Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

FOUR ACES The Hits And More (2-CD)

The Hits And More (2-CD)

catalog number: CDJAS504

weight in Kg 0,120


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$19.98 *

FOUR ACES: The Hits And More (2-CD)

(2010/JASMINE) 49 tracks


FOUR ACES - The Hits And More (2-CD) Medium 1
1: (It's No) Sin
2: Tell Me Why
3: Garden In The Rain
4: I'm Yours
5: Heart And Soul
6: Just Squeeze Me (But Don't Tease Me)
7: La Rosita
8: I'll Never Smile Again
9: Organ Grinder's Swing
10: Stranger In Paradise
11: The Gang That Said 'Heart Of My Heart'
12: Amor
13: So Long
14: Three Coins In The Fountain
15: It's A Woman's World
16: Mister Sandman
17: Melody Of Love
18: Take Me In Your Arms
19: Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
20: A Woman In Love
21: To Love Again
22: Friendly Persuasion (Thee I Love)
23: Written On The Wind
24: When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
FOUR ACES - The Hits And More (2-CD) Medium 2
1: I May Be Wrong (But I Think You're Wonderful)
2: I'll Never Say 'Never Again' Again
3: Yearning (Just For You)
4: Amapola (Pretty Little People)
5: Blueberry Hill
6: You're Driving Me Crazy (What Did I do)
7: Bye Bye Blackbird
8: Have You Ever Been Lonely
9: Girl Of My Dreams  
10: Miss You  
11: Peg O' My Heart  
12: Somebody Else Is Taking My Place  
13: Heartaches  
14: Lonely Wine  
15: Day By Day  
16: Don't Worry 'Bout Me  
17: There I've Said It Again  
18: Around The World  
19: Whatever Will Be Will Be (Que Sera, Sera)  
20: Secret Love  
21: True Love  
22: Hi-Lili-Hi-Lo  
23: My Devotion  
24: Ti-Pi-Tin  
25: Heaven Can Wait  


Artikeleigenschaften von FOUR ACES: The Hits And More (2-CD)

  • Interpret: FOUR ACES

  • Albumtitel: The Hits And More (2-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Pop

  • Music Genre Pop
  • Music Style Pop Vocal
  • Music Sub-Genre 281 Pop Vocal
  • Title The Hits And More (2-CD)
  • Release date 2010
  • Label JASMINE

  • Price code JAS
  • SubGenre Pop - Vocal Pop

  • EAN: 0604988050424

  • weight in Kg 0.120

Artist description "Four Aces"

The Four Aces

The Four Aces

Who Is There To Blame

Not to be confused with Al Alberts' pop quartet of the same name from Chester, Pennsylvania who became infinitely more popular (at least from a mainstream perspective), these Four Aces made their musical mark first.

The Original 4 Aces, as they became known after Alberts' crew made such a huge impression from 1951 on, got their start in Fort Worth while still in high school. First tenor James Franks, second tenor Algia Pickett, baritone George Smith, and bass Otha Jackson eventually relocated to San Francisco, and while the war stalled their momentum (three Aces were inducted into the Navy), they reformed after war's end and proceeded to tear up the Bay Area club scene, leading to a deal with Rene La Marre's Trilon label in 1946. Along the way, they became a self-contained unit with Franks picking up the guitar, Smith on piano and Jackson on upright bass.

The Aces waxed their biggest seller, the two-part I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder (they only sang on Part 2) at their first Trilon session (see our previous volume). The Aces' half dozen Trilon encores didn't make the same local impression, so they moved on to Bill McCall, Jr.'s 4 Star logo. Or at least some of their masters did. Bob Geddins, one of the Bay Area's top R&B indie producers, reportedly sold 4 Star several Four Aces tracks in 1949, and the company pressed up Lazy Navajo b/w Aces Swing, then Too Late b/w Jumpin' Out, before the year was over.

Penned by George Smith and issued in January of '50, the luxurious ballad Who Is There To Blame was half of the Aces' last 4 Star offering. Otha Jackson sang it with suave assurance over Smith's chunky piano chording (he embarks on an aggressive solo halfway through). Yoked to a Pickett-led Because I'm In Love With You, it was the quartet's 4 Star swan song. By the time Geddins released their rendition of Eddie Miller's country classic Release Me in 1954 on his Big Town logo, necessity forced Geddins to issue it as by The Original 4 Aces to differentiate it from the East Coast's Four Aces (ditto their last release the next year, I Can See An Angel). Franks left the act in 1957, and by year's end their last hand was played.

Bill Dahl

Various - Street Corner Symphonies Vol.03

1951 The Complete Story Of Doo Wop

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über FOUR ACES - The Hits And More (2-CD)
Customer evaluation "The Hits And More (2-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "FOUR ACES: The Hits And More (2-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.

Four Aces: 1946-1955 (CD)

Content: 1.0000

$47.10 *

Browns: I Heard The...

Content: 1.0000

$19.93 *

Sedaka, Neil: The Complete...

Content: 1.0000

$186.22 *

Browns: The Three...

Content: 1.0000

$165.00 *