Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Jaye P. Morgan Let's Fall In Love With...

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDSEPIA1136

weight in Kg 0,100


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

$11.74 *

Jaye P. Morgan: Let's Fall In Love With...

(2009/SEPIA) 28 tracks 1954-59.


Jaye P. Morgan - Let's Fall In Love With... Medium 1
1: Should I  
2: I Never Knew  
3: Be Careful, It's My Heart  
4: When My Dream Boat Comes Home  
5: You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To  
6: Let's Fall In Love  
7: I Get The Blues When It Rains  
8: I Thought About You  
9: Just For Two  
10: For All We Know  
11: Another Martini, Another Call  
12: Did I Remember  
13: Wasted Tears  
14: Life Is Just A Bowl Of Cherries  
15: Operator 299  
16: I Ain't Got The Man  
17: Live Was Made For Living  
18: That's All I Want From You  
19: Dawn  
20: The Longest Walk  
21: You, You Romeo  
22: Star Dust (with The Morgan Brothers)  
23: Are You Lonesome Tonight  
24: Miss You  
25: My Reputation  
26: (It Took) One Kiss  
27: Somebody Loses, Somebody Wins  
28: Somebody Else Is Taking My Place  


Artikeleigenschaften von Jaye P. Morgan: Let's Fall In Love With...

  • Interpret: Jaye P. Morgan

  • Albumtitel: Let's Fall In Love With...

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Title Let's Fall In Love With...
  • Release date 2009
  • Label SEPIA

  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 5055122111368

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Morgan, Jaye P."

Jaye P. Morgan

Get A Job

Mary Margaret Morgan began her singing career at the age of three in the Morgan Family Variety Troupe. In her early teens she became a vocalist with Hank Penny's western swing band (performing on the pop standards rather than the country material). When Hank learned that bandleader Frank De Vol was looking for a good female vocalist to replace Helen O'Connell, he arranged for Mary Margaret to audition. She got the job. They needed to do something about her name because there was already a well-known big band singer named Marian Morgan who had worked with Harry James. De Vol suggested that they rename the singer 'J.P.' -- like the famous banker and financier who had founded U.S. Steel. And after they decided to spell it 'Jaye P' a career was born.

De Vol got Jaye P a contract with Derby Records where she made a few distinctly pop-oriented records (including the hit, Life Is Just a Bowl of Cherries). In 1954 she recorded this cover of the year-old R&B hit, Baby Don't Do It by the '5' Royales (written by their guitarist, Lowman Pauling). De Vol was the orchestrator and arranger, and he does an admirable job of recreating the bandwork on the original. Jaye P turns in a fine performance singing in this R&B style but she didn't stick with it because she didn't like it. She moved to RCA Records and returned to doing the more pop-oriented material that she herself preferred. She was mighty good at that and very successful doing it. How successful? During the year 1955, she sang on six different Top 20 hits in 'Billboard'. (The biggest of those, That's All I Want From You, was redone as rockabilly by the Silva-Tones in 1957.)

We don't know how Baby Don't Do It came to be re-released on Decca Records, though we suspect it may have had something to do with Derby Records' filing for bankruptcy in late 1954.

Frank De Vol, a critical part of Jaye P's success, deserves attention as well. He was an extremely versatile arranger -- the orchestrations he created for Nat 'King' Cole's record of Nature Boy and the Supremes' record of The Happening sound nothing like Baby Don't Do It. He wrote the themes for many television shows (such as The Brady Bunch) and wrote the scores for many Hollywood movies (such as 'Cat Ballou'), getting four Oscar nominations.

Various The Popsters - They Tried To Rock Vol.3
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Jaye P. Morgan - Let's Fall In Love With...
Customer evaluation "Let's Fall In Love With..."
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Jaye P. Morgan: Let's Fall In Love With..."

The fields marked with * are required.

Morgan, Jaye P.: Just You...

Content: 1.0000

$18.29 *

Morgan, Jaye P.: Up North,...

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 *

Morgan, Jaye P.: Jaye P....

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 *