Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Steve Lawrence Collection

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDSL001

weight in Kg 0,100

$18.28 *

Steve Lawrence: Collection



Lawrence, Steve - Collection CD 1
1: I Want To Stay here
2: I Can't Stop Talking About You
3: Footsteps
4: Pretty Blue Eyes
5: Walkin' Proud
6: Don't Be Afraid Little Darling
7: Go Away Little Girl
8: Come Back Silly Girl
9: Fabulous
10: The Chicken And The Hawk
11: Banana Boat Song
12: Girls Girls Girls
13: Little Boy Blue
14: Everybody Knows
15: Loving Is A Way Of Living
16: Why, Why, Why
17: Party Doll
18: Yet I Know
19: Can't Wait For Summer
20: Tears From Heaven
21: Kiss Me Now
22: Volare
23: Many A Time
24: Fascination
25: Only Love Me
26: Portrait Of My Love
27: Long Before I Knew You
28: Kansas City
29: Goin' Steady
30: Hansel And Gretal
31: We Got Us


Artikeleigenschaften von Steve Lawrence: Collection

  • Interpret: Steve Lawrence

  • Albumtitel: Collection

  • Format CD
  • Genre Rock 'n' Roll

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Rock & Roll
  • Music Sub-Genre 201 Rock & Roll
  • Title Collection
  • Label MARGINAL

  • SubGenre Rock - Rock'n'Roll

  • EAN: 4000127781215

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Lawrence, Steve"

Steve Lawrence

Party Doll

Steve Lawrence is no Buddy Knox. In some respects, he's a lot more. In other respects, he's a lot less. It's the latter problem we're concerned about here.

Like many of the finest rockabilly records, Party Doll was really a series of guitar solos set apart by some vocal stanzas. Knox's little four-piece group, The Rhythm Orchids, wasn't up to much, but they shone on Party Doll. You pushed them much beyond that and you'd see the holes in their game. Putting together a studio group of New York's A-team and telling them to play down like this, has the potential to reveal the holes in their game as well. Could they keep it to just three chords? Could Steve Lawrence (born Sidney Liebowitz) resist the urge to be a classy ballad singer and keep it to basic Texas rock 'n' roll? Here are the results.

Actually, they're surprisingly good. Knox's original version hit the charts on February 23, 1957, and Steve Lawrence was in the studio barely three weeks later on March 17th. There was no grass growing under the feet of the nice folks at Coral Records. Dick Jacobs Orchestra & Chorus masks the identity of a nucleus of credible musicians who listened to (or knew) the Knox original and kept their performances credible. The unnamed guitar player stays locked into Knox's solo for the first four bars and then lets it fly, revealing his skills extend beyond 3-chord rock 'n' roll. Steve Lawrence's vocal is surprisingly effective, even showing some bluesy edges (flatted thirds) when you might not expect to hear them. Only the cornball ending suggests that maybe these people didn't quite have their hearts in what they were doing.

Various The Popsters - They Tried To Rock Vol.3
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Steve Lawrence - Collection
Customer evaluation "Collection"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Steve Lawrence: Collection"

The fields marked with * are required.

Eddy, Duane: Guitar Star...

Content: 1.0000

$19.98 *

Lewis, Nigel &...: Ladies And...

Content: 1.0000

$24.70 *

Lawrence, Steve: Sings Of...

Content: 1.0000

$12.91 *

Lawrence, Steve: Songs By...

Content: 1.0000

$17.63 *

Lawrence, Steve: The Best Of...

Content: 1.0000

$70.68 *