Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

MEMPHIS SLIM Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDJSP7762

weight in Kg 0,400

Instead of: $29.50 * (36.2 % Saved)
$18.82 *

MEMPHIS SLIM: Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)

(1946-53) (286:42/101)


Memphis Slim - Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box) CD 1
1: Now I Got The Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
2: Don't Ration My Love
3: Mistake In Life
4: Grinder Man Blues
5: Slim's Boogie
6: Little Mary
7: Cheatin' Around
8: A Letter Home
9: Kilroy Has Been Here
10: Rockin' This House
11: Lend Me Your Love
12: Darling I Miss You
13: Pacemaker Boogie (Thomas)
14: (Sometiems I Feel Like A) Motherless Child
15: Harlem Bound
16: Life Is Like That
17: Nobody Loves Me
18: Believe I'll Settle Down
19: Throw This Poor Dog A Bone
20: Help Me Some
21: Country Girl
22: Blue And Lonesome
23: Angel Child
24: Midnight Jump
25: Messin' Around
Memphis Slim - Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box) CD 2
2: Timy's Whimsy
3: Frisco Bay
4: Restless Nights
5: If You Live That Life
6: Love At First Sight
7: Jumping Bean
8: A Letter Home
9: Grinder Man Blues
10: Slim's Boogie
11: Mistake In Life
12: The Girl I Love
13: Mean Little Woman
14: Train Is Comin'
15: The Question
16: Drivin' Me Mad
17: Never Let Me Love
18: Train Time
19: Blue Evening
20: No Mail
21: Gonna Need My Help Someday
22: Back Alley
23: Living The Life I Love
24: The Come Back
25: 5 O'Clock Blues
26: Call Me Before You Go Home
Memphis Slim - Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box) CD 3
1: This Is My Lucky Day MEMPHIS SLIM
2: I Love My Baby
3: Wish Me Well
4: Four Years Of Torment
5: Sassy Mae
6: Blues And Lonesome
7: Memphis Slim U.S.A.
8: She's Alright
9: Two Of A Kind
10: Got To Find My Baby
11: Blues All Around My Head
12: Treat Me Like I Treat You
13: My Country Gal
14: Lowland Blues SYKES, Roosevelt
15: Savoy Boogie
16: Candy Man Blues
17: Why Should I Cry
18: Drivin' Wheel
19: Rock It
20: West Helena Blues
21: Mail Box Blues
22: Winter Time Blues
23: Blues 'N' Boogie
24: Green Onion Top
25: Wonderin' Blues
Memphis Slim - Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box) CD 4
1: I Had To Let Her Go BOYD, Eddie
2: Kilroy Won't Be Back
3: You Got To Leave That Gal
4: Rosa Lee Swing
5: Unfair Lovers
6: Blue Monday Blues
7: Why Did She Leave Me
8: Playmate Shuffle
9: Mr Highway Man
10: Getting My Divorce
11: What Makes These Things Happen To Me
12: Baby What's Wrong With You
13: Chicago Is Just That Way
14: Eddie's Blues
15: I Can Trust My Baby
16: Down Beat Rhythm
17: Something Good Will Come To Me
18: Why Don't You Be Wise Baby
19: I Gotta Find My Baby
20: Lonesome For My Baby
21: I'm Goin' Downtown
22: Hard Headed Woman
23: It's Miserable To Be Alone
24: Five Long Years
25: Blue Coat Man


Artikeleigenschaften von MEMPHIS SLIM: Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)

  • Interpret: MEMPHIS SLIM

  • Albumtitel: Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Title Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)
  • Label JSP

  • SubGenre Blues - Traditional

  • EAN: 0788065776220

  • weight in Kg 0.400

Artist description "Memphis Slim"

Memphis Slim

At his first session for OKeh in 1940 under the omnipresent Lester Melrose’s supervision, towering blues and boogie piano specialist John Len Chatman adopted the name of his father, Peter Chatman, as his recording alias. When he returned to a Chicago studio less than three months later, this time for Bluebird, he was billed as Memphis Slim. And yes, he was born in the Bluff City on September 3, 1915.

Slim started playing at age seven (his dad was conversant on the 88s as well as guitar), and by 16 he was manning the ivories at the Midway Café on Beale. St. Louis pianist Roosevelt Sykes was his principal influence, so indelibly that after Slim came to Chicago in 1937 and teamed with Big Bill Broonzy, the veteran guitarist strongly urged him to get away from Sykes’ style and develop one of his own.

After the war, Slim recorded for a vast array of Chicago indies, beginning with Hy-Tone in ’46. He inked a pact the next year with Lee Egalnick’s fledgling Miracle label; with his jumping House Rockers, Slim topped the R&B charts in 1948 with his after-hours original Messin’ Around. He posted four more hits the next year (Blue And Lonesome made it to #2), and in ’50 laid down Nobody Loves Me, transformed by Lowell Fulson into Every Day I Have The Blues. On Egalnick’s Premium logo, Slim enjoyed a 1951 hit with the wise and worldly Mother Earth before bouncing to Mercury and then United, where Slim scored his last hit in ’53 with The Come Back

It’s unlikely Slim ever made a better series of recordings than the ones he did for Vee-Jay, in no small part due to the presence of Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, who first joined the House Rockers in 1952. Slim’s first date for Vee-Jay in January of ’58 produced two 45s, and following a Carnegie Hall concert with Muddy Waters in the spring of ’59, Slim and the House Rockers (Murphy, saxists Alex Atkins, John Calvin, and Ernest Cotton, bassist Sam Chatman, and drummer Billie Stepney) entered a Chicago studio on August 18 for a marathon session that produced his entire misleadingly titled ‘At The Gate Of Horn’ album. Slim revisited a lot of his past classics that day, including Messin’ Around. Murphy’s explosive presence makes it the definitive treatment (his solo is mind-boggling for its time). 

Europe was a tantalizing touring possibility for veteran bluesmen such as Slim and bassist Willie Dixon. The duo performed in England in 1959, then zipped over to Israel the next year. "We discussed it quite a bit, and we thought we was gonna be makin’ a bigger buck," said the late Dixon. "We didn’t find out the pound in Israel was worth 33 cents until we got there, and it was too late then!" Nevertheless, Slim was sick of the tribulations he encountered back home. He made Europe his home in ‘62, living like a king in Paris until his February 24, 1988 death there.


Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über MEMPHIS SLIM - Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)
Customer evaluation "Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "MEMPHIS SLIM: Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Various: Mississippi...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Jackson, Papa...: Why Do You...

Content: 1.0000

$17.64 *

Chavis, Boozoo: Festival...

Content: 1.0000

$18.57 *

Various: The Road To...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Sunnyland Slim: The Classic...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Estes, Sleepy John: Sleepy John...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 *

Various: Memphis...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Various: Guitar...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Various: Bob Geddins...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Patton, Charlie: Complete...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Horton, Walter: Blues...

Content: 1.0000

$18.82 * Instead of: $29.50 *

Vincent, Gene: A Rockin'...

Content: 1.0000

$11.74 * Instead of: $18.29 *