Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Steppenwolf Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD

catalog number: CD9862946

weight in Kg 0,200


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$22.30 *

Steppenwolf: Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD

(2005/GEFFEN) 31 tracks, 1968-74, 20-page booklet


Steppenwolf - Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD Medium 1
1: Born To Be Wild
2: Sookie Sookie
3: Everybody's Next One
4: Your Wall's Too High
5: Desperation
6: The Pusher
7: The Ostrich
8: Take What You Need
9: Magic Carpet Ride
10: Don't Step On The Grass, Sam
11: Tighten Up Your Wig
12: It's Never Too Late
13: Jupiter's Child
14: Rock Me
15: Monster/Sucide/America
Steppenwolf - Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD Medium 2
1: Mover Over
2: Power Play
3: Hey Lawdy Mama
4: Snowblind Friend
5: Who Needs Ya
6: Renegade
7: Foggy Mental Breakdown
8: Hippo Stomp
9: Screaming Night Hog
10: For Ladies Only
11: Tenderness
12: Ride With Me
13: I'm Movin' On (JOHN KAY solo)
14: My Sportin' Life (JOHN KAY solo)
15: Drift Away (JOHN KAY solo)
16: Straight Shooting Woman


Artikeleigenschaften von Steppenwolf: Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD

  • Interpret: Steppenwolf

  • Albumtitel: Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD

  • Format CD
  • Genre Beat

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Beat - 60s / 70s
  • Music Sub-Genre 259 Beat - 60s - 70s
  • Title Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD
  • Release date 2005

  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 0602498629468

  • weight in Kg 0.200

Artist description "Steppenwolf"


Next Stop Vietnam

Draft Resister


Steppenwolf's fifth album, 'Monster,' was harshly critical of the first year of the Nixon administration. When it was released in 1969, the band, whose name was inspired by a Herman Hesse novel, was already a major musical force with two gold albums and three Top 10 singles to its credit 

The founder/leader of Steppenwolf was John Kay, who also handled the group's vocals. He was joined by Michael Monarch (guitar), Rushton Moreve (bass), Jerry Edmonton (drums) and Goldy McJohn (keyboards). Their first eponymous album included Born To Be Wild, a song that is enshrined in both the Rock and Roll and Grammy Halls of Fame, as well as Hoyt Axton's [see Disc 11] The Pusher. Both numbers were prominently featured on the 'Easy Rider' soundtrack.

'Monster's' title track depicts America as "a monster on the loose" whose leaders "don't pay it no mind." It refers to the fighting in Vietnam as "a war over there…no matter who's the winner we can't pay the cost." Draft Resister commends the men "who refuse to follow traitors to humanity," and harks back to Dylan's Masters Of War in the couplet, "Heed the threat and awesome power of the mighty Pentagon/Which is wasting precious millions on the toys of Washington."

Various incarnation of Steppenwolf continued playing and recording heavy metal music through the mid-'70s. Kay, with a new backing band, charted an album in 1987. The group now awaits a call from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Steppenwolf - Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD
Customer evaluation "Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Steppenwolf: Gold - Definitive Collection 2-CD"

The fields marked with * are required.