Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Norman Petty Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble

Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble

catalog number: CDCHM624

weight in Kg 0,107


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$13.77 *

Norman Petty: Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble

CD on ACE RECORDS by Norman Petty - Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble


Petty, Norman - Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble CD 1
1: On The Alamo
2: Ditty Dum
3: Three Little Kisses
4: It's No Sin
5: Bring Your Heart
6: Tennessee Waltz
7: Walkin' To Missouri
8: Find Me A Golden Street
9: China Nights
10: Undecided
11: Mr. Tap-Toe
12: Candy And Cake
13: As Time Goes By
14: Caravan
15: Kiss Me Goodnight


Artikeleigenschaften von Norman Petty: Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble

  • Interpret: Norman Petty

  • Albumtitel: Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble

  • Format CD
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll
  • Title Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble
  • Label ACE

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 0029667162425

  • weight in Kg 0.107

Artist description "Petty, Norman"

Norman Petty

Norman Petty and his wife ran a cocktail lounge trio which recorded fairly successfully for Columbia and ABC in the mid-Fifties. Growing tired of being bundled in and out of recording studios under record-company pressure, they decided to build their own studio in their home town of Clovis, New Mexico. Completed in 1955, Petty discovered that he had unwittingly built the only bona fide studio in the area and before long began hiring it out to local talent for demo recording. First to record there was Roy Orbison who made his first disc, `Ooby Dooby', for the local Jewel label under Petty's supervision before leaving for Memphis and re-recording it for Sun.

Next came Buddy Knox and Jimmy Bowen (from Dumas, Texas) who recorded 'Party Doll' and 'I'm Stickin' With You' for their own Triple D label in 1956. These tracks were sold to Blue Moon, before the giant Roulette combine in New York bought the rights and released each title sep-arately. Both songs became hits — 'Party Doll' made No. 1 in America — and these early successes prompted Buddy Holly, a hitherto unsuccessful Decca artist from Lubbock, Texas, to visit Petty's studio and record some demos.

Sensing Holly's potential, Petty secured Holly's group, the Crickets, a new contract with Decca and released 'That'll Be The Day' which sold a million in 1957. Under Petty, Holly also began recording as a solo artist. More hits fol-lowed (`Oh Boy', 'Maybe Baby') and by 1958, Petty, who not only produced but often co-wrote the Crickets records, headed a thriving concern. A shrewd businessman, Petty did not lease out his studio at an hourly rate but simply charged a standard fee for each song recorded and offered to publish it.

When Holly moved to New York late in 1958, his rela-tionship with Petty grew strained and Petty was about to sue when Holly was killed in a plane crash. Petty spent the next decade processing and patching together remnants of Holly's considerable recording legacy and several of these songs became English hits in the early Sixties. Although Petty never again discovered a talent com-parable to Holly, he produced several more million-sellers including 'Wheels' by the Stringalongs in 1961, and 'Sugar Shack' by Jimmy Gilmer and the Fireballs in 1963. Petty still resides in Clovis where he runs a radio station and a larger, more lavish, studio.

Presseartikel über Norman Petty - Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble
Customer evaluation "Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Norman Petty: Vol.2, Original Norman Petty Trio & Ensemble"

The fields marked with * are required.

Petty, Norman: The King Of...

Content: 1.0000

$43.15 *