Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Roger Mcguinn Born To Rock And Roll

Born To Rock And Roll
Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CD488223

weight in Kg 0,100

$15.22 *

Roger Mcguinn: Born To Rock And Roll



Roger Mcguinn - Born To Rock And Roll Medium 1
1: I'm So Restless  
2: My New Woman  
3: Draggin'  
4: The Water Is Wide  
5: Same Old Sound  
6: Bag Full Of Money  
7: Gate Of Horn  
8: Peace On You  
9: Lover Of The Bayou  
10: Stone (The Lord Loves A Rolling Stone)  
11: Lisa  
12: Take Me Away  
13: Jolly Roger  
14: Friend  
15: Dreamland  
16: Dixie Highway  
17: American Girl  
18: Up To Me  
19: Russian Hill  
20: Born To Rock And Roll  


Artikeleigenschaften von Roger Mcguinn: Born To Rock And Roll

  • Interpret: Roger Mcguinn

  • Albumtitel: Born To Rock And Roll

  • Format CD
  • Genre Beat

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Beat - 60s / 70s
  • Music Sub-Genre 259 Beat - 60s - 70s
  • Title Born To Rock And Roll
  • Label COLUMBIA

  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 5099748822321

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "McGuinn, Roger"

Roger McGuinn

Next Stop Vietnam

Hanoi Hannah

Roger McGuinn

Co-founder with Gene Clark of The Byrds, James McGuinn (he later changed his name to 'Roger') was born on July 13, 1942. His proficiency on five-string banjo and six and twelve-string guitar made him a much-in-demand sessions player and back-up singer for artists such as Judy Collins, Bobby Darin, The Limeliters and The Chad Mitchell Trio.

In 1964 McGuinn began playing folk music in more of a rock style. This led to an association with like-minded artists such as Gene Clark, David Crosby, Chris Hillman and Mike Clarke, the original line-up of The Byrds. The group's initial album, 'Mr. Tambourine Man,' and Bob Dylan's electric/acoustic arrangements of his songs at the 1965 Newport Folk Festival were key events in creating a new sound to compete with the British Invasion. When the album's title track shot to #1 [Pop] in the summer of '65, folk-rock was born. Mr. Tambourine Man and the group's other #1, Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season) would both go in the Grammy Hall of Fame. The Byrds were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1991.

After the original Byrds broke up, McGuinn recruited new personnel. Hanoi Hannah is from his initial, eponymous solo LP. It's a story that became increasingly familiar as troops departed Vietnam; a Vietnamese 'girlfriend' now left on her own when her GI went home. The fact that McGuinn and Jacques Levy chose to name her after the notorious North Vietnamese radio personality/propagandist might well be because her primary profession in the song appears to have been prostitution.

 McGuinn was in Bob Dylan's 'Rolling Thunder Review' in the mid-'70s and recorded a couple of albums as McGuinn, Clark & Hillman. McGuinn made a comeback in 1990 with the release of 'Back From Rio' on Arista. He continues to tour as solo artist, focusing on traditional folk music.


Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Roger Mcguinn - Born To Rock And Roll
Customer evaluation "Born To Rock And Roll"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Roger Mcguinn: Born To Rock And Roll"

The fields marked with * are required.