Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Mickey Newbury Harlequin Melodies - Complete

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDRV158

weight in Kg 0,100

$24.79 *

Mickey Newbury: Harlequin Melodies - Complete

One of the finest singer-songwriters of his generation, Harlequin Melodies features Mickey Newbury's complete RCA recordings 1968-72 - never before on CD - from original master tapes - 7 bonus tracks including Newbury's own 'An American Trilogy' - 22 tracks, over 75 minutes


Newbury, Mickey - Harlequin Melodies - Complete CD 1
1: Sweet Memories
2: Here Comes The Rain Baby
3: Mister Can't You See?
4: How Many Times Must The Piper Be Paid For...
5: Are My Thoughts With You?
6: Harlequin Memories
7: Funny, Familiar, Forgotten Feelings
8: Time Is A Thief
9: Good Morning Dear
10: Weeping Annaleah
11: Just Dropped In
12: Sunshine
13: Get Down On Saturday
14: The Queen
15: Organised Noise
16: Remember The Good
17: The Future's Not What It Used To Be
18: How I Love Them Old Songs
19: If I Ever Get To Houston
20: She Even Woke Me Up To Say Goodbye
21: Dizzy Lizzy
22: An American Trilogy


Artikeleigenschaften von Mickey Newbury: Harlequin Melodies - Complete

  • Interpret: Mickey Newbury

  • Albumtitel: Harlequin Melodies - Complete

  • Format CD
  • Genre Country

  • Title Harlequin Melodies - Complete
  • Label RAVEN

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0612657015827

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Newbury, Mickey"

Mickey Newbury

How I Love Them Old Songs

Mickey Newbury

How I Love Them Old Songs

(Mickey Newbury)

recorded April 1970, Cinderella Sound, 1108 Cinderella Street, Nashville; Producer: Dennis Linde

with Mickey Newbury: vocal/piano; Dennis Linde: guitar or bass; Wayne Moss: guitar; Robert C. 'Bobby' Thompson: banjo; Weldon Myrick: steel guitar; Charles R. 'Charlie' McCoy: harmonica; Norman Keith 'Buddy' Spicher: fiddle; Farrell Morris: percussion

Elektra LP EK-45789


As songwriter and mentor, Mickey Newbury has flitted through the latter part of this series; finally, we hear his achingly sweet two-pack-a-day voice. Lonnie Mack, then on Elektra Records, gave Newbury's Mercury LP to Elektra's A&R guy, Russ Miller. “The next thing I knew I was swept up in a whirlwind,” Newbury said later. “I was the first act signed from Nashville by Elektra.” He was given complete creative control. “Mickey,” said label president Jac Holzman, “was a craftsman... Facile and fastidious. There was no excess, no unsightly ornament in his work.” Newbury's first Elektra album, 'Frisco Mabel Joy,' was recorded at Wayne Moss's Cinderella studio, mixed at Jack Clement's studio, and produced by fellow Elektra artist Dennis Linde, the writer of Elvis's 1972 hit Burning Love. Like Newbury, Linde had recorded an album for Mercury before moving to Elektra.

How I Love Them Old Songs broke the LP's overpoweringly depressive mood. “I got married and I tried to write some love songs,” Newbury said. “It's not a time to write sad songs you know. So I set out to write some love songs and I couldn't do it. But I did write a happy song.” How I Love Them Old Songs was almost vaudevillian, hence the banjo scratched to sound like a ukulele. Newbury's cryptic reference to a “double eagle guitar” has puzzled listeners. The best guess is that it refers to a twenty-dollar gold coin that would buy a guitar in those days. Three country artists charted How I Love Them Old Songs: Carl Smith's version reached #20 in 1970, preceding Newbury's release. After Newbury's LP was released, Jim Ed Brown (#57, 1972) and Danny Davis (#91, 1977) returned the song to the charts. An impossibly eclectic mix of artists tackled it after that, including several more country singers, fading rocker Gene Vincent, Broadway star Carol Channing, and the British comedy duo of Mike & Bernie Winters. None of them came close to eclipsing the bittersweet joy of the original. And with it, we close a quarter-century of them old songs.

- Colin Escott -

Various Country & Western Hit Parade 1970

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Mickey Newbury - Harlequin Melodies - Complete
Customer evaluation "Harlequin Melodies - Complete"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Mickey Newbury: Harlequin Melodies - Complete"

The fields marked with * are required.