Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits

Please inform me as soon as the product is available again.

catalog number: CDTVC0714

weight in Kg 0,100

$17.43 *

Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely: GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits



Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely - GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits Medium 1
1: There Goes My Everything GREENE, Jack  
2: Statue Of A Fool GREENE, Jack  
3: Don't Touch Me SEELY, Jeannie  
4: Wish I Didn't Have To Miss You GREENE, Jack & JEANNIE SEELY  
5: You Are My Treasure GREENE, Jack  
6: Can I Sleep In Your Arms SEELY, Jeannie  
7: All The Time GREENE, Jack  
8: Much Oblige GREENE, Jack & JEANNIE SEELY  
9: What Locks The Door GREENE, Jack  
10: Beautiful Lady GREENE, Jack  
11: I'll Love You More SEELY, Jeannie  
12: Until My Dreams Come True GREENE, Jack  
13: Back In The Arms Of Love GREENE, Jack  
14: I Need Somebody Bad GREENE, Jack  
15: We Don't Want The World GREENE, Jack & JEANNIE SEELY  
16: Love Takes Care Of Me GREENE, Jack  
17: The Last Letter GREENE, Jack  
18: It's Only Love SEELY, Jeannie  
19: Wanting You But Never Having You GREENE, Jack  
20: California Turnarounds GREENE, Jack  


Artikeleigenschaften von Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely: GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits

  • Interpret: Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely

  • Albumtitel: GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits

  • Format CD
  • Genre Country

  • Title 20 All Time Greatest Hits
  • Label TEEVEE

  • SubGenre Country - General

  • EAN: 0792014071427

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Greene, Jack & Jeannie Seely"

Jack Greene

Statue Of A Fool

Jack Greene

Statue Of A Fool

(Jan Crutchfield)

recorded April 26, 1968 (18:00-22:00) Bradley's Barn, Bender's Ferry Road, Mount Juliet, Tennessee; Producer: Owen Bradley

with Jack H. Greene: vocal; Harold Ray Bradley: guitar; Ray Q. Edenton: guitar; Thomas Grady Martin: guitar/leader; Pete L. Rodis Drake: steel guitar; Bob L. Moore: bass; Murrey M. 'Buddy' Harman, Jr: drums; William Whitney'Bill' Pursell: piano; The Jordanaires: vocal chorus

Decca 32 490 - master NA 15 125 (120 240)


Songwriter and plugger Jan Crutchfield often sidestepped standard Nashville fare for more harmonically adventurous songs. "I wrote some three-chord songs," he told Ace Collins, "but I wrote multi-chord ballads, too. When Perry Como recorded my 'Dream On, Little Dreamer,' it was a huge thrill. I wrote 'Statue Of A Fool' in the early Sixties. It wasn't a country idea and I didn't consider it a country song. The idea came from seeing statues of famous people in public places. Why shouldn't there be a statue of a guy who has been a loser at love? A guy who had it all and threw it all away."

The song's survival testifies to its quality. It was first recorded in 1962 under its original title, Name It After Me, by Van Houston aka Fed Vanderpool, the brother of singer Harvie June Van. At the same session, Vanderpool recorded the original version of Dickey Lee's hit, Patches. Crutchfield was working for the Wilburn Brothers' Sure-Fire Music and the Wilburns had Vanderpool under contract, but couldn't persuade Columbia to release Name It After Me or Patches. According to Fed's brother, Fate, artist manager Joe Taylor was there and told everyone that Name It After Me should be retitled Statue Of A Fool, but no one listened. When Jack Greene signed with Decca three years later, he brought a dub of Name It After Me to his first meeting with Owen Bradley, but Bradley didn't bite. Crutchfield had moved from Sure-Fire to Tree, but heard that Greene was interested in his song and went to see Bradley. "Owen told me he loved the song," Crutchfield remembered, "but he said it was too pop. He let Jack record it, but no one at Decca wanted to release it."

This could be the case because it sat in the can for two years, but, upon release, it topped the country chart. Five years later, the song became a Top 10 hit for Brian Collins, and five years after that it was a country hit for Bill Medley of the Righteous Brothers. In 1990, Ricky Van Shelton took it to #2. The irresolvable part of the story comes from Detroit. Crutchfield always believed that a blues singer originally recorded the song. David Ruffin of the Temptations, recorded it in 1975, but his longtime girlfriend, Genna Sapia, said that, "Back before I even met him in 1964, he recorded 'Statue Of A Fool' on a 78 [an acetate, perhaps?]. It was awesome. Over the years, I kept at him to re-record it. When we split in 1974, I screamed at him one last time that he needed to re-record it as a tribute to our relationship. Which he did do shortly thereafter - a bittersweet victory to me. Here's the thing: his name is listed on the label as writer. Now I never did believe that he wrote it, since he never wrote another song in his life, but I wondered if somehow he did write it before Jan Crutchfield." While there's no doubt that Crutchfield wrote the song, it's at least possible that Ruffin had latched onto it some years before Greene. By most criteria, Ruffin's version certainly bests the rest.


- Colin Escott -

Various Country & Western Hit Parade 1969

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely - GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits
Customer evaluation "GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "Jack Greene & Jeannie Seely: GREENE, Jack & Jeannie Seely 20 All Time Greatest Hits"

The fields marked with * are required.

Seely, Jeannie: A Golden...

Content: 1.0000

$9.24 *