Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Lightnin' Hopkins Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)

catalog number: CD968432

weight in Kg 0,164


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$18.59 *

Lightnin' Hopkins: Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)

Hopkins' earliest recordings in a nice package, booklet with biography, discography, and many detailed informations - plus great sound quality.


Hopkins, Lightnin' - Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD) CD 1
1: Katie May
2: Feel So Bad
3: Blues (That Mean Old Twister)
4: I Can't Stay Here In Your Town
5: Can't Do Like You Used To
6: West Coast Blues
7: Short Haired Woman
8: L.A. Blues
9: Big Mama Jump
10: Down Baby
11: Let Me Play With Your Poodle
12: Fast MailRambler
13: Thinkin' And Worryin'
14: Can't Get That Woman Off My Mind
15: Woman Woman
16: Picture On The Wall
17: You're Gonna Miss Me
18: Sugar On My Mind
19: Nightmare Blues
20: Someday Baby
21: Come Back Baby
22: Lightnin's Boogie
23: Baby You're Not Going To Make A Fool Out Of M
24: Daddy Will Be Home One Day
25: Moon Rise Blues
26: Howling Wolf
27: Morning Blues
28: Have To Let You Go
29: Mama's Baby Child
30: Mistreated Blues
31: My California
32: Honey Babe
33: So Long
34: See See Rider
35: Unpredictable Woman
36: I Just Don't Care
37: Drinkin' Woman
38: Abilene
39: Shotgun
40: Rollin' And Rollin'
41: Tell It Like It Is
42: Miss Loretta


Artikeleigenschaften von Lightnin' Hopkins: Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)

  • Interpret: Lightnin' Hopkins

  • Albumtitel: Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Blues

  • Music Genre Blues
  • Music Style Texas Blues
  • Music Sub-Genre 912 Texas Blues
  • Title Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)
  • Label CAPITOL

  • SubGenre Blues - Traditional

  • EAN: 0077779684328

  • weight in Kg 0.164

Artist description "Hopkins, Lightnin'"

Lightnin' Hopkins

Lightnin' Hopkins is many people's idea of what a blues-singer should be : an endlessly inventive folk-poet, whose imagination is touched by almost everything but whose sing-ing and playing express nothing but the blues. And this, despite nearly 30 years of performing and recording, and all the pressures that might have made him something else, he unswervingly has been. But he has not, outside his own com-munity, been very obviously influential on either American or British rock; his blues, sung by others, are not self-sustaining, as many of the Chicagoans' are.


His early recordings, in the Forties and Fifties, were characterised by thunderous amplification - as any number of reissues demonstrate - but his first ventures into a different market, with acoustic guitar, compensate in subtlety for what they lose in force (e.g. the Folkways and some Bluesville albums). Later sessions placed him with accompanying groups, rarely successfully, though his album for Jewel is an exception.

Through all these records he balances slow blues with vivid boogies, occasionally leaving his guitar to essay an idiosyncratic piano style. Born in Centerville, Texas, in 1912, he spent most of his life in Houston, and his refusal to extract himself from that milieu is the chief reason for his undiminished authenticity as an observer, through the blues, of black life.

Electric Blues 1939-2005. - The Definitive Collection!


Presseartikel über Lightnin' Hopkins - Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Lightnin' Hopkins: Complete Aladdin Recordings (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.