thomas

B. J. Thomas is one of the many solo performers to break out of the South of the United States in the mid 60s -like Glen Campbell and Tony Joe White he touched on the country sound, and like Johnny Rivers he used other peoples songs as his hit vehicles. You've heard this voice many times over the airwaves and this collection of songs is realisation of the string of hits and standards that this strong clear singer can call his own. Oklahoma born Billy Joe Thomas had a singing pedigree in the local church choir (like many of his peers) and by the time he was in high school in Texas, he had joined his first band, The Triumphs. Classmate Mark Charron became pivotal in B.J. Thomas' development as a singing star.

The pair collaborated on a number of songs when Charron joined The Triumphs as a guitarist, but it would be two of Charron's compositions, 'Billy And Sue' and `Mama', which would prove to be the launching pad for Thomas' career. 'Mama' became a worldwide hit and is still often used as an advertising jingle today, but once again like many of his peers, it took several re-issues on several small labels before the Scepter Records release in 1966 got the show on the road. The Scepter deal came about via friend and fellow musician Steve Tyrell, who had made the shift from artist to record executive, and B.J. Thomas' regional Texas success quickly translated to national fame. Thomas switched his source of material to a young writer and acquaintance called Mark James, who provided him with the instantly recognisable Hooked On A Feeling before going on to write 'Suspicious Minds' for Elvis Presley and 'Always On My Mind' for Willie Nelson.

At the pinnacle of his success, Thomas recorded two Burt Bacharach/Hal David compositions, 'Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head' and `Everybody's Out Of Town' - the writers continuing their association with Scepter that they started with Dionne Warwick. On paper the pairing of B.J. Thomas and legendary writer Barry Mann in the early 70s looked like another winner, but the reality of a struggling record company stepped in. The single Rock And Roll Lullaby has been acclaimed by some critics as one of the best songs of this era, and most rock scribes note this as the finest B.J. Thomas recording.

A homage to the fifteen years of rock and roll which preceeded it, all involved with this project believed they were on a winner, until the release of the single co-incided with the financial end of Scepter Records. Two more hits, `(Iley, Won't You Play) Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song' and `Whatever happened To Old Fashioned Love' followed many years and several labels apart, but the days of single after single hitting the charts were long gone. B.J. Thomas has continued to record up to present day, and it was his voice singing the theme to the TV show Growing Pains.

This collection covers all the major Australian hits of B.J. Thomas and include some of his more interesting releases such as his version of the Hank Williams song 'I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry' and one of the first recordings of the Barry Mann/Cynthia Weil standard 'I Just Can't Help Believing', showcasing the rich legacy of B.J. Thomas' voice.

-Steve Scanes

Presseartikel über B.J. Thomas - The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "B.J. Thomas: The Complete Scepter Singles (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Various: Hits im...

Content: 1.0000

$23.54 *

Cavalero, Pike: In Torro (2014)

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 *

Rocka, Dale & The...: The Midnight...

Content: 1.0000

$17.11 *

Various - The...: Vol.2, (CD)...

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 * Instead of: $20.00 *

Various - The...: Vol.1, (CD)...

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 * Instead of: $20.00 *

Higham, Darrel: How To Dance...

Content: 1.0000

$18.76 *

Masters, Rip: The Rock &...

Content: 1.0000

$18.76 *

Lavi, Daliah: Liebeslied...

Content: 1.0000

$13.57 *

Nelson, Willie: Lost Highway

Content: 1.0000

$7.02 * Instead of: $18.87 *

Thomas, B. J.: New Looks...

Content: 1.0000

$23.54 *

Thomas, B. J.: 20 Greatest...

Content: 1.0000

$11.74 * Instead of: $15.28 *

Thomas, B. J.: You Gave Me...

Content: 1.0000

$20.00 *