Back to general view
  • Money-back guarantee
    Customer call centre
  • Shipping within EU: 6,99 €
    100 days right of return
  • More than 60,000 different items available ex-warehouse.

The Five Satins Chronicles (3-CD)

Chronicles (3-CD)

catalog number: CDACTR9001

weight in Kg 0,200


Ready to ship today,
Delivery time appr. 1-3 workdays

$28.24 *

The Five Satins: Chronicles (3-CD)

(2008/Acrobat) 65 Tracks - All Red Robin cuts from 1954 and Ember recordings 1956-60 made under the names of The Scarlets, The Five Satins, Fred Parris & The Five Satins are included, plus unissued & alternate takes! The 3-CD set comes with a 24 page booklet!


The Five Satins - Chronicles (3-CD) Medium 1
1: The Scarlets - Dear One  
2: The Scarlets - I've Lost  
3: The Scarlets - Love Doll  
4: The Scarlets - Darling I'm Yours  
5: The Scarlets - Cry Baby  
6: The Scarlets - True Love  
7: The Scarlets - Indian Fever  
8: The Scarlets - Kiss Me  
9: The Scarlets - True Love  
10: All Mine  
11: Rose Mary  
12: I'll Remember (In the Still Of The Night)  
13: The Jones Girl  
14: Weeping Willow  
15: Wonderful Girl  
16: Our Love Is Forever  
17: Oh Happy Day  
18: To The Aisle  
19: Wish I Had My Baby  
20: Our Anniversary  
21: Pretty Baby  
22: A Million To One  
23: A Love With No Love In Return  
24: Fred Parris & The Satins - A Night To Remembe  
25: Fred Parris & The Satins - Senorita Lolita  
26: When Your Love Comes Along  
27: Skippity Doo  
28: Shadows  
29: Toni My Love  
30: I'll Be Seeing You  
31: A Night Like This  
32: Candlelight  
33: The Time  
34: Wishing Ring  
35: Tell Me Dear  
36: Sugar  
37: I'll Get Along  
38: Again  
39: Moonlight And I  
40: I've Lost  
41: You Must Be An Angel  
42: I Got Time  
43: When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano  
44: Please Be Mine Tonight  
45: Fred Paris & The Scarlets - The Voice  
46: Fred Paris & The Scarlets - She's Gone With T  
47: Our Love Is Forever  
48: Silver Waters  
49: That's Love  
50: To The Aisle  
51: Candlelight (Alternate Take)  
52: Playmates  
53: Church Bells Played The Blues  
54: The Voice (Acapella)  
55: Our Anniversary (Alternate)  
56: A Love With No Love In Return (Alternate)  
57: The Jones Girl (Alternate)  
58: I'll Remember (In The Still Of The Night)(Alt  
59: Baby Face  
60: A Night To Remember (Take 2)  
61: Love With No Love In Return (Take 5)  
62: Pretty Baby (Takes 1&3)  
63: When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano (Ta  
64: To The Aisle (Take 5)  
65: Wish I Had My Baby (Alternate Take)  


Artikeleigenschaften von The Five Satins: Chronicles (3-CD)

  • Interpret: The Five Satins

  • Albumtitel: Chronicles (3-CD)

  • Format CD
  • Genre Doo-Wop

  • Music Genre R&B, Soul
  • Music Style Vocal Groups / Doo Wop
  • Music Sub-Genre 255 Vocal Groups/Doo Wop
  • Title Chronicles (3-CD)
  • Release date 2008
  • Label ACROBAT

  • SubGenre Doo-Wop

  • EAN: 0824046900120

  • weight in Kg 0.200

Artist description "Five Satins, The"

The Five Satins

I'll Be Seeing You

Everything was back to normal with The Five Satins. Founder Fred Parris was back after completing his Army hitch, which forced him out just as the Satins were hitting with In The Still Of The Nite, prominent on the 1956 edition of this series.

While Parris was in Japan wearing military fatigues, Bill Baker led the Satins on their next big one in '57, the smooth ballad To The Aisle.  Even after Fred got back stateside, Baker led the quintet on New York-based Ember Records. Fred put together a new incarnation of The Scarlets, which he'd led prior to the Satins, to record for Marty Kugell and Tom Sokira's tiny Klik label in his hometown of New Haven, Connecticut (the pair had recorded In The Still Of The Nite in a chilly New Haven church basement to get the Satins rolling not that long before).

In mid-'58, Parris, the Satins, and Ember reunited, though there were only four Satins (Parris, ex-Scarlets tenor Nate Mosely and bass Sylvester Hopkins, and early Satins baritone Lou Peeples) on A Night To Remember (maybe that's why they were temporarily billed as Fred Parris and The Satins). They solidified with Parris, Peeples, Hopkins, and two ex-members of New Haven's Starlarks: Wes Forbes and Richard Freeman. A Parris-penned Shadows went to #27 R&B for them in late '59.

Particularly poignant was the Satins' rendition of the pop evergreen I'll Be Seeing You, written in 1938 by Sammy Fain and lyricist Irving Kahal and a #1 hit for crooner Bing Crosby as the title theme of a 1944 wartime movie. The Satins' remake, awash in strings arranged by Leroy Kirkland, sports a moving lead from Parris that does its nostalgic lyric justice. Paired with Fred's A Night Like This, I'll Be Seeing You was a #79 pop seller in the spring of 1960.

The expert balladeers had a slew of early '60s singles for Ember, Cub, United Artists, Chancellor, Roulette, and Warner Bros. before changing their mid-decade billing to Fred Parris and The Restless Hearts on Checker and Atco. They reverted to The Five Satins handle during the early '70s at RCA and Kirshner. In 1982, Fred Parris and The Satins had a pop hit on Elektra with an oldies medley, Memories Of Days Gone By. Guess what song served as its climax? In The Still Of The Nite!

Various - Street Corner Symphonies 1960 Vol.12

Read more at:
Copyright © Bear Family Records

Presseartikel über The Five Satins - Chronicles (3-CD)
Customer evaluation "Chronicles (3-CD)"
Evaluations will be activated after verification
Schreiben Sie eine Bewertung für den Artikel "The Five Satins: Chronicles (3-CD)"

The fields marked with * are required.