Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.


Greatest Hits (CD)

catalog number: CD8637072

weight in Kg 0,100


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

Instead of: $17.64 * (33.45 % Saved)
$11.74 *


(2006/CAPITOL) 14 tracks 24-BIT digital remastered


Grand Funk Railroad - Greatest Hits (CD) CD 1
1: We're An American Band
2: Time Machine
3: Walk Like A Man (You Can Call Me Your Man)
4: Some Kind Of Wonderful
5: Shinin' On
6: Heartbreaker
7: Rock & Roll Soul
8: The Loco-Motion
9: Footstompin' Music
10: Mean Mistreater (live)
11: Take Me
12: Bad Time
13: I'm Your Captain/Closer To Home
14: Inside Looking Out


Artikeleigenschaften von GRAND FUNK RAILROAD: Greatest Hits (CD)


  • Albumtitel: Greatest Hits (CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Beat

  • Music Genre Rock 'n' Roll
  • Music Style Beat - 60s / 70s
  • Music Sub-Genre 259 Beat - 60s - 70s
  • Title Greatest Hits (CD)
  • Release date 2006
  • Label EMI

  • SubGenre Beat 60s-70s

  • EAN: 0724386370723

  • weight in Kg 0.100

Artist description "Grand Funk Railroad"

Grand Funk Railroad

Next Stop Vietnam

People Let's Stop The War

Grand Funk Railroad

In 1971, Grand Funk Railroad (GFR) was hard-rock group that filled stadiums, sold millions of albums but had only modest success with its singles. Five of its first six albums went platinum—more than a million units sold—yet their highest placing single, Closer To Home (I'm Your Captain) did not even crack the Top 20. It is not altogether surprising, therefore, that People Let's Stop The War, a track from an album that reached #5, failed to chart.

The song places the onus for stopping the war squarely on President Nixon. "If we had a president that did just what he said/The country would be just alright and no one would be dead." Nixon after all had campaigned on a platform to end the war. GFR also harked back to Dylan's theme in Masters Of War with the line, "there's money in them war machines."

GFR was formed in Flint, Michigan. Its original line-up included Mark Farner (guitars and lead vocal), Don Brewer (drums and vocal), and Mel Schacher (bass). Farner and Brewer had previously played with Terry Knight and the Pack [I (Who Have Nothing); #46]. Schacher had been a member of ? (Question Mark) & The Mysterians [96 Tears; #1]. In 1973, after shortening their name to Grand Funk, the group had two #1 singles. One was their re-make of Little Eva's The Loco-Motion. The other, a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame selection, nicely summed up their broad appeal: We're An American Band.

Various - History Next Stop Is Vietnam 1961-2008 (13-CD)
Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über GRAND FUNK RAILROAD - Greatest Hits (CD)
Customer evaluation "Greatest Hits (CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "GRAND FUNK RAILROAD: Greatest Hits (CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.