Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Fred Hughes & His Groups Send My Baby Back...

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDVEL1001

weight in Kg 0,100

$18.76 *

Fred Hughes & His Groups: Send My Baby Back...

(2000/VELTONE) 26 tracks


Fred Hughes & His Groups - Send My Baby Back... Medium 1
1: Teardrops MARKEETS  
2: One Step Too Far CYMBALS  
3: I Hope I Never Fall In Love BALLARDS  
4: Do It Now BALLARDS  
5: Sooner Or Later FOUR RIVERS  
6: I Confess FOUR RIVERS  
9: Every Nite I See Your Face MUSIC CITY SOUL BROTHERS  
11: We Got To Keep On CASANOVA TWO  
12: Love's Philosophy CASANOVA TWO  
13: God Bless Our Love (part 1) FABULOUS BALLADS  
14: God Bless Our love (part 2) FABULOUS BALLARDS  
15: Where's My Baby HUGHES, Fred  
16: Send My Baby Back HUGHES, Fred  
17: My Baby Came Back HUGHES, Fred  
18: Love Can't Be Understood HUGHES, Fred  
19: Tonight I'm Gonna See My Baby HUGHES, Fred  
20: We Gotta Keep On HUGHES, Fred  
21: He's No Good HUGHES, Fred  
22: Natural Man HUGHES, Fred  
23: I Gotta Keep My Bluff In HUGHES, Fred  
24: Every Night I See Your Lovely Face HUGHES, Fred  
25: You're My Everything HUGHES, Fred  
26: What Am I Gonna Do Without Your Sweet Lovin' HUGHES, Fred  


Artikeleigenschaften von Fred Hughes & His Groups: Send My Baby Back...

  • Interpret: Fred Hughes & His Groups

  • Albumtitel: Send My Baby Back...

  • Format CD
  • Genre R&B, Soul

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop
  • Title Send My Baby Back...
  • Release date 2000

  • SubGenre R&B Music - Classic R&B

  • EAN: 2500000506215

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Hughes, Fred"

Fred Hughes

Oo Wee Baby, I Love You

Fred Hughes

Oo Wee Baby, I Love You


There were so many talented soul singers on the '60s scene that once in a while their names overlapped. Johnnie Taylor and Little Johnny Taylor were often confused for one another, as were Fred Hughes and Freddie Hughes, often lumped together as one entity in reference books but in reality two separate singers.

Arkansas native Fred Henry Hughes found his way to Los Angeles and joined a group called The Creators (not the same ones that became The Ad Libs) to play local nightspots. Chicago's Vee-Jay Records had established a West Coast office, and A&R director Richard Parker (formerly half of The Dutones with Jerry Brown; they had a local hit in 1963 with the Carl Davis-produced dance rave-up The Bird ) signed Hughes to Vee-Jay in '65. Parker wrote and produced Fred's Vee-Jay debut, the mid-tempo throbber Oo Wee Baby, I Love You, which helped stave off Vee-Jay's bankruptcy a little longer by going to #3 R&B and #23 pop (Fred gave it a push by lip-synching it on the syndicated L.A. TV show 'Shivaree'). Hughes's encore You Can't Take It Away was a #12 R&B seller, but Vee-Jay's impending demise doomed his last single for the firm, Don't Let Me Down. Vee-Jay's owners tried to rebound by forming the short-lived Exodus logo in 1966, but Fred's two 45s there didn't get enough exposure.

Parker brought Hughes to Vee-Jay's former rival Chess Records in 1967, but his two singles for its Cadet subsidiary didn't make the commercial grade. When Fred pacted   to Brunswick, his fortunes were rejuvenated. His self-penned Baby Boy, produced by Carl Davis and Chi-Lites lead singer Eugene Record, was a #25 R&B seller at the end of 1969. "I don't know whether we had as much success with as I'd have liked to," says Davis, "but he was a talented entertainer." Carl also helmed Fred's 1970 Brunswick hit I Understand, another Hughes original (a remade Oo Wee Baby, I Love You sat on the flip). Fred's planned Vee-Jay album had been scuttled when the label went belly-up, but Brunswick issued a 'Baby Boy' LP, its contents ranging from breezy Windy City soul to Hughes's revival of Barbra Streisand's schmaltzy People.

- Bill Dahl -

Various - Sweet Soul Music

Various - Sweet Soul Music 30 Scorching Classics From 1965

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Fred Hughes & His Groups - Send My Baby Back...
Customer evaluation "Send My Baby Back..."
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Fred Hughes & His Groups: Send My Baby Back..."

The fields marked with * are required.