Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 50,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

The Impressions Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)

Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)

catalog number: CD5312377

weight in Kg 0,120


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$13.99 *

The Impressions: Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)

(2009/Universal-Island) 60 tracks with 12 page booklet. Essential!!


Impressions, The - Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD) CD 1
1: Disc 1
2: Gypsy Woman
3: Grow Closer Together
4: Little Young Lover
5: Minstrel And Queen
6: I'm The One Who Loves You
7: Sad Sad Girl And Boy
8: It's All Right
9: Talking About My Baby
10: Girl You Don't Know Me
11: I'm So Proud
12: Keep On Pushing
13: You Must Believe Me
14: Amen
15: People Get Ready
16: Woman's Got Soul
17: Meeting Over Yonder
18: I Need You
19: Just One Kiss From You
20: You've Been Cheating
21: Since I Lost The One I Love
22: Too Slow
23: Can't Satisfy
24: Love's A-Comin'
25: You Always Hurt Me
26: It's Hard To Believe
27: I Can't Stay Away From You
28: We're A Winner
29: We're Rolling On (Pt.1)
30: I Loved And I Lost
31: Don't Cry My Love
32: Disc 2
33: As Long As You Love Me
34: Can't You See
35: Never Let Me Go
36: You've Come Home
37: I Need Your Love
38: Twist And Limbo
39: You'll Want Me Back
40: Never Too Much Love
41: A Woman Who Loves Me
42: I Made A Mistake
43: I Love You (Yeah)
44: See The Real Me
45: Long Long Winter
46: I've Been Trying
47: Get Up And Move
48: I've Found That I've Lost
49: Never Could You Be
50: Twilight Time
51: Man Oh Man
52: Falling In Love With You
53: No One Else
54: This Must End
55: Wade In The Water
56: Little Girl
57: You've Got Me Running
58: You Ought To Be In Heaven
59: It's All Over
60: We're Rolling On (Pt.2)
61: Up Up And Away
62: Sometimes I Wonder


Artikeleigenschaften von The Impressions: Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)

  • Interpret: The Impressions

  • Albumtitel: Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre Soul
  • Music Style Soul
  • Music Sub-Genre 254 Soul
  • Title Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)
  • Release date 2009

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Soul

  • EAN: 0600753123775

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Impressions, The"

The Impressions

Gypsy Woman

Without the richly burnished baritone leads of Jerry Butler, who had fronted their soulful breakthrough ballad For Your Precious Love (you'll find it on our 1958 disc), The Impressions were finding it hard to come up with a second hit. Butler had quit the Chicago group amidst jealousy from some members over Vee-Jay Records unexpectedly giving him featured billing on the single.

Chicago native Curtis Mayfield, all of 16 when he played guitar and sang high tenor behind The Ice Man on For Your Precious Love, took over lead duties for The Impressions. He'd attended Wells High School while living in Cabrini-Green, the massive housing project on Chicago's near North Side. Even before that, he doo-wopped with The Alphatones on the West Side and sang hymns with the Northern Jubilee Gospel Singers. That's where he took up guitar, tuning his axe to a very unusual F# chord that gave Mayfield his highly distinctive sound.

The Impressions brought Fred Cash up from Chattanooga, Tennessee to replace Butler. He'd been in The Roosters there along with tenor-singing brothers Arthur and Richard Brooks and baritone Sam Gooden, who now comprised the rest of The Impressions. With Mayfield's airy high tenor out front, the quintet stuck around Vee-Jay's Abner label for a short while, but A&R man Calvin Carter didn't care for Curtis as a front man, so they were dropped. The Impressions made a single for Bandera Records, owned by Vi Muszynski, who had brought them to Vee-Jay in the first place, but Listen didn't reverse their fading fortunes. Curtis took a break to tour as Butler's guitarist, the pair co-writing three major R&B sellers for Jerry at Vee-Jay in 1960-61: the R&B chart-topping He Will Break Your Heart, Find Another Girl, and I'm A Telling You.

"In the writing of them, we would mess around, he would wind up singing the hook with me. So we decided to record 'em that way, and it turned out very well," says Butler. "I think a lot of that had to do with the way Curtis played guitar."

Eddie Thomas brought The Impressions to the major label ABC-Paramount, recording in New York with arranger/conductor Roy Glover, Jr., who decorated Mayfield's exotic Gypsy Woman with castanets and hushed backing. Cut in July of 1961, Gypsy Woman was a #2 R&B/#20 pop hit late that year (another Mayfield ballad, As Long As You Love Me, was its flip side). The Impressions were back.

Various Street Corner Symphonies 1961 Vol.13
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Impressions - Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Impressions: Complete A&B Sides 1961-1968 (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Various: Hard to Find...

Content: 1.0000

$20.47 *

Various: Hard to Find...

Content: 1.0000

$17.39 * Instead of: $18.31 *

Little Feat: Skin It Black

Content: 1.0000

$8.59 *

Schuricke, Rudi: Ich hör' so...

Content: 1.0000

$11.19 * Instead of: $13.99 *

Various: Treasured...

Content: 1.0000

$10.75 *

Various: Surf Wax -...

Content: 1.0000

$14.85 *

Various: Vol.2,...

Content: 1.0000

$19.17 *

Lynne, Gloria: Love Songs -...

Content: 1.0000

$10.75 *