Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Simon & Garfunkel Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)

Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)

catalog number: CDCOL87862

weight in Kg 0,360


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$29.42 *

Simon & Garfunkel: Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)

(2010/COLUMBIA) 71 tracks - 74 page Digibook 14x19cm.


Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD) CD 1
1: You Can Tell The World
2: Last Night I Has The Strongest Dream
3: Bleecker Street
4: Sparrow
5: Benedictus
6: The Sound Of Silence
7: He Was My Brother
8: Peggy-O
9: Go Tell It On The Mountain
10: The Sun Is Burning
11: The Times They Are A-Changin'
12: Wedneday Morning, 3 A.M.
13: Bonus:
14: Bleecker Street
15: He Was My Brother
16: The Sund Is Burning
Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD) CD 2
1: The Sound Of Silence
2: Leaves That Are Green
3: Blessed
4: Kathy's Song
5: Somewhere They Can't Find me
6: Anji
7: Richard Cory
8: A Most Peculiar Man
9: April Come She Will
10: We've Got A Groovy Thing Goin'
11: I Am A Rock
12: Bonus:
13: Blues Run The Game
14: Barbriallen
15: Rose Of Aberdeen
16: Roving Gumbler
Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD) CD 3
1: Scarborough Fair/Canticle
2: Patterns
3: Claudy
4: Homeward Bound
5: The Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine
6: The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
7: The Dangling Conversation
8: Flowers Never Bend With The Rainfall
9: A Simple Desultory Philippic (Or How I Was..)
10: For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
11: A Poem On The Underground Wall
12: 7 O'Clock News / Silent Night
13: Bonus:
14: Patterns
15: A Poem On The Underground Wall
Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD) CD 4
1: Bookends Theme
2: Save The Life Of My Child
3: America
4: Overs
5: Voices Of Old People
6: Old Friends
7: Bookends Theme
8: Fakin' It
9: Punky's Dilemma
10: Mrs. Robinson (Film The Graduate)
11: A Hazy Shade Of Winter
12: At The Zoo
13: Bonus:
14: You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies
15: Olf Friends
Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD) CD 5
1: Bridge Over Troubled Water
2: El Condor Pasa (If I Could)
3: Cecilia
4: Keep The Customer Satisfied
5: So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright
6: The Boxer
7: Baby Driver
8: The Only Living Boy In New York
9: Why Don't You Write Me
10: Bye Bye Love
11: Song For The Asking
12: Bonus:
13: Feuilles-O
14: Bridge Over Troubled Water


Artikeleigenschaften von Simon & Garfunkel: Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)

  • Interpret: Simon & Garfunkel

  • Albumtitel: Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Title Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)
  • Release date 2010
  • Label SONY

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0886977878626

  • weight in Kg 0.360

Artist description "Simon & Garfunkel"

Next Stop Vietnam

Simon & Garfunkel

Even though books such as Lee Andresen's 'Battle Notes…Music of the Vietnam War' list more than a half-dozen Simon & Garfunkel songs as being war-related, the folk duo cannot be characterized as protest singers. Neither Paul Simon's lyrics nor the pair's concerts were overtly political. When the Vietnam War cropped up it could be embedded in a news broadcast [as in 7 O'clock News/Silent Night], directly implied through name dropping [A Simple Desultory Philippic], or left to inference by the listener [Side Of The Hill from the 1965 LP 'The Paul Simon Songbook,' a UK release].

Both 7 O'clock News and A Simple Desultory Philippic are from 'Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme.' The album went triple platinum, spent almost three years among 'Billboard's' Top 200 LPs and produced three hit singles (though not these two songs).

The news broadcast heard behind the strains of Silent Night would have had to air on August 3, 1966. The date can be pinpointed by the reference to comedian Lenny Bruce's death. Richard Nixon's quote, that "opposition to the war in this country is the greatest single weapon working against the United States," is permitted to pass with no comment. A Simple Desultory Philippic is the song's second version, Paul having recorded the first solo while in London. It is sometimes referred to with a subtitle: (Or How I Was Robert McNamara'd Into Submission). The Secretary of Defense is one of three Vietnam principals mentioned in the song. The other two are the U.S. Ambassador to Vietnam, Maxwell Taylor and singer Barry Sadler. To find the connection in Side Of The Hill one need only substitute Vietnam for Simon's "a land called somewhere."

Paul Simon was born on October 13, 1941 in Newark, New Jersey; Art Garfunkel on November 5, 1941 in Forest Hills, New York. The two met in high school and initially recorded as Everly Brothers sound-alikes, Tom & Jerry. Starting with 1965s The Sound Of Silence they were America's best-selling duo for the next six years. They had three #1 singles, three #1 albums and sold in excess of 20 million records. In addition to being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1990, they received Grammy's "Lifetime Achievement Award" in 2003.

Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Simon & Garfunkel - Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)
Customer evaluation "Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Simon & Garfunkel: Columbia Studio Recordings 1964-70 (5-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.