Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Gladys Knight The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CD776098

weight in Kg 0,300


Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (if available from supplier)

Instead of: $35.04 * (50.09 % Saved)
$17.49 *

Gladys Knight: The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)

(2010/SONY) 45 tracks


Gladys Knight - The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD) Medium 1
1: I Heard It Through The Grapevine  
2: I've Got To Use My Imagination  
3: Where Peaceful Waters Flow  
4: Midnight Train To Georgia  
5: Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First..)  
6: Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me  
7: If I Were Your Woman  
8: The Makings Of You  
9: Feel Like Makin' Love  
10: On And On  
11: The Way We Were/Try To Remember (live)  
12: Every Beat Of My Heart  
13: Letter Full Of Tears  
14: Giving Up  
15: Either Way I Lose  
Gladys Knight - The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD) Medium 2
1: Medley (live)  
2: I Feel A Song (In My Heart)  
3: Better You Go Your Way  
4: The Going Ups And Coming Downs  
5: Seconds  
6: Part Time Love  
7: At Every And There's A Beginning  
8: Walk Softly  
9: Baby Don't Change Your Mind  
10: Sorry Doesn't Always Make It Right  
11: To Be Invisible  
12: Love Finds Its Own Way  
13: So Sad The Song  
14: Do You Love Me Just A Little, Honey  
15: I Don't Want To Do Wrong (live)  
Gladys Knight - The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD) Medium 3
1: Taste Of Bitter Love  
2: Bourgie Bourgie  
3: Landlord  
4: A Friend Of Mine  
5: Still Such A Thing  
6: You're Number On (In My Book)  
7: When You're Far Away  
8: Save The Overtime (For Me)  
9: My Time  
10: Keep Givin' Me Love  
11: Hero (a/k/a Wind Beneath My Wings)  
12: Hold On  
13: Make Yours A Happy Home  
14: What If I Should Ever Need You  
15: Tenderness Is The Way  


Artikeleigenschaften von Gladys Knight: The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)

  • Interpret: Gladys Knight

  • Albumtitel: The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)
  • Release date 2010
  • Label BUDDAH

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0886977609824

  • weight in Kg 0.300

Artist description "Knight, Gladys"

Gladys Knight & The Pips

I Heard It Through The Grapevine

Gladys Knight & The Pips

I Heard It Through The Grapevine


After giving Motown its first national hit with his pounding Money (That's What I Want) in 1960, Barrett Strong took a hiatus from Hitsville, working as a songwriter in Chicago. That's where he found the inspiration for one of Motown's greatest hits.

"I was walking down Michigan Avenue, and the idea just popped into my mind. I heard people say it all the time: 'I heard it through the grapevine.' Nobody wrote a song about it, so I sat at a piano and came up with the bass line. And the melody came back," says Barrett, who rejoined Motown in 1966 and got together with producer Norman Whitfield. "Norman said, 'What do you have, man?' I showed it to him. He said, 'I'll cut that!'"  It was the auspicious beginning of a most fruitful partnership.

Whitfield produced a version of Grapevine by The Miracles that sat on the shelf. His ominous minor-key production of the song by Marvin Gaye initially met the same unjust fate. Undaunted, Norman next turned to Gladys Knight & The Pips. The veteran Atlanta vocal group—Gladys (born there on May 28, 1944), her older brother Merald 'Bubba' Knight, and their cousins William Guest and Edward Patten had scored a #1 R&B smash with Every Beat Of My Heart for Vee-Jay in direct competition with their own remake on Fury, then posted another hit for Fury at year's end with Letter Full Of Tears. They landed at Motown in 1966 against Gladys' better judgment.

"I said, 'I don't want to go over there. We've been fine up to now, creating our own avenues, our own following,'" says Gladys, who was outvoted three-to-one. The hits began to come on Motown's Soul logo in '67 with the Whitfield-helmed Everybody Needs Love. Then Norman handed the group Grapevine, now arranged as a raveup gospel workout mirroring Aretha Franklin's Respect.

"We took the track home, man. We would rehearse that thing night and day, in the morning and at night," says Bubba. "(Norman) said, 'How y'all comin' with that song I gave you, "Grapevine?"' And we went over to the studio one day at Motown and we sung it for him. We put the tape recorder on and we sung what we had on there. And he said, 'Good God! Get me a studio right now!'" Gladys' incendiary lead and The Pips' impeccably harmonized replies were surrounded by a complex intro played by two drummers and Hank Cosby's wailing sax solo. Grapevine was a #1 R&B/#2 pop smash for Gladys and the Pips, yet Gaye's version would do even better only a year later.

- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1967

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Gladys Knight - The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Gladys Knight: The Music Of Gladys Knight & The Pips (3-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.