Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

The Golden Gate Quartet Rock My Soul (2-LP)

Rock My Soul (2-LP)

catalog number: LPPM511

weight in Kg 0,400


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$23.52 *

The Golden Gate Quartet: Rock My Soul (2-LP)

Video von The Golden Gate Quartet - Rock My Soul (2-LP)

(1988/EMI France) 24 tracks, recorded between 1960 and 1964


The Golden Gate Quartet - Rock My Soul (2-LP) Medium 1
1: Poor Little Jesus  
2: The King Of Kings  
3: My Lord Is Writing  
4: Precious Memories  
5: Somebody Knocking On My Door  
6: When The Saints Go Marchin' In  
7: Peace In The Valley  
8: Saint Louis Blues  
9: Take My Hand Precious Lord  
10: When They Ring The Golden Bells  
11: There Is No Greater Love  
12: For The Rest Of My Love  
The Golden Gate Quartet - Rock My Soul (2-LP) Medium 2
1: Eternal Light  
2: Glory Hallelujah  
3: Hush Hush  
4: I Want To Wings  
5: Rock My Soul  
6: Wade In The Water  
7: Don't You Talk About It  
8: Do You Know Him  
9: I Will Be Home Again  
10: Good Morning  
11: Same Train  
12: Over There  


Artikeleigenschaften von The Golden Gate Quartet: Rock My Soul (2-LP)

  • Interpret: The Golden Gate Quartet

  • Albumtitel: Rock My Soul (2-LP)

  • Format LP
  • Genre Gospel

  • Title Rock My Soul (2-LP)
  • Vinyl size LP (12 Inch)
  • Speed / RPM 33 U/min
  • Record Grading Mint (M)
  • Sleeve Grading Mint (M)
  • Release date 1988
  • Label EMI FRANCE

  • SubGenre Christian Music - Gospel

  • EAN: 5099925166415

  • weight in Kg 0.400

Artist description "Golden Gate Quartet, The"

The Golden Gate Quartet

The Golden Gate Quartet

Atom And Evil

One top 1940s spiritual aggregation bravely straddled the stylistic fence at a time when the times usually demanded a group declare their allegiance to either the sacred or the secular: The Golden Gate Quartet. They came together in 1930 in a Berkeley, Virginia barber shop. Its proprietor, A.C. 'Eddie' Griffin, and one-legged bass singer Robert 'Peg' Ford were joined by a pair of Booker T. Washington High School glee clubbers, Willie Johnson and Henry Owens, to sing traditional spirituals around Norfolk as The Golden Gate Jubilee Quartet. When a trip to North Carolina beckoned, Griffin didn't care to leave his shop, so first tenor William 'Highpockets' Langford took his place. Johnson's innovative 'vocal percussion' technique drove normally staid spirituals with precise syncopated harmonies in a style known as 'jubilee.' Once the older Ford was replaced by young bass singer Orlandus Wilson in 1936, the quartet rapidly climbed the golden ladder to stardom.

The Gates commenced recording for RCA Victor in 1937, the same year they made their network radio debut. On December 23, 1938, they were showcased on John Hammond's legendary 'From Spirituals to Swing' concert at Carnegie Hall in New York. Along with a lot of sacred material, titles like Ol' Man Mose, Old Man River, and The Dipsy Doodle slipped into their Bluebird discography. The Gates had their own CBS radio program, recorded sessions with bluesman Lead Belly, and in 1941 performed at a shindig celebrating President Franklin D. Roosevelt's inauguration—a long way from their humble Norfolk beginnings. Playing nightspots like Barney Josephson's Cafe Society and appearing in the films 'Star-Spangled Rhythm,' 'Hit Parade Of 1943' and 'Hollywood Canteen' underscored their universal accessibility.

Langford left in 1940 to form the Southern Sons, but Clyde Riddick was a more than suitable replacement. The Gates signed with Columbia's OKeh imprint in '41, enjoying success with Jezebel. Their up-to-the-minute anti-nuclear warning Atom And Evil, cut at the same June 5, 1946 Columbia session as their top seller Shadrack, compellingly spotlights the Gates' groundbreaking vocal approach.

After 18 years with the group, Johnson split in 1948 to join The Jubalaires. The Gates responded by bringing that group's Orville Brooks in as their new first tenor. They moved over to Mercury Records the same year. In 1959 the Gates emigrated to France, reigning there for decades. 

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.01

1939-1949 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Golden Gate Quartet - Rock My Soul (2-LP)
Customer evaluation "Rock My Soul (2-LP)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Golden Gate Quartet: Rock My Soul (2-LP)"

The fields marked with * are required.