Article successfully added.

MEMPHIS SLIM Memphis Slim (2-CD)

Memphis Slim (2-CD)
This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

  • CDBDBL196
  • 0.3
2-CD set. Comes with a long-format hard cover packaging. This is part of a series presenting the... more

MEMPHIS SLIM: Memphis Slim (2-CD)

2-CD set. Comes with a long-format hard cover packaging. This is part of a series presenting the drawing art of Will Argunas. This set contains approx. 40 drawings, plus a biography. Nice.

Article properties: MEMPHIS SLIM: Memphis Slim (2-CD)

  • Interpret: MEMPHIS SLIM

  • Album titlle: Memphis Slim (2-CD)

  • Genre Blues

  • Label BD MUSIC

  • Artikelart CD

  • EAN: 9782849071960

  • weight in Kg 0.3
Memphis Slim - Memphis Slim (2-CD) CD 1
01 Beer Drinking Woman MEMPHIS SLIM
02 Diggin' My Potattoes No.2 MEMPHIS SLIM
03 Grinder Man Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
04 Whiskey And Gin Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
05 Lend Me Your Love MEMPHIS SLIM
06 Rockin' The House MEMPHIS SLIM
07 (Sometimes I Feel Like A) Motherless Child MEMPHIS SLIM
08 Harlem Bound MEMPHIS SLIM
09 Messin' Around MEMPHIS SLIM
10 Blue And Lonesome MEMPHIS SLIM
11 Nobody Loves Me (Everyday I Have The Blues) MEMPHIS SLIM
12 If You Live That Life MEMPHIS SLIM
13 Slim's Boogie MEMPHIS SLIM
15 Mother Earth MEMPHIS SLIM
16 Trouble Trouble (Misery) MEMPHIS SLIM
17 My Baby (Left Me) MEMPHIS SLIM
18 The Question MEMPHIS SLIM
19 Train Is Comin' MEMPHIS SLIM
20 Drivin' Me Mad MEMPHIS SLIM
21 No Mail Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
22 Blue Evening MEMPHIS SLIM
24 Living The Life I Love MEMPHIS SLIM
25 The Come Back MEMPHIS SLIM
26 Wish Me Well MEMPHIS SLIM
27 Memphis Slim U.S.A. MEMPHIS SLIM
28 Treat Me Like I treat You MEMPHIS SLIM
29 What's The Matter MEMPHIS SLIM
30 The Saddest Song (Rollin' And Tumblin') MEMPHIS SLIM
32 Gotta Find My Baby MEMPHIS SLIM
33 Slim's Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
35 My Gal Keeps Me Crying MEMPHIS SLIM
36 Stewball MEMPHIS SLIM
37 Slim's Thing MEMPHIS SLIM
38 The Lord Have Mercy On Me MEMPHIS SLIM
39 In The Evening MEMPHIS SLIM
40 Raining The Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
41 Rack 'Em Black Jack MEMPHIS SLIM
42 We're Just Two Of The Same Old Kind MEMPHIS SLIM
43 El Capitan MEMPHIS SLIM
44 This Is A Good Time To Write A Song MEMPHIS SLIM
46 Angel Child MEMPHIS SLIM
47 The I.C. Blues MEMPHIS SLIM
48 You're Gonna Need My Help One Day MEMPHIS SLIM
Memphis Slim At his first session for OKeh in 1940 under the omnipresent Lester... more

Memphis Slim

At his first session for OKeh in 1940 under the omnipresent Lester Melrose’s supervision, towering blues and boogie piano specialist John Len Chatman adopted the name of his father, Peter Chatman, as his recording alias. When he returned to a Chicago studio less than three months later, this time for Bluebird, he was billed as Memphis Slim. And yes, he was born in the Bluff City on September 3, 1915.

Slim started playing at age seven (his dad was conversant on the 88s as well as guitar), and by 16 he was manning the ivories at the Midway Café on Beale. St. Louis pianist Roosevelt Sykes was his principal influence, so indelibly that after Slim came to Chicago in 1937 and teamed with Big Bill Broonzy, the veteran guitarist strongly urged him to get away from Sykes’ style and develop one of his own.

After the war, Slim recorded for a vast array of Chicago indies, beginning with Hy-Tone in ’46. He inked a pact the next year with Lee Egalnick’s fledgling Miracle label; with his jumping House Rockers, Slim topped the R&B charts in 1948 with his after-hours original Messin’ Around. He posted four more hits the next year (Blue And Lonesome made it to #2), and in ’50 laid down Nobody Loves Me, transformed by Lowell Fulson into Every Day I Have The Blues. On Egalnick’s Premium logo, Slim enjoyed a 1951 hit with the wise and worldly Mother Earth before bouncing to Mercury and then United, where Slim scored his last hit in ’53 with The Come Back

It’s unlikely Slim ever made a better series of recordings than the ones he did for Vee-Jay, in no small part due to the presence of Matt ‘Guitar’ Murphy, who first joined the House Rockers in 1952. Slim’s first date for Vee-Jay in January of ’58 produced two 45s, and following a Carnegie Hall concert with Muddy Waters in the spring of ’59, Slim and the House Rockers (Murphy, saxists Alex Atkins, John Calvin, and Ernest Cotton, bassist Sam Chatman, and drummer Billie Stepney) entered a Chicago studio on August 18 for a marathon session that produced his entire misleadingly titled ‘At The Gate Of Horn’ album. Slim revisited a lot of his past classics that day, including Messin’ Around. Murphy’s explosive presence makes it the definitive treatment (his solo is mind-boggling for its time). 

Europe was a tantalizing touring possibility for veteran bluesmen such as Slim and bassist Willie Dixon. The duo performed in England in 1959, then zipped over to Israel the next year. "We discussed it quite a bit, and we thought we was gonna be makin’ a bigger buck," said the late Dixon. "We didn’t find out the pound in Israel was worth 33 cents until we got there, and it was too late then!" Nevertheless, Slim was sick of the tribulations he encountered back home. He made Europe his home in ‘62, living like a king in Paris until his February 24, 1988 death there.


Bill Dahl
Chicago, Illinois


Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Review 0
Read, write and discuss reviews... more
Customer evaluation for "Memphis Slim (2-CD)"
Write an evaluation
Evaluations will be activated after verification.
Please enter the digits and letters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Weitere Artikel von MEMPHIS SLIM
Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box)
MEMPHIS SLIM: Rockin' This House (4-CD-Box) Art-Nr.: CDJSP7762

Item must be ordered

$29.68 * $18.94 *
The Come Back
Memphis Slim & His House Rockers: The Come Back Art-Nr.: CDDE762

Item must be ordered

$18.94 *
Memphis Slim, U.S.A. (180 g Vinyl)
MEMPHIS SLIM: Memphis Slim, U.S.A. (180 g Vinyl) Art-Nr.: CJS9024

Item must be ordered

$32.65 *
Memphis Slim (LP)
MEMPHIS SLIM: Memphis Slim (LP) Art-Nr.: LPDOL1455

Item must be ordered

$17.75 *
Jim Silke: Bettie Page - Queen Of Hearts (Hardback, Deutsch)
Bettie Page: Jim Silke: Bettie Page - Queen Of Hearts... Art-Nr.: 0017135

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Kevin & Tanja Crouch: Sun King - The Life And
Sam Phillips: Kevin & Tanja Crouch: Sun King - The Life And Art-Nr.: 0017140

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Robert W. Philliops:
Roy Rogers: Robert W. Philliops: Art-Nr.: 0018038

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Werner Walendowski: Die Story 1960 bis heute
The Rattles: Werner Walendowski: Die Story 1960 bis heute Art-Nr.: 0018039

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Blue Guitars (11-CD&1-DVD Earbook)
REA, Chris: Blue Guitars (11-CD&1-DVD Earbook) Art-Nr.: 0018040

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!