Article successfully added.

Benny Joy Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD)

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

$17.92 *

* incl. VAT / plus shipping costs

Item is temporarily out of stock.
Approx. delivery time: up to 3 weeks. (as far as available at the supplier - can be faster, but sometimes unfortunately not)

  • CDCHD703
  • 0.1
When I told all-time rockabilly guru Billy Miller (of Norton Records and 'Kicks' magazine) about... more

Benny Joy: Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD)

When I told all-time rockabilly guru Billy Miller (of Norton Records and 'Kicks' magazine) about this Benny Joy release, you could almost hear him drool down the telephone line. "We used to sing all his songs on the way to gigs," he gasped, "my band even recorded an album of Benny Joy songs".

Benny Joy has that sort of effect on the rockabilly and rock'n'roll cognoscenti. His Spin The Bottle is a perennial dance-floor favourite but there is much more to his recorded repertoire, as this value-for-money 28 track CD illustrates. The peer influence of original rock'n'roll star Elvis Presley and also Buddy Holly and Eddie Cochran is readily apparent in Joy's work.

Georgia-born Benny Joy Eidson was a child of the rock'n'roll revolution and in cahoots with guitarist John Taylor made his first recordings for the miniscule Tri-Dec label of Haines City, Florida. Then along came Buck Ram who was on the crest of a wave managing the Platters vocal group. Buck bought up the Tri-Dec masters for release by his Antler label, which was distributed by Mercury Records (the Platters' label).

Crash The Party was released on Antler in 1958, but with rock'n'roll running out of steam, Mercury did not put any weight behind the single. A further 45 appeared on Ram Records a year later, and that was the end of Benny's dreams as a recording star. He became a fairly successful songwriter in Nashville.

With the rockabilly revival of the 1970s, tiny European reissue labels scoured the United States for master tapes. As a result there were two Benny Joy LPs on the Dutch White Label and a single on Record Mart that helped to rejuvenate Benny's name.

In the 1990s the taste for authentic rockabilly music seems inexhaustible. Accordingly, we are delighted to present Benny Joy's music to a wider audience. Spin The Bottle is included along with great rockin' numbers such as Crash The Party, Rollin' To The Jukebox Rock, Ittie Bittie Everything, Miss Bobby Sox and Steady With Betty - the titles say it all. A real bonus is the discovery of an unissued professional demo session that confirms the strength of Joy's vocal and songwriting abilities. Benny's guitarist Big John Taylor adds to the fun with three raunchy instrumentals.

The package is nicely wrapped up with another immaculate note from master rockabilly writer, Bill Millar. As Bill says, succinctly, "Benny Joy fulfills all known rockabilly criteria".This release is the first in our Buck Ram Masters reissue series. Look out for further CDs from the Flares ('Foot Stompin') and an Antler Records Story.

by John Broven

Article properties: Benny Joy: Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD)

  • Interpret: Benny Joy

  • Album titlle: Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD)

  • Genre Rock'n'Roll

  • Year of publication 1998
  • Label Ace Records

  • Artikelart CD

  • EAN: 0029667170321

  • weight in Kg 0.1
Joy, Benny - Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD) CD 1
01 Crash The Party (alt)
02 Little Red Book
03 Miss Bobby Sox
04 Spin The Bottle
05 Hey High School Baby
06 Steady With Betty
07 Ittie Bittie Everything
08 Rollin' To The Jukebox Rock
09 Kiss Me
10 I'm Gonna Move
11 Button Nose
12 Bundle Of Love
13 In Study Hall
14 Rebel Rock (instrumental)(& BIG JOHN TAYLOR)
15 Gossip, Gossip, Gossip
16 I'll Never Have The One I Love
17 Cutie Pie
18 A Dream, A Hope And A Love
19 Come Back
20 Stompin' (instrumental)(& BIG JOHN TAYLOR)
21 She Cried For Me
22 Dearest Darling
23 Don't Boo Hoo Mary Lou
24 Hold My Hand
25 Wild Wild Lover
26 Money Money (instrumental)(& BIG JOHN TAYLOR)
27 Hey High School Baby
28 Crash The Party
Review 1
Read, write and discuss reviews... more
Customer evaluation for "Crash The Rockabilly Party (CD)"
26 Sep 2017

Sollte man haben

Die CD ist zwar nicht so gut von der Soundbearbeitung, aber Benny Joy muss man haben

Write an evaluation
Evaluations will be activated after verification.
Please enter the digits and letters in the following text field.

The fields marked with * are required.

Weitere Artikel von Benny Joy
I'm Gonna Move - The Benny Joy Story Vol.3 (LP) Benny Joy: I'm Gonna Move - The Benny Joy Story Vol.3 (LP) Art-Nr.: LPNR348

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays

$20.16 *
A Legend In My Time Don Gibson: A Legend In My Time Art-Nr.: BCD15401

Item must be ordered

$15.67 $17.92
Blue Train John D. Loudermilk: Blue Train Art-Nr.: BCD15421

Item must be ordered

$15.67 $17.92
It's My Time John D. Loudermilk: It's My Time Art-Nr.: BCD15422

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays

$15.67 $17.92
Teenage Dance Party Teresa Brewer: Teenage Dance Party Art-Nr.: BCD15440

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

$15.67 $17.92
The Formative Years 1951-1953 Little Richard: The Formative Years 1951-1953 Art-Nr.: BCD15448

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays

$15.67 $17.92
All Color Weird Rhythm Various: All Color Weird Rhythm Art-Nr.: CDST1166

Item must be ordered

Rockin' With Benny Joy Benny Joy: Rockin' With Benny Joy Art-Nr.: CDCL4401

This article is deleted and can no longer be ordered!

Crazy Vocal Groups - Cheesecake Series (CD) Various: Crazy Vocal Groups - Cheesecake Series (CD) Art-Nr.: CDCH327

Ready to ship today, delivery time** appr. 1-3 workdays